• August 22, 2019, 08:30:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!  (Read 2536 times)

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« on: October 23, 2018, 12:41:41 PM »

So all my port forwarding settings on my 880L are gone.  I am very confused with terminology.
When port forwarding for remote DVR viewing, do I have to enter in the following details:
1.  Port Forwarding and Virtual Server?
2.  Is port 8080 an example of an External Port? Is it also called a TCP Port (It's open)  (This is not my local Router Port)
3.  Is an Internal Port the same as a Mobile Port or something different?

Let's just start with this and I will be back for more.
Thanks for any help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47702
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 01:57:12 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Differences between VS and PF: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=4235.0

If you Port Forward, you need to disable uPnP as well ON the router.

You have ports that are internal and external and can be same port numbers or different.
Have you contacted the Mfr of your DVR for information regarding remote viewing with a router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2018, 02:09:25 PM »

There is no "status" tab or sub tab after logging in to modem?  I am located in North New Jersey,
ISP provider is Cable Comcast in "Bridge Mode" brand says Xfinity
DVR is unbranded
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 02:14:39 PM »

Ok...UPnP was enabled.  It is now disabled.  This may be a big help to start.
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 02:22:54 PM »

Found firmware under "UPGRADE" Current Firmware Version:    1.07WW, Fri 26 Feb 2016
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2143
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2018, 08:09:31 AM »

What are you trying to do? That will be easier to help you configure your router. Having UPnP enabled will eliminate the need to open ports for most applications.

Port Forwarding - Basically opens a port (or ports) to a specific device on your network. 

For example, you have an FTP server on your network. By default it uses port 21. You can open port 21 to the IP address of your ftp server. Any traffic from the Internet hitting your router on port 21 will get forwarded to your FTP server.

Virtual Server - Same as port forwarding but the incoming port (or ports) can be different than the port of the device on your network.

For example, if you have a FTP server on your network, you can keep port 21 on the server but some ISPs may block it so you can use say port 2121. In the virtual server setting, external port would be 2121 and internal port would be 21. This will tell the router any traffic coming in from the internet on port 2121 to forward to the IP address of the ftp server using port 21. Users on the Internet would have to specify port 2121 to gain access to your ftp server. URL = ftp://1.2.3.4:2121 for example.

External port = The port of the traffic from the Internet coming to your router.
Internal port = The port used by the device on your local network.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47702
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2018, 08:13:00 AM »

Is there a mfr name or brand name and model# on this modem?

There is no "status" tab or sub tab after logging in to modem?  I am located in North New Jersey,
ISP provider is Cable Comcast in "Bridge Mode" brand says Xfinity
DVR is unbranded
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2018, 09:25:17 AM »

Trying to set up remote viewing on my DVR.
Initially, I can't see to get the incoming port open on 80.  It was at one time.  DVR is set up for 80.
Device or DVR is the "Mobile port" (Internal port)
Ok..UPnP is back enabled.
Also, when I put in my ip address from my PC (Whats my ip)...on Virtual Server, it changes to a different ip.
If you need any pics lmk
thanks for the help
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2143
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2018, 09:33:21 AM »

If you are using the Xfinity app you shouldn't have to open any ports on the router since the DVR and the app communicate with xfinity, not the router directly. 

When testing are you turning off WiFi on your device and then launching the app?
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2018, 10:08:39 AM »

yes, wifi is off and data is activated.
I know of no xfinity app since it is not there security system that i am using.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2143
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2018, 10:26:22 AM »

What are you using to connect then if you are not using xfinity app?

Please explain EXACTLY what you are doing.
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2018, 10:36:34 AM »

I'm using Meye to view security cameras connected to my DVR
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2143
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2018, 10:51:46 AM »

Ahh ok. You have xfinity by comcast and DVR so I assumed you were trying to view their DVR.  :P

In your DVR can you change the port? I would not use 80 or 8080 since those are default ports. Use something between 1024-65535. 8000 for example.

In the Meye app, enter a name, Address is the WAN/Internet IP address in the D-Link router, not the local IP.  Port = the port you entered in your DVR. Enter the DVR's username and password (if required).

In the router, go to Features > Port Forwarding. Click Add Rule. Enter a name, Local IP Address = the IP address of the DVR. TCP and UDP ports = the port you entered in your DVR and in the Meye app. Click Apply.

Test and hopefully that will work.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2018, 10:54:27 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2018, 11:22:45 AM »

Ok...it appears getting more simpler as we talk.  I wll change those port settings on the DVR and router
so, to be clear, the WAN/Internet IP address in the D-Link router is like the default ip of my Dlink router like 192.168.0.1 for example;
So, do I have to enter the "Whatsmyip" address anywhere?
thnaks
Logged

bbqbrisket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Port Forwarding.....I'm so confuzzzzzed!
« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2018, 11:29:24 AM »

My DVR has an http port, media port and mobile port enteries available.
Note, I have local access via Wifi with the DVR ip address and the "Media" port entered in the app.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2