• June 15, 2024, 04:43:25 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: NAS Newbie - How to use USB port of DNS-345  (Read 4971 times)

BrianTK

• Level 1 Member
NAS Newbie - How to use USB port of DNS-345
« on: November 18, 2012, 08:44:54 PM »

Just bought DNS 345 for my small home network. I read from the manual that a printer or another hd can be connected.I am completely new to this.

1.Can both printer and hd be connected thru a usb dock?
2. Can the usb hd be NTFS formatted I have NTFS hd which I would liked to be shared?
3. Is data transfer between the usb hd and the hard disks in the NAS enclosure 2 way ie like I currently do with a hd connected to the router which can transfer data 2 way with the other connected PC;s.
4 And can 3 be done by the respective windows(XP, Vista, Win7) on the PC;s in the network.     

Very grateful for any help.

LuisRCA

• Level 1 Member
Re: NAS Newbie - How to use USB port of DNS-345
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 11:46:34 AM »

hello, I understand that the external hd, usb stick, etc must be formatted in either fat32 or ntfs, regarding the specifications od the product. For some reason Ext2/3/4 linux file systems aren't supported for external usb hardisks. The internal disks work with Ext4. Sorry I can't help you more, I am also a newbie!  :P

HunterGeo

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2012, 12:53:11 PM »

I've had a DNS-345 for about six months now; hopefully I can answer some of your questions but don't take my answers as gospel. :)

1. I can't see why not.
2. FAT32 or NTFS work. Other file systems (e.g. 'Mac OS Extended') are detectable but not writable.