• August 21, 2019, 04:40:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2  (Read 12552 times)

stonecastle

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

I've been using my WBR-2310 for years w/out any problems or security but I finally decided to enable WPA2.  Ever since I did that, I have to reboot the router each morning to fix the error message I get on both of our laptops "limited or no connectivity". After I reboot the router, the laptops auto connect and everything works fine.

I have comcast cable modem internet so I'm using DHCP.
I updated to the latest firmware (1.04) but that didn't do it.

Please let me know if you have any ideas to fix this issue.

Thank you!
Logged

stonecastle

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 03:16:39 AM »

The cause is definitely the WPA2 because I reset the router to its defaults, didn't enable WPA2 and I'm fine. 

Please let me know if you're aware of any resources or things I can try in order to successfully enable my router's wireless encryption.

Thank you!
Logged

idq000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2009, 12:09:34 PM »

Please update to version 1.05.  This version fixes the WPA2 authentication issue.  However, be forewarned that if you update to this version, it seems to reboot the router if you put too much traffic through it.
Logged

stonecastle

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 05:20:07 AM »

Thank you for the reply.  Unfortunately I'm already using firmware version 1.05 (I mis-typed above). 

The problem must be from a wrong DHCP setting on IP range or maybe I need to set up DHCP reservations for each computer?  The manual doesn't go into detail on that topic (or I don't understand it...).

Let me know if anyone has any suggestions.

 ;)
Logged

chaosrox

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2009, 07:48:38 PM »

The same thing happens with mine too! I unfortunately had to downgrade my security to wep.
Logged

mcfmcf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2010, 08:11:03 AM »

I am having the same issue. I think once or twice it did connect though, but 95% of the time, I need to reboot the router every morning.

I am 1.5 also.

Any suggestions?
Logged

mcfmcf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2010, 05:25:53 AM »

So I assume the dlink tech help guys arent watching these threads.... should I email them directly re: this issue? It still exists, I have 1.50, and all it takes is unplug/plug in the router and it all works.  But thats annoying as hell and shouldnt have to do this.
Logged

sdd75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2010, 06:57:30 PM »

Same here...enabled WPA2 due to it being a requirement for some wireless devices that need to connect.  Now I have to reset the router all the time.  How is it that the last firmware update for an in life product is 2 years old?
Logged

bacchus

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Getting "Limited or no connectivity" each morning after enabling WPA2
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2010, 09:43:55 PM »

I've had the same problem with this router for about a year now.  I thought it was something I was doing wrong at first so I began reading posts around the net and changing settings.  I've moved the router to multiple locations in my home.  I then moved the router out of the home to the office to try another environment.  I was thinking maybe I was experiencing an interference issue.  Nothing helped.  I have two laptops, one running linux and one running Mac OS X.  Any time I connect either to the router, I need to reboot the router before I can connect.  I became convinced this is a firmware flaw so I began researching the topic.  It seems that this is a common problem with the router and something D-LINK is not willing to support (no fix via firmware update).  

However, this fix will definitely work!

Switch to Linksys (Cisco) products.  The product support is much better (I own products from both) than D-LINK and the hardware works flawlessly.  Here is a link to a great router by Linksys.  I would suggest cutting your losses with this D-LINK paper weight.  I know I am.  You can purchase this linksys model on newegg.com for a discounted price.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124387&cm_re=linksys_wireless_router-_-33-124-387-_-Product

http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Routers/Linksys-E2100L-Advanced-Wirelessn-router-linux_stcVVproductId97826162VVcatId551966VVviewprod.htm
« Last Edit: November 05, 2010, 08:53:43 AM by bacchus »
Logged