• September 16, 2019, 06:00:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't reach management page initial setup  (Read 1534 times)

jshurak

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Can't reach management page initial setup
« on: September 06, 2018, 02:33:03 PM »

I just picked up this router today. I can't connect to the management page to configure it. I've tried wired and wireless. Both have successfully obtained IP addresses and can ping 192.168.0.1. manually setting the IP produces the same result.  I've tried dlinkrouter.local again no luck.  This happens with multiple browsers.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2166
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 03:05:15 PM »

Does the browser take you to a search page result? google or bing? or does it time out?

Can you release/renew the IP address on your computer?

Try resetting the router and reconnect.

Logged

jshurak

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2018, 06:25:27 PM »

I get a generic 'This site cannot be reached'.  This router is not connected to the internet.

Release/renew didn't get anywhere.

Resetting the router also did not get anywhere.  Is this router DOA?

Edit: its not DOA in the strictest terms. If i plug the internet into the wan port I can reach the internet from the lan ports....just can't get to the management page.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2018, 06:32:36 PM by jshurak »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2166
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2018, 08:23:54 PM »

hmm that is strange. And this happens with different computers/devices?

You may want to do a crash recovery. Possible the firmware got corrupted which can rarely happen.

Download the 1.05 firmware from support.dlink.com/dir-859. Unplug the power to the router. Hold in the reset button and then plug the power back in while still holding the reset button in. Hold for about 10 seconds and release.

While the router is rebooting, you need to statically assign your computer (use ethernet and IE 11 if possible). Statically assign it to 192.168.0.2 / 255.255.255.0.

Open browser and go to 192.168.0.1. You should see a firmware recovery page. Load the .bin file you downloaded. Once finished, close the browser and change your IP settings back on your computer and go to 192.168.0.1 again. Hopefully you will get to the UI.
Logged

jshurak

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2018, 08:39:29 AM »

Thanks for your assistance.  I'd tried to enter recovery but that doesn't work either.  Looks like this is going to be returned.
Logged

jshurak

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2018, 02:29:18 PM »

I wanted to update this thread work some more info. I just exchanged this router for an identical one.  The new one exhibits the same issues, however, I can access the management page using a MacBook.  Windows 10 is a no go. I'm going to try another windows pc.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2018, 06:37:09 AM »

Try a Windows 7 PC if possible...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2166
Re: Can't reach management page initial setup
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 07:09:26 AM »

Do you have any add-ons to your browsers?

When you say Windows 10, all browsers or just Edge? Edge will not work well.
Logged