• September 23, 2019, 01:03:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Need my printer back without downgrade  (Read 17124 times)

zehninguem

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Need my printer back without downgrade
« on: February 07, 2008, 08:38:55 AM »

I upgraded to 1.4
Almost everything is ok (some problems sometime to delete folders, and the UPNP AV still too limited) but the big problem is the printer server does not work anymore.
Don't want to downgrade and have to copy files back and forth to the DNS-323.
Can please D-Link provide us with a firmware that correct bugs without introducing new ones?? >:(
Logged

Mlachake

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2008, 08:48:59 AM »

What print server are you referring to here? And what firmware version are you currently running on it? Please let me so that I can better assist you.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2008, 09:00:58 AM »

I presume you're printing from Windows - try deleting the printer and then re-installing it.

Windows has a nasty habit of losing the links when anything about a shared resource is changed.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

Banshee1971

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2008, 01:14:08 PM »

On the other thread "Did anyone have any trouble after updating to 1.04", i inform every one of the problems i got.

No solution found yet, but revert to V1.03 correct the problems.

Here the list of bugs i found after upgrade to V1.04 :
- Lost printserver function (in other word, lost the printer)
- Lost DNS name. That mean, i can't connect drive using DNS name, and i dont see the NAS name on "my network" ... but i can map using IP adress.

In case someone ask :
- Same result for WinXP and Vista Home Premium
- yes, i delete the printe and try to have it again.
- Yes, i can add the printer, but when i print, nothing happen
- Yes, i reset to factory default the NAS and try everything again.
no, it's not working like in V1.03.
- DNS : i mean only the name inside my VLAN, i don't test the DynDNS function.

Revert to V1.03 correct the describe issue.

The only major fix DLINK team made, is now the drive are better accessible under Vista. Now i can execute COM,EXE, BAT direct from the NAS.

but, after revert to V1.03, of course, it's not there anymore.

« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 09:35:49 AM by Banshee1971 »
Logged

zehninguem

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2008, 07:11:56 PM »

I'm using 1.04.
Printer server was working with 1.03.
Did everything suggested from from clearing the queue to remove/reinstall printer, still not working.
Is disappointing to receive a new firmware that introduces bugs and does not improoves considerably over the old one.
But I don't want to downgrade and have to reformat HDs, recreate groups, etc, etc.
D-Link should give us better software.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2008, 02:51:44 AM »

What printer - make & model - are you using?
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

Banshee1971

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2008, 05:34:51 AM »

For my case : Dell LaserJet 1100
It's a USB Printer.

In fact, Dell purchase the Samsung ML2010D3, and put their label on it ... So it's look like a Dell
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2008, 09:15:52 AM »

I'm running one of the smaller Samsungs - the ML1210 - as I say with no difficulty whatsoever
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

zehninguem

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2008, 10:11:06 AM »

I'm using a Brother HL-1440 that was working perfectly with 1.03
Logged

Wilson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2008, 02:04:21 AM »

I upgraded to 1.4
Almost everything is ok (some problems sometime to delete folders, and the UPNP AV still too limited) but the big problem is the printer server does not work anymore.
Don't want to downgrade and have to copy files back and forth to the DNS-323.
Can please D-Link provide us with a firmware that correct bugs without introducing new ones?? >:(

What Windows version are you using now???
Logged

Banshee1971

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2008, 09:53:11 AM »

What Windows version are you using now???

For now, i don't think you're question will help... Look fiew thread, and you will notice this bug appear under fiew version of Windows (XP, Vista,..). So it's not "Windows related", but "Dlink Firmware 1.04" related.

If they know the problems, they will try to fix it. For now, the only fix i found, and noboby seem to suggest not going there, are the "downgrade" of the Firmware to V1.03.


Logged

fgruat

  • Guest
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2008, 04:37:52 AM »

i have same problem with my canon lbp 5000

the installation is good but when i try to print no printer found (on printer driver)
Logged

Banshee1971

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2008, 04:08:20 PM »

It's the first "good news" i got about the V103 to V104 Print issue :
I install a DNS-323 in one  of my client, and fortunitly, i was force to upgrade from V1.03 to V1.04 because Vista (They have 2 HP Laptop) don't want to map (error about username and password). Same result with the connexion tools provide.

So, i upgrade to V104 (it solve connexion problems), and told them that they wont be able to use the Printserver ... but ... i try it "in case".

And the result, it worked. The printer are a HP PSC 2100   .... but i disconnected after i notice it was a multifunction printer .. i didn't know if all printer fonction will worked.

But it's a good start, one printer work fine !


new update ***
After what i found (read fiew line up), i suspect "windows rember network" problems or "change in network config" in the NAS.
The reason ?
- Windows remembers some network path, so it cause problems.
- If the new change on the NAS involve some communication change with the Printserver function, windows will probably try the last "known good" setup.

So i open the old REGEDIT application, and perform multiple search with the DNS name i use, and IP adress (before, i disconnect all network drive and network printer). I erase everything i found. After, i reboot, re-map, re-connect the printer, And it's now working.


« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 06:30:24 PM by Banshee1971 »
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2008, 03:45:50 PM »

After updating the firmware it is recommended to remove the printer in the"Printer and Faxes" in the Control Panel and reconfigure your printer.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

RTShaw

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Need my printer back without downgrade
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2008, 01:12:34 PM »

lost most control of my fingers so pleaqe bear with me, it hurts like hell 2 type.

i have an epson c84 printer and when adding the print driver (after updating 2 1.04) the boot process (vista 32bit) starts but stops with an error about epsons status monitor.. i have no network and opening my computers shows nothing - no drives, u cant get on internet
then after about 10-15 mins (of being stuck in a loop
) the rest of the boot process is finishes and works normally.
so there is something definately wrong thhere..
if i cant fix it in the registry then i will have 2 go back to v1.03  damn..

Logged
I Am a Criminal created by the US Government
A Medical Cannabis Advocate, User & Engineer.
I Designed your Space Shuttles, Cars & Software.
Can't design Squat now!
Pages: [1] 2