• September 20, 2019, 05:34:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 320 format  (Read 1513 times)

ZeKe221

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
320 format
« on: May 17, 2017, 05:00:27 AM »

Hi,

I've had my dlink 320 for a while store most of my media files on it but i can't get my tv to connect to it uing a USB cable.

Do i need to update my firmware?
Can i format a partion on the drive so my tv picks it up? or is my hhd is too big for my tv pick up?
Anyone recommend a good andriod software to use on my nas so i can see whats on it? or other people can use it? (family mostly) but they dont live with me.

my currant set up is

dlink 320 (not L)
h/w ver B2
location: UK
f/w 1.02

any help would be great.
thank you. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320 format
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 10:24:30 AM »

Um, connecting a TV via USB cable is not supported. Probably neither with the TV and definitely not supported with the DNS. You need to connect the TV to the DNS via LAN (RJ45) networking cable with a router. If the TV has a RJ45 port.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ZeKe221

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 320 format
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2017, 12:42:34 PM »

i think i've got one of them cables somewhere i'll check if my tv got one...thanks for help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320 format
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2017, 12:49:31 PM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ZeKe221

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 320 format
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2017, 06:53:08 AM »

Um, connecting a TV via USB cable is not supported. Probably neither with the TV and definitely not supported with the DNS. You need to connect the TV to the DNS via LAN (RJ45) networking cable with a router. If the TV has a RJ45 port.

yeah my tv has a ethernet port and is now connected to my network as my tv is telling me but nothing is popping up on my tv to suggest is knows the NAS is connected to my router. haha do i just give up  :'( :o ???
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2171
Re: 320 format
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2017, 07:43:00 AM »

The TV isn't just going to detect your NAS. You will need an app to run on your tv (ie Plex) and setup the NAS as a "server" (Plex doesn't recommend using the NAS as a server due to overhead). You can prob install Plex server on your computer, point the media files to your NAS, and install the Plex app on your tv if available. 

You will need to look what media server apps are available on your TV.
Logged

ZeKe221

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 320 format
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2017, 10:07:22 AM »

The TV isn't just going to detect your NAS. You will need an app to run on your tv (ie Plex) and setup the NAS as a "server" (Plex doesn't recommend using the NAS as a server due to overhead). You can prob install Plex server on your computer, point the media files to your NAS, and install the Plex app on your tv if available. 

You will need to look what media server apps are available on your TV.

i was considering turning an old laptop into a media centre/streaming box...using it would work by using plex on that and point the plex app to my NAS? i don;t have a clue really just want it so i can see/watch all my stuff on my tv hahaha.

thanks for the help thus far.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2171
Re: 320 format
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2017, 10:22:30 AM »

You can try that. The server software is free and pretty fast. I have not personally tried this with a NAS to computer to tv connection but it should work. I connected USB drives to my computer (with Plex server) until I can get my NAS running. I can connect to 2 TVs and xbox one on a 3rd TV no problem.

I am not sure if Plex can stream from a network device directly but you can try mapping a drive(s) on your laptop from the NAS with your media and you can point to a folder from Plex server.

https://www.plex.tv/how-it-works/



Logged