• May 22, 2019, 02:47:22 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Power over Ethernet?  (Read 1823 times)

Watcher

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Power over Ethernet?
« on: July 16, 2018, 11:18:27 PM »

A quick question - is this camera supposed to have PoE? The datasheet does not mention it:
https://eu.dlink.com/uk/en/-/media/consumer_products/dcs/dcs-2670l/datasheet/dcs_2670l_datasheet_en.pdf

On the other hand, the cable dongle that has the power AND the ethernet cables also has a sticker reminding to seal off one of the contacts that is not in use. The rubber seal can fit into the power contact, so this suggested that the power connector may be optional, leaving only the ethernet connector open.

Also, 2332L, on which this camera seems to be based, has PoE.

The reason I wonder - I mounted the camera so that I have access to the cables, and it's only 5m to the nearest unpowered switch. Should I replace it with a PoE-capable one and drop the power adapter near the camera?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 08:47:13 AM by Watcher »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Power ofver Ethernet?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2018, 06:31:30 AM »

If PoE is not mentioned in the specs, then it's not supporting of it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Watcher

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: Power over Ethernet?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2018, 05:08:00 AM »

In the end, I solved the PoE problem by using the pair of TP-Link injector TL-POE150S on one end and TP-Link splitter TL-POE10R on the camera's end. The included connector fits perfectly to the 2670L's power contact.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Power over Ethernet?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2018, 02:18:41 PM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

covex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Power over Ethernet?
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2019, 01:11:59 PM »

The problem with this camera is, it is 5V only and no active PoE. You may use the power splitter, but the 5V is too low for long ethernet wires. Due to resistance of the wire and current needed by the camera, you will get too high voltage drops at more than a few meters of the ethernet cable. The camera should have at least 12V supply,not 5V, PoE at best.
Logged