• October 13, 2019, 06:56:25 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't get past 100MB  (Read 1326 times)

yauza16

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't get past 100MB
« on: March 06, 2018, 03:04:04 PM »

I just got my internet upgraded and when I run speed tests from my PC, I am only getting 100mbps.  When I connect directly to the modem, I get 300Mbps.  I've tried putting the DIR-890L HW:A1 FW:1.20 into AP mode as well, but I"m still only getting 100mbps.  Something on the dlink is dropping the connection down.  Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47833
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't get past 100MB
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2018, 04:46:35 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

yauza16

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't get past 100MB
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2018, 05:25:17 PM »

I am located in NA
Wired to the router
Factory Reset has not been done yet
Yes, the router was working before any FW updates

ISP:
I have Fiber
Modem: Home Hub 3000 - Model 5566-000002-005
Dynamic IP Addressing
Modem link speeds:  UP:122.28Mbps  Down:956.17Mbps
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47833
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't get past 100MB
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 05:31:01 PM »

Please do a factory reset. With a LAN cable connected PC to the back of the router, run a speed test before trying to set up the router. You should have internet after the factory reset performs and the router comes to ready. You can set up the routers wifi, however don't touch or enabled QoS.

You ISP modem is a router/modem combo. If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting