• May 25, 2019, 06:28:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Trouble connecting to my network  (Read 1478 times)

mattb123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Trouble connecting to my network
« on: November 18, 2016, 07:27:01 AM »

I got a DCS-960L and tried the quick install procedure on my phone. I could connect to the camera's network but at the end of the process the camera would not connect to mine. I actually have two networks here so I tried pointing to the other one, then tried setting up through the interface on the camera as well as the WPS button method with both networks. I talked to support twice and in the end we decided this camera was defective.
I received a replacement and it is acting exactly the same. So I took it to work and tried there as a test and it connects right up to my work network but when I bring it home it can't see mine. Both cameras will also seem to lock up when I try to do a site survey and that browser window just never becomes active or displays any found networks when it's at my house. Both cameras also have been upgraded to the latest 1.03 firmware.
My home network infrastructure is as follows:

A Motorola Netopia DSL modem/router/AP
It's set up as a hybrid B/G network set to channel 6 and seems like it has been working fine for several other devices.
Privacy is set to WEP Manual and it has a 26 character key.

A Medialink MWN-WAPR150N
b/g/n mixed mode on channel 1, extension channel set to 5
Channel bandwidth set to 20/40
Security is set to Open with a 10 character key.

It's been running like this without problems for a few years and lots of different devices connecting.
Can anyone see anything here that might prevent this camera from connecting?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trouble connecting to my network
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 07:39:57 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Most D-Link client products use WPA or WPA2 with TPIK or AES, WPS2 and AES being the preferred and best security encryption mode.
Not sure IF WEP is supported anymore since it was proven hackable and is no longer a trusted mode to use.

Best channels to use on 2.4Ghz is 1, 6 or 11 or 13 if in the EU region, on the main host routers wifi AP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mattb123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Trouble connecting to my network
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 10:33:49 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Most D-Link client products use WPA or WPA2 with TPIK or AES, WPS2 and AES being the preferred and best security encryption mode.
Not sure IF WEP is supported anymore since it was proven hackable and is no longer a trusted mode to use.

Best channels to use on 2.4Ghz is 1, 6 or 11 or 13 if in the EU region, on the main host routers wifi AP.

Thanks, I'm on 1.03 and the router information (as well as this firmware version) is in my original post.
I live in an area where wifi hacking isn't likely to be an issue but I'll see if I can change that and give it another try.
Logged

mattb123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Trouble connecting to my network
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2016, 12:51:20 PM »

Most D-Link client products use WPA or WPA2 with TPIK or AES, WPS2 and AES being the preferred and best security encryption mode.
Not sure IF WEP is supported anymore since it was proven hackable and is no longer a trusted mode to use.

That was it! I switched over to WPA and it connected. Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Trouble connecting to my network (RESOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2016, 12:59:15 PM »

Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting