• June 18, 2019, 02:08:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected  (Read 19702 times)

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13

Aloha,
I am have a DPH-50U installed on my Windows Vista Computer.  I use the DPH-50U only to make phone calls via Skype out.  Each time I reboot my computer Skype has reverted to using the Logitech Pro9000 Mic and the System Speakers (2-Creative SB X-Fi).
No matter how many times I set Skype's audio settings to the D-Link VoipCapture and D-Link VoipPlayback the Skype reverts to using the  Logitech Pro9000 Mic and the System Speakers (2-Creative SB X-Fi) on bootup. 
I have removed the Logitech Pro9000 from my "Startup" items.
I have gone into the Sound settings and set the DPH-50U as the default recording device.
I have gone into the Skype Audio Settings Advanced Options and moved the D-Link VoipCapture and D-Link VoipPlayback to the top of the lists for Microphone and Speakers.

Please let me know how I can get Skype to always use the D-Link VoipCapture and D-Link VoipPlayback by default so I don't have to change the settings each time.
Thank you,
John
Logged

gotti

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2009, 05:50:44 PM »

try driver version 1.1 .  http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=DPH-50U&tab=3.driver
make sure to uninstall V1.0 first

my settings have stayed the same for months since I installed it
« Last Edit: November 01, 2009, 05:53:22 PM by gotti »
Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2009, 10:18:29 PM »

Aloha Gotti,
I already have had the 1.01 version of the Dlink software installed on my computer for some time.  The link that you sent me to says that it is version 1.1.  On install the "EULA" says that it is version 1.01.  I have cut and pasted the following directly from the install window.
"Software version 1.01 end-user license agreement"
So if you were recommending that I install version 1.01 thank you but I have been running that version of the software since I purchased it as that was the version that came with the hardware.
If, on the other hand, you know of a place that I can download a 1.1 version of the software I would be happy to give it a try.  Please tell me where I can find it.

On another note.  I did find a thread from a DHP-50U user who had a problem similar to mine.  That user also had a Logitech 9000 web camera installed.  That user uninstalled the Logitech 9000 and the problem with Skype not remembering to use the DHP-50U disapeared.  I have uninstalled me Logitech 9000 web camera and all of it's software too (and your little dog too...).  I'll report back if that worked with the DHP-50U v1.01 software.
Aloha,
John
Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2009, 10:59:14 PM »

Aloha Gotti,
Well, I tried uninstalling my Logitech 9000 web camera and installing the driver/software that you pointed me to.  Unfortunately, when I open Skype it does not remember that I set it to the VoipCapture (D-Link Audio Device) or the VoipPlayback (D-Link Audio Device).
If you do know where I can find a driver that fixes this please point me to it.  If you have a driver that is more recent than the 1.01 driver on the D-Link website please point me to it or send it to me or post it here on the forum.
Thank you for the try at helping me to fix this.  I am a little jealous that it works on your computer and not mine.  ;)
Aloha,
John
Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2009, 10:55:02 AM »

Aloha,
I just received the following message from Skype technical support.

Hello John,
Thank you for contacting Skype Support.
We are truly sorry to hear that you are having problems with Skype sound settings.
This error is known by our development team and will be resolved in a future release of Skype.
Stay tuned on http://www.skype.com/download for updates and to get the latest Skype version.
We apologize for the inconvenience.
Best regards,
Kaarel
Skype Customer  Support


Now I can put less energy into trying to fix this and wait for Skype to fix the problem.
Aloha,
John
Logged

techbytes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • Techbytes
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2009, 07:00:33 AM »

It's not a drivers issue.  If you are running Skype version 4.1, then it's a bug in the newer version.  I had the same issue and downgrade to version 3.8 and problem solved.  Version 4.1 has a lot of bugs.  I suggest you run version 3.8. 

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2009, 10:55:57 AM »

how can I get version 3.8?
Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2009, 02:14:47 PM »

Aloha techbytes,
I just uninstalled Skype 4.1 and reinstalled Skype 3.8.  You are correct.  Now my D-Link DPH-50U VOIP stays selected in Skype's Audio Settings.  Thank you for the great advice.
Aloha,
John

Now happy to be using Skype 3.8 again.
Logged

gotti

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2009, 01:04:34 PM »

Aloha Gotti,
Well, I tried uninstalling my Logitech 9000 web camera and installing the driver/software that you pointed me to.  Unfortunately, when I open Skype it does not remember that I set it to the VoipCapture (D-Link Audio Device) or the VoipPlayback (D-Link Audio Device).
If you do know where I can find a driver that fixes this please point me to it.  If you have a driver that is more recent than the 1.01 driver on the D-Link website please point me to it or send it to me or post it here on the forum.
Thank you for the try at helping me to fix this.  I am a little jealous that it works on your computer and not mine.  ;)
Aloha,
John

John, apologies for the late reply.
The driver update I linked earlier does say version 1.1 on the download web site.
the zip file name is dph50U_Driver_11.zip

I just now updated Skype to version 4.1.0.179
It's a 'hot fix', i.e. installs with Skype open

I had no problems with the earlier version of Skype

From the D-link site
"Technical and Warranty support for the product shall continue, with proof of purchase, until August 01, 2010."
« Last Edit: December 05, 2009, 01:11:14 PM by gotti »
Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2009, 12:57:21 PM »

Aloha Gotti,
I have been running Skype 3.8 since mid November and it works great.  It remembers that I'm using the Dlink DPH-50U and I do not have to reset the Audio Options to VOIPCapture (D-Link Virtual Audio Device) or VOIPPlayback (D-Link Virtual Audio Device) each time as I had to when running version Skype version 4.01.

I'm pretty happy with 3.8 except that it doesn't have screen sharing and I miss that as I work internationally online and that is a great feature for online collaboration. The other great thing about 3.8 is that I have my Logitech webcam software installed.  I can move back and forth from the Logitech software and Skype 3.8 without resetting any of the settings in either program.

Back in November the techs at Skype wrote me to let me know that the issue that I was having with Skype 4.01 not remembering the Dlink DPH-50U as the default device was a known issue that they were working on solving.

Are you saying that 4.1.0.0179 fixes that issue.  I'd really like to go back to version 4 if that is the case.
Aloha,
John
Logged

tricky

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2009, 06:33:01 AM »

johncassel

Which operating system are you using, XP, Vista or Windows 7?

I never had problems when using XP but now using Windows 7 it doesnt matter which Skype version I use it still loses the voip setting after a re-boot.

Logged

johncassel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2010, 10:51:55 AM »

Aloha Tricky,
I am using Windows Vista SP2. 

A month ago I had to switch back to using Skype v4.1.0.179 so I could use the screen sharing feature.  With v4.1.0.179 installed I have to reset Skype's Audio settings to the DPH-50U VOIP setting each time I reboot the computer.

Please let me know if there is a solution to this problem.
Mahalo,
John
Logged

tricky

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2010, 11:56:28 AM »

Havn't found a solution yet?
Luckily I have my computer on 24hrs so it is very seldom re-booted but I still have to change the settings each time.
It has to be a windows7  problem, it never happened while using XP
Logged

kuzulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2010, 01:46:05 AM »

Hi guys!
I have the same issue with Windows 7.
Please update if you find any solution for this problem.

10X.
Logged

kuzulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Skype does not keep the D-Link VoipCapture and VoipPlayback selected
« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2010, 02:04:11 AM »

tricky,

I have Win 7 as I mentioned before. I have downgraded to v.3.8 and it worked for me. Now I can reboot the pc without loosing DPH-50U settings.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2