• April 21, 2019, 12:03:36 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Fixed IP issues  (Read 1651 times)

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Fixed IP issues
« on: March 17, 2018, 06:15:47 PM »

Just bought my 2nd Dlink camera, a 2630L.  Love that I can record my dog's mischievous behavior without having to manually pan to follow her across our main room.

Setup using the app was a breeze -- but, then, I tried to set a fixed IP address for the camera on my network.  That started a nightmare where the camera rebooted, wouldn't come back onto the network, wouldn't accept the internal WIFI password printed on the camera.  Multiple resets and attempts and a few hours later, I got it back online, but using DLink's standard setup.  I can access the camera via MyDlink, but can't do anything custom in the configuration screen.

Is there a trick, once it's on my network with an auto-assigned IP, to getting it to the fixed IP that I WANT it to use, and stay with?

Thanks
Cara
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47208
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2018, 08:39:42 AM »

What is the default IP address pool of the router? 192.168.#.100 thru .200?
What IP address were you trying to set ON the camera?

if your using a limited IP address pool, then any IP address set ON the camera out side of this pool should work.

What FW is currently loaded?
What browser are you using to manage the cameras web page?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2018, 05:11:26 PM »

I don't have the IP addresses handy, but I have a set number 2-9, I believe) that I used for fixed addresses, and my DHCP pool is like from 21-99.  I did pick a number within the range of my fixed addresses and not yet assigned to anything else.  Still failed, but I'll give it another go when I have few hours and no immediate need to monitor the pups.

Just wanted to make sure that there wasn't some "newfangled" changes on this camera that I wasn't aware of, since it's the first one I've bought that has that internal wifi net for easy setup.
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2018, 06:27:21 PM »

I have an IP scanner software that's showing the current IP address for my camera, but I'm unable to browse to it.

Could some of my problems stem from the fact that I have 2 wireless routers, in my house, one set up as my primary router with DHCP and the other with wireless but sharing the SSID and acting solely as an access point?

I am NOT a networking expert, but got this set up in order to extend the range of my primary router (before range extenders became readily available).  Both routers are "visible", but it seems that if I sit close to the primary router I cannot connect to the camera (which is right next to the second router).

Further checking shows that my IP scanning software is showing a dead link to the 2630 with the same MAC address that MyDlink.com shows (and I can view the camera, there).  It shows a live link to a 2630 with a MAC address just slightly different.  How could THAT happen??
« Last Edit: March 18, 2018, 07:45:08 PM by caraM »
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47208
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2018, 11:01:03 AM »

Possible.

How do you have the main host router and 2ndary AP configured? Main host router should have DHCP enabled while the 2ndary AP has everything disabled and is connected vis LAN to LAN:
Turning a router into an AP.

If this is like this, then connecting to the cameras web page shouldn't be an issue. Is the IP address the same as the main host IP address pool string?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2018, 07:25:31 AM »

DHCP is off on secondary router (one closest to camera).  Second router is NOT connected via ethernet, if that's what you mean by "lan to lan."  Connects wirelessly, with its own static IP address.

I was able to get the 2630 connected via static IP.  When home and away, this weekend, I was able to connect to it from inside and from outside, using MyDlink app and 3rd party app.

Today at work (corporate network is possible cause  of connections issues) I can connect to my other 2 cameras (one Dlink, one Swann) using ipCamSoft app (uses DDNS service + ip ports).  I can't connect to the 2630 via ipCamSoft, or mYDlink, or web browser.  I can connect to it, however, using safari browser on my phone with 4g (not wifi).  Unfortunately, that takes you into a highly limited view.  I can view the camera's image -- but is there an address I can use to get into the camera's CONFIGURATION from Safari?
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47208
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Fixed IP issues
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2018, 04:10:50 PM »

Saw issues with my last play of work where I couldn't access my items from work. Just happens to be a work network issue. They seem to filter some things out.
If you can access mydlink and the camera thru there, there you can try and connect to the cameras web page thru there. However your work network might be filtering that out.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!