• October 14, 2019, 08:20:34 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Fail to connect to DNS-323  (Read 11626 times)

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2010, 05:34:51 AM »

I'm thinking it's the NAS, but that's just a guess based on what has been posted.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Wiggs

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
    • dwithers.com
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2010, 06:34:37 AM »

What if you disable "Power Management" and change the "Idle Time"?

Wiggs
Logged
Wiggs,

DNS-323, 2-500GB Seagate Drives, FW 1.08
D-Link DGS-1005G Gigabit Switch
Asus O!Play Air Media Player
WinXP PC
OpenSuse 11.2 PC
Macbook 5,2 - Snow Leopard

manuelohere

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2010, 02:15:22 PM »

What if you disable "Power Management" and change the "Idle Time"?

Wiggs

Won't disabling power management cause the drive to spin all the time?  Causing reduced drive life?

I'll give that a shot and report back.  Thanks to everyone reading and contributing! 
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2010, 02:16:56 PM »

Well, a hard disk can spin many years as a rule without dying, so the big risk here is added power consumption and heat inside the case. :)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

manuelohere

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2010, 03:01:58 PM »

Yeah, don't want to decrease my drive life but its moot, as that didn't help.  I disabled Power Management and I can hear the drive spinning but I can no longer map to the drive. 
Took about 15 minutes before it lost connection.

So what else on the NAS can I look at?  Should I step up to FW 1.08?  I'm at 1.06. 
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2010, 07:51:52 AM »

Well, 1.08 has made improvements, but this is not something that should happen with 1.06 either.  I ran 1.06 for some time with no issues like that.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

alexwalkey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2010, 02:41:12 AM »

Hi, finally I found another occurrence of the same problem! I have scoured these forums and, as gunnerrunnerjohn says, no one else seems to have had the same issues...

Symptoms:
  • only have access to DNS 323 SAMBA shares from laptop (or xbox) for a max of 15 mins after restarting everything (laptop, xbox, NAS and router - as per previous post re Master Browsing issue).
  • If I try to bring up the 323's shares list (by typing in \\ipaddress\ or double-clicking the mapped drive) from a pc I get the message:
    \\ipaddress\Share is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.
    The specified network name is no longer available.

  • I can fully access the web admin panel and edit/save settings.
  • I can see the firefly iTunes server add-on listed in my iTunes.
  • I can access the NAS via FTP.

Setup:
  • I have a Netgear modem/router giving my network internet access and issuing network ips (DHCP server).
  • I have a Linksys router wirelessly bridging with that router to connect my XBOX1 in another room to the LAN. (But have since disconnected that part of my network for troubleshooting purposes.)
  • I have a laptop which is connected to the LAN either wirelessly or cabelled (tried both for troubleshooting).
  • And then I have the DLink DNS 323 NAS connected up.
  • (I also connect my iPhone up to the LAN sometimes - I notice manuelohere mentions he has one too...

NAS Settings:
  • Firmware 1.08
  • Jumbo Frames Disabled.
  • 100Mbps LAN only.
  • Firefly add-on installed.
  • Workgroup changed to match LAN devices (laptop and xbox - routers and iPhone don't have that option to specify).
  • Have changed Windows (7) hosts file to include ip address and name of NAS.
  • Used to share root of (RAID) drive, but have since set up shares of sub-folders to see if that helped with troubleshooting this issue (no luck there).

So, it looks as though I have the same issues as manuelohere... at least I hope so. Otherwise I really am (apparently) the only person in the world with this exact issue.

If anyone has any ideas at all please let me know...

Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Fail to connect to DNS-323
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2010, 06:14:39 AM »

I wonder if it's the installed applications or their configurations that are the issue. 
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Pages: 1 [2]