• August 21, 2019, 05:03:37 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: QoS Issue  (Read 2437 times)

Cliff44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
QoS Issue
« on: August 13, 2016, 08:25:53 AM »

I stumbled upon a QoS issue that may or may not have already been reported. 

I have a 890L HW:A1   FW:1.09. 

I enabled QoS on 2 devices.  Both devices were initially obtaining whatever address was assigned to them by DHCP. 
My DHCP scope is 192.168.1.175 - 1.250. 
The address of device 1 was 192.168.1.199 and device 2 was 192.168.1.236.
Device 1 had the highest priority. 

I decided to reserve an address for the devices so I would know what they were without logging into the router. 
I removed both devices from QoS then reserved the address 192.168.1.150 for device 1 and 192.168.1.151 for device 2.
As you'll note, both addresses are outside of the DHCP pool.  I rebooted the router and the devices after making the reservations.

When I attempt to re-add the devices to the QoS engine again, the connected clients displayed show the previous address of the devices (1.199 and 1.236) instead of the new reserved ip addresses (1.150 and 1.151).

I also reserved an address for a third device (1.152) that was never previously added to the QoS engine.
The address of the third device is displayed correctly in the list of connected clients on the QoS page.

All 3 devices display the correct reserved ip address on the home screen / connected devices. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2016, 08:29:15 AM »

Reservations need to be with in the DHCP IP address pool, not out side.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Cliff44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2016, 09:29:36 AM »

Thanks for the quick reply.  I'll change the scope of the pool and give that a try.

Not doubting your explanation but can you explain why the reserved devices need to be within the address pool?

As I mentioned, the 3rd device which has never added to the QoS engine previously displays the correct reserved address while the others do not.

I find it odd that the connected devices displayed on the Home page all show the correct addresses while the connected devices as seen on the QoS page do not.  The exception being the 3rd device which has never been added to the QoS engine.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2016, 09:24:52 AM »

Most router operations are based and dependent with in the Scope of the DHCP IP address pool. Depending on the size of the pool, i.e. 192.168.0.100 to .200, anything outside of this pool, the router doesn't handle. This is normal and is fine for devices that don't need much or any router management, devices like, controllers, printers, NAS, sensors and cameras or maybe some phones and PCs which don't need much internet access yet need some.
DHCP/Dynamic Addressing/IP Reservation/Static IP FAQ
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Cliff44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2016, 04:28:57 PM »

Update:

I changed the range of the address pool so the devices would be within it however, the connected clients as displayed on the Home page and QoS Engine still do not match.

DHCP pool - 192.168.1.150 - 192.168.1.250

Dir 890 L     Home / Connected Clients  (Device 1 - 192.168.1.150, Device 2 - 192.168.1.151, Device 3 - 192.168.1.152

Dir 890 L     QoS Engine / Connected Clients  (Device 1 = 192.168.1.199, Device 2 - 192.168.1.236, Device 3 - 192.168.1.236, Device 3 - 192.168.1.152)

Device 3 is the only one with the correct address and has never been added to the QoS Engine.

The QoS engine is displaying their respective DHCP addresses prior to adding the reservations for 1.150 and 1.151.

At this point, it seems the only option is to perform a factory reset even though the Qos Engine "should" display the same addresses as the Home page connected clients.

Logged

Cliff44

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2016, 05:04:13 PM »

Image of connected clients.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2016, 06:47:56 AM »

What browser and version of this browser are you using?
What OS platform are you using? Version?

Yes, please try a factory reset, Leave the default IP address pool 192.168.0.### on configured unless you have to use 192.168.1.###.
Use FF or IE11 to configure the router after doing the factory reset and clearing the browser cache...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2016, 07:32:39 PM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Issue
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2017, 03:19:17 PM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting