• August 25, 2019, 05:48:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Client 1.1.1.1 ?  (Read 1691 times)

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« on: May 24, 2018, 07:34:09 AM »

Logged into my router remotely , today, to see whether my NAS was connected -- and saw a "connected client" with an IP of 1.1.1.1 (my address are 192.168.x.x).

What could that be?

Oh, and - while I'm writing - why are some connected clients blue, and others gray?

And where's the PING tool, in the admin screens for the 882  (if there is one) ?

thanks!
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 08:23:33 AM »

Ya that's odd. Do you see the same address if your locally connected to the routers web page?
What is the mfr and model# of this NAS?
Is it using a static or Dynamic IP address ON the NAS?
Happens with IE11 or FF browsers as well?

Gray tiles means that the device isn't currently connected however was at some point. Blue means it's currently connected..

Not sure if there is a PING tool supported on this model router...I would look under Maintenance or System and see. If you don't see any, then may not be available.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2018, 06:46:51 PM »

Finally got back to this.  I have Advanced IP Scanner software on my pc, so typed 1.1.1.1 into the address range to search.  Up comes "1dot1dot1dot1.cloudflare-dns.com."  I search on this, and see that this is some kind of DNS service -- but I'm signed up for Dlink's DNS service.  I DO have Dlinkddns.com's info typed in on the Features > Dynamic DNS page for my DIR-882 -- does that have something to do with this?

If I determine that I want to block this - whatever it is -- how do I do that?  When I look at the Clients screen, it shows attached clients, says "You can block a device from accessing your network completely," but I don't know how!

Or , alternately -- should I have my Comcast DNS server IP addressed typed in on the 882's Settings > Internet Settings > Advanced page?  Because I DO NOT.

thanks...
« Last Edit: June 04, 2018, 06:49:38 PM by caraM »
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2018, 06:40:56 AM »

What do you have typed in the DDNS feature service?

Do you have anything typing in the normal DNS settings under Internet or is that blank?
1.1.1.1 is a new DNS server that's supposed to be faster and is safe to use. I'm using it on my router. I like it.

I wouldn't think that DDNS would show up with 1.1.1.1 unless they have changed something...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2018, 03:13:34 PM »

Dynamic DNS Enabled
Status: Connected
Server Address:  dlinkddns.com
Host name, user name, password all filled in
Timeout: 24 hours
No IP address records listed in the table at the bottom of the Dynamic DNS page.

The NAS shouldn't have anything to do with this.  I've assigned it a static IP and it's using the IP its been assigned.

I do have issues with the NAS, which is behind a wireless client bridge (DD-WRT Linksys router) NOT showing up correctly in my clients list on the 882, but I'm not worried about that right now.

I appreciate your help!
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2018, 10:31:22 PM »

You might disable DDNS and manually input DNS into Internet/Manual DNS:
I used 1.1.1.1 and 9.9.9.9
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2018, 02:12:34 PM »

Confused.  What I'd put in the DNS entries on the Internet page don't have anything to do with my DYNAMIC DNS service, do they?  They are the DNS server addresses for my internet service provider, aren't they?
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2018, 02:14:02 PM »

You can input any DNS address there on the Internet page, leaving it blank tells the router to auto detect DNS address that your ISP provides. You can input any other DNS and the router will use it. Its not Dynamic DNS related when you manually input DNS addresses there.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2018, 11:12:57 AM »

Sorry to keep dragging this out -- but you said to disable my Dynamic DNS service on the router, and input those given IPs for the DNS servers - but I want to use my Dynamic DNS service!  I'm not sure, to be honest, how any of this (both the DDNS entry and the DNS Server entries are kind of "outgoing" addresses, aren't they?) would impact 1.1.1.1 showing up as a client?
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2018, 06:30:32 AM »

You can use DDNS, the suggestion of using 1.1.1.1 and 9.9.9.9 was to see if the issue was still present. You'll need to remove 1.1.1.1 entries if you use your DDNS services...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2018, 06:56:33 AM »

Any progress on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2019, 06:55:49 AM »

Sorry, not yet. 
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47713
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Client 1.1.1.1 ?
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2019, 06:57:19 AM »

Let us know on how it goes...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting