• June 19, 2019, 09:59:45 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?  (Read 4169 times)

relztrah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« on: February 25, 2015, 12:33:55 PM »

I have been using an old WBR-1310 for years and it's been reliable so there's no reason to upgrade. I recently created a hostname with DynDNS which allows me to access the router remotely. Do I need to download and install a software update client or does the router perform this function automatically?  I have read that most newer routers perform this automatically without the need of a software update client, but due to the age of this router, I wasn't sure.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47473
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2015, 12:39:32 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

I don't know for sure since this is an older model router that I've never used before. However most routers automatically update DNS addresses from what they detect from the ISP modem and services, unless custom DNS addresses are used or DDNS enabled features on routers are used and configured. If you use DDNS services, then you'll need to tell the router to use those services if it's got DDNS features. Or you can manually input DNS as well, however only draw back is that if DNS services change the IP addresses, you'll need to find out what the new ones are. Generally DNS doesn't change much if any. They will update on there own depending on these few configurations.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

relztrah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2015, 08:05:54 AM »

Thank you for your prompt reply. Hardware version B1, firmware version 2.02. I have cable internet using a Motorola Surfboard modem model #SB5101.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47473
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2015, 08:25:48 AM »

You can try this as well:
Turn off DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

relztrah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2015, 08:49:17 AM »

Thank you again for your advice. After reading the posts I think the best option is to leave DNS Relay checked (on) and keep my DNS server address hard coded to OpenDNS, which is the current configuration.  I am able to access the router remotely which was my intention, so mission accomplished. I downloaded the DynDNS updater client for Linux--I'm using Puppy Linux on an old Lenovo ThinkPad--and it's working as far as I can tell. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47473
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2015, 09:04:33 AM »

Good, if its working then best to use the current configuration.

Do a save configuration to file so you have it for back up in case something happens.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting