• August 10, 2020, 01:47:55 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household  (Read 3055 times)

amandie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household
« on: August 10, 2016, 05:53:47 PM »

Hello,

I have a DIR-615 C1, on 3.11 NA Firmware (June 2009). The Wi-Fi is working fine with two laptops wirelessly connected but for some reason, not the (2) iPhones. Sometimes we appear connected but no internet/Wi-Fi is actually happening. Most of the time, the WiFi network is gone and we are on our mobile network. I tried turning off my mobile network and see if I would connect to the Wi-Fi network but it was unsuccessful. I did a factory reset (held in 30 seconds) and set it up manually via the 192.168.0.1. Looking at the status via the dlink IP address,

What region are you located?  Midwest.
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? We primarily wireless with laptop but currently wired.
Has a Factory Reset been performed? Yes.
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? Not sure.
 
Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Charter Spectrum, Cable modem.
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Mfr ISP modem is Arris, Model - TM1602A
Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing? Dynamic.
What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Up is 4 to 5 mbps and Down is 55 to 93 mbps.
By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds. Done, wired is fine and wireless is fine on laptops. It is the phones that aren't connecting to the dlink wifi.
Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Done.

Not sure what to do. TIA. :)
« Last Edit: August 11, 2016, 10:50:50 AM by amandie »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49046
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 07:03:05 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

b]Wireless Configurations[/b]
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

amandie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2016, 11:36:04 AM »

Thank you so much for your reply. I must confess that I am a total noob when it comes to that so some of your questions I am not sure how to answer, like the wireless mode?

Currently, two laptops are connected via the Wi-Fi. No devices are wired in our household. The SSID I personalized and I cannot see any other Wi-Fi networks in our area. Security Mode is wpa2_psk on Channel 6 (?) I am going to try your suggestions in the second portion. Thanks so much for your reply, again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49046
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 12:09:19 PM »

Let us know...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

amandie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2016, 04:59:16 PM »

After trying Furry's links and suggestions, still nothing. However, I may have figured it out. I had the WPS (WiFi Protected Setup) enabled and after some research regarding iphones and DIR-615, apparently WPS will not work with iPhones. I unticked the box, so far so good. I'll come back if the problem arises. Thanks so much for the suggestions and your reply, Furry!  8) (Edit: Thought it was FuzzyNutz, bwahaha)
« Last Edit: August 11, 2016, 05:04:27 PM by amandie »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49046
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 Wi-Fi issues with iPhones in household (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2016, 06:44:05 AM »

Ya we recommend not using WPS.
Glad you got it figured out.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!