• June 18, 2019, 09:49:23 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Upgraded from a DIR-655 to the DIR-882 where are all the settings?  (Read 521 times)

Tanquen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12

Model Name: DIR-882   Hardware Version: A1   Firmware Version: 1.11

The web interface seems to be missing lots of info. It there a detailed mode or something vs the GUI almost nothing mode?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47458
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Upgraded from a DIR-655 to the DIR-882 where are all the settings?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2018, 07:20:35 AM »

The GUI has been scaled down since the DIR-880L. IT's more simplistic and not as granular as it was with the older DIR series routers. This is how it is.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tanquen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Upgraded from a DIR-655 to the DIR-882 where are all the settings?
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2019, 08:55:29 PM »

That is a bummer. Seems kinda not cool to just do that. Iím sure everything is still there. I feel a little taken advantage of. :(
Is there a better make/model to get then? Cannot even see signal strength. They really need to denote barebones plug it in and hope it works vs being able to like look at and configure settings.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2077
Re: Upgraded from a DIR-655 to the DIR-882 where are all the settings?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2019, 08:56:48 AM »

What info are you looking for exactly? Wireless clients will display the signal strength. Routers that display that for every client adds a ton of overhead to the router. Old routers used to just handle like 5 devices. Now most people have over 10 devices so having the router calculate the signal strength of every client in real time can take is toll on the processor (and very unnecessary since clients display that info).
Logged