• August 23, 2019, 10:27:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released  (Read 4682 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2018, 02:40:49 PM »

Ok, I'll have a look at mine again and see. I just updated via web page and didn't do a factory reset either.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Phil

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2018, 08:20:25 PM »

I just got around to trying Internet Explorer from a laptop (after it refused to talk to Chrome). I can't log in, either with what I guess is the default password, or with my previous password. It says it's a DCS-936L_5D on the login page, if that helps.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2018, 08:23:45 PM by Phil »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2018, 09:26:06 AM »

Ok, just check mine out. I used IE11x32 to log into it on a Windows 7x32 laptop thats wireless to the main router, DIR-890L currently online. Video is present after installing the plug-in.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Phil

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2018, 08:02:09 PM »

After I reset it again, I was able to get in via the web interface. Everything appears to be working, only the Android app is useless, because there is apparently no way to add the device. I can only get as far as setting the password. After that, things fall apart (except, apparently the password is set, because that password let me get in through the web interface).

I'm trying the firmware upgrade through the web interface (which tells me it is 1.05.07 build 3306).
Logged

Phil

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2018, 08:23:49 PM »

OK, everything is working. Evidently, the Android app can't work with firmware 1.05.07, which either my using the hardware reset, or something else after the automatic upgrade failed caused the device to revert to. So, it looks like there is no way to recover from an upgrade failure using only the Android app, as things stand.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2018, 12:31:48 PM »

Glad you were able to get it going. I'll have D-Link look in to the Android stuff.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wenlock

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2019, 05:38:28 AM »

I have had motion detection problems with V1.07.04 especially in the dark and have gone back to v1.05.07.
I initially regressed to V1.06.1 but had lots of problems getting back into camera.
Managed to login to camera directly after camera boot (flashing orange) as an AP (connecting to network DCS-936L...on laptop) then via 192.168.1.20 using internet explorer. This way I was able to overwrite v1.06.1 with v1.05.07 (great fun  :'( )
Took me a while to understand to reset my password in the web server interface to what it was before (as I had changed it), before connecting via mydlink.

Mydlink on android now works ok even with v1.05.07 with the correct password setup on the camera web server.

In summary, there seems to be motion detection issues with  V1.07.04 as other people have said, and D-Link should investigate further.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2019, 05:43:28 AM by wenlock »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2019, 07:19:41 AM »

Was a factory reset and setup from scratch performed after v1.07 was applied?

I have had motion detection problems with V1.07.04 especially in the dark and have gone back to v1.05.07.
I initially regressed to V1.06.1 but had lots of problems getting back into camera.
Managed to login to camera directly after camera boot (flashing orange) as an AP (connecting to network DCS-936L...on laptop) then via 192.168.1.20 using internet explorer. This way I was able to overwrite v1.06.1 with v1.05.07 (great fun  :'( )
Took me a while to understand to reset my password in the web server interface to what it was before (as I had changed it), before connecting via mydlink.

Mydlink on android now works ok even with v1.05.07 with the correct password setup on the camera web server.

In summary, there seems to be motion detection issues with  V1.07.04 as other people have said, and D-Link should investigate further.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wenlock

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DCS-936L - Firmware 1.07.04 Released
« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2019, 02:21:16 AM »

I think so, I used the web interface for the update. After further experimentation, I have concluded it is required to have the sensitivity set at 100% (both versions). I have just recently re-installed v1.07.4 and with sensitivity at 100% it seems to be working OK for my purposes. I use the camera in my home-made webcam to keep an eye on a few hedgehogs in my garden. so the camera looks over their food and water bowels that are about 1 meter away. It would be helpful if there was an explanation as to how the sensitivity works and what is the difference between say a 85% and 100% setting. With an 85% setting I was failing to record, and with 100% I can get false positives.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2019, 02:24:05 AM by wenlock »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]