• June 16, 2019, 08:31:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?  (Read 1147 times)

Mikemorrell2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Iím having issues connecting to my 323 via my network.  The 323 was set up with 2 1tb drives in a raid 1 configuration.  Assuming the raid and disks are fine, can I simply remove one of the drives and plug it into my win 10 pc to access the files?  Or will this fail because the drive was part of a raid set?  I realize that the 323 is no longer supported.  So Iím just doing tomget my files to another drive.

I have a second drive that was set up with two drives but was set as jbod. It used the combined total size of each drive to form a bigger drive.  Is it possible to take either of those drives out and connect to a windows on and get any files from them?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2018, 10:40:45 AM »

NO, I believe you will break the raid configuration by doing this...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1438
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2018, 05:03:04 PM »

Simple answer, DON'T let windows near ant drive from a Linux NAS.  Windows does not understand the the Ext2/3 file system and will destroy any data you have on the disk.

Just removing disks without marking which slot they came from gives a 50% chance of losing your data on a RAID1 array and a higher chance of loss with a JBOD array, It also requires specialist equipment and software to recover data from a damaged JBOD array.

Your problem with not being able to access your NAS boxes is, most probably down to the fact that Microsoft changed the default SMB/CIFS version to v2 and the NAS boxes only understand V1.  You need to dig about in the win setup and change SMB back to v1.
Logged

Sincere1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2019, 07:31:42 AM »

Ivan, I found this thread because I have a similar problem: I would like to retrieve data from a disk out of my dead DNS-323 (I got nearly 10 good years, TY D-Link). From what I've read I believe the most likely cause was a failed capacitor. I see you posted on the data recovery subject here: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=67018.0.

I'm 99% certain that I had the disks set up as Standard - although they nearly mirrored each other because I had a program called FreeFileSync copying most of one drive to the other every night (the changes that is).

I have installed both drives into spare bays in a desktop machine running Win 7 but only connected the SATA cable to one disk - fortunately the BIOS gave me a blinking cursor and I wasn't able to launch Windows - I hadn't read these threads yet!

So one disk at a time I would like to view the files, and copy those I still need to the hard drive of the desktop machine that runs Win 7. I read your instructions in the other post about booting to a live Linux DVD and to "transfer everything over the network". I have never worked in Linux directly so please treat me as a child. If I were to boot to a live Linux DVD, how would I:
1: Access the NAS disk (installed into the desktop machine) to view the contents?
2: Copy the desired files to the Win 7 disk (in the same machine)

Being ignorant on the subject I'm inclined to presume that if Windows can't see a Linux file system (and can corrupt it), isn't it true the other way around?

Thank you,
Mike
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1438
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2019, 11:20:26 AM »

Sorry for the delay in answering.

Now to try and solve your problem.  First thing is that you have an advantage in only using win 7 but you do still need a Linux DVD (I would recommend you using Linux Mint - it is the distribution that I use for recovery tasks and can read/write to the windows file system).

You need to start your computer with the DVD in the drive at power up (use a straightened paper clip to open the DVD drive).  Once it boots up you will see 2 icons on the left side of the screen, 'Computer' and under that 'home'. Opening 'Computer' will show you all the disks and CD/DVD units that Mint finds - check that it shows both the NAS disks and windows disk then close that window.

Now open 'Home' and play about with the menus so you get an idea of what is there especially the menu on the left of the window.  Once you are comfortable with what is there find one of the NAS disks and check that you can read the files.  If that is successful try opening the windows disk and select where you are going to store the recovered files, if that works then go back to the NAS disk (select the from the bar on the bottom of the screen) and then move that window to a position where you can it and the destination window then just drag and drop files from the NAS disk to the windows disk.

Good luck and please ask questions if you are not sure.
Logged

Sincere1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2019, 02:46:24 PM »

Ivan, well as you can see I am worse than you at replying so certainly no need to apologize.

Thank you for the advice. Which Linux Mint distribution would you recommend? I looked it up on Wikipedia and there seem to be many, chiefly branching at Ubuntu based vs. Debian based.

Um, maybe scratch the previous question. I went to the Linux Mint website and it looks like I just need to choose between Cinnamon, MATE and Xfce. If I had time to play I would love to try Cinnamon (or each of them in turn). However I'm consumed by my work life currently and this small project could take weeks of snippets of my spare time. So please be understanding if I'm slow to reply.

I think I should use Xfce simply because it's the smallest and most stable, but they state that each edition has "different menus, different panels and configuration tools". What say you?

Also, prior to seeing your reply I did at one point boot into the BIOS to look for the disks and the BIOS could not see them (or it, I may have only had one plugged to SATA cable). Is that significant or just something to be expected?

Thank you,
Mike
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1438
Re: Can I take out a hard drive and use it on windows without the 323?
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2019, 08:13:27 AM »

I have one of my Ryzen based computers setup with Linux Mint Cinnamon as standard OS because that comp also has a disk tray that I can slot external disks into.

I your case just download the Mint Cinnamon ISO, burn it to a DVD.  Then boot from that DVD.  It will allow you to 'see' and recover files from your NAS disks to either space on the main HD of the computer or a USB external disk, without having to install Linux (you might find that you like using it and replace windows with it, several of my friends have done that when they got tired of the win 10 snooping of their data).

If your NAS disks don't show recoverable data it could be because of the RAID setup and they are not individual disks which means that data for each file is spread between both disks..

Regarding bios not seeing the disk, it could be because of how the SATA ports are setup by default.

I usually recommend that people use some form of USB/SATA adapter (I have now standardised on the Atolla CH326U3S as it takes both 2.5 and 3.5 inch disks and has an external power supply, available from Amazon about £19)

I hope this helps, if not continue asking questions. 
Logged