• June 25, 2019, 08:51:17 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!  (Read 5141 times)

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« on: August 08, 2016, 10:43:42 AM »

I have two myDlink cameras, one at home and one at a vacation home.  Both went down (show only red X's) in all my apps (multiple iPad and Android apps, all up-to-date) sometime around last Thursday.

I can connect to my home camera when I select "Local Cameras".  I don't have access to the other camera, but I do have access to a computer inside that network, so the connection is good.  I haven't changed routers or settings at either location, they just both went down.

Is anyone else having this problem?  I upgraded the firmware on both cameras about two weeks ago, but they were fine after that.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2016, 10:48:12 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What model cameras do you have?
  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What ISP service and model # modem do you have at each location? Any wifi routers as well? Please provide info as well.
What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
What is the distance between the Camera and the main host router?
How many other wireless devices do you have connected to the main host router?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool as a troubleshooting step.  DHCP

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

My one DCS-933L is working fine for me here at work currently...
« Last Edit: August 08, 2016, 10:50:53 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2016, 11:07:53 AM »

For me my 960l has been red x since about that time also.
Been meaning to unplug it and see if that fixes it, but keep forgetting to.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2016, 11:08:32 AM »

Hmmm, what region are you located RYAT?

They are supposed to do some maintenance staring tomorrow:
"Notice: Scheduled Maintenance

2016/08/09 00:00

The mydlink portal will undergo the server maintenance on August 9 from 12:00AM to 2:00AM (UTC-7). The mydlink portal and mydlink apps may be temporarily unavailable during this period. If your device still remains offline after server maintenance, please try to reboot your device by unplugging and plugging the power supply. We apologize for any inconvenience."
« Last Edit: August 08, 2016, 11:10:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2016, 02:50:32 PM »

What model cameras do you have?
  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What ISP service and model # modem do you have at each location? Any wifi routers as well? Please provide info as well.
What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
What is the distance between the Camera and the main host router?
How many other wireless devices do you have connected to the main host router?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool as a troubleshooting step.  DHCP

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

My one DCS-933L is working fine for me here at work currently...

I'm in N. America, California.  One camera is on a Comcast connection, the other AT&T.

The rest of your questions don't seem particularly relevant -- both cameras stopped working remotely around last Thursday (red X's), and the one camera to which  I have local access works fine -- both from "LOCAL" in the app, and from its web server.  No firmware changes, no router changes, nothing else.  I just can't access it (or the other camera) remotely.

I take it that there hasn't been a catastrophic failure of services since last Thursday?  Or other changes to the service then?  It just seems like something must have changed at D-Link, since nothing has at either of my destinations) and the camera at home works fine on the local net still).

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2016, 02:53:26 PM »

All information is relevant and helpful so we can get a good idea of your situation and can give better feedback to help with your issue.

Anything is possible, ISP services, MDL or configuration.

The MDL site has been working for me and I haven't noticed any issues with my camera. If you think this is something more, then I recommend that you phone contact D-Link support and ask about it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2016, 03:07:00 PM »

I do appreciate any help, but I'm not at home at the moment so can't get the firmware revision, etc, on the home camera.

However, clearly the problem isn't wifi -- I can get to the camera fine on the LAN.  My router model hasn't changed (it's an Asus running Tomato), nor have any of the settings.  It's had the same DHCP-given IP address since it was installed over a year ago, and has worked fine, without an interruption I've noticed, since then.

So nothing in my configuration has changed, and it happened simultaneously for two cameras in two different locations, connected via two different ISPs.

I'll reboot my camera at home when I get back, and check the firmware version.
Logged

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2016, 04:51:06 PM »

Update:

Got home, unplugged/replugged the 930L at home, and voila -- back working again on myDlink cloud!  Tested on my phone while disconnected from wifi.

Now if only my arms were 200mi long, I could try the same for the other camera...
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2016, 05:15:16 PM »

USA!

My 960L is back in the cloud after a power cycle.
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2016, 06:36:12 PM »

The simple answer is something caused both your cams to disconnect. While they might find a proper connection again they did not. A power cycle is needed to reconnect them. If you want and are able to you might want to power cycle your router instead to see if that would help. But power cycling the cam will definitely work.  For you vacation home why not use a LAN cable to ensure this doenst happen.  If you prefer not to then reserve an IP address for it.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2016, 06:34:43 AM »

Let us know how it goes and if you see this again, please post again. Let us know any additional information as well. Please give feedback to the questions presented.

Update:

Got home, unplugged/replugged the 930L at home, and voila -- back working again on myDlink cloud!  Tested on my phone while disconnected from wifi.

Now if only my arms were 200mi long, I could try the same for the other camera...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2016, 09:55:09 AM »

Just tried to connect to my camera's web page with Chrome and got:

The browser you are using may have difficulty receiving images and video. If you experience any issues viewing this page, we suggest using Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari.


Firefox worked.  What gives?  The old firmware worked fine on Chrome!

Anyway, here's the information on the location I can access:

Camera: DCS-930L
Current Firmware Version :    1.15.04
Current Firmware Date :    2016-06-28
Current Agent Version :    2.1.0-b27
Using DHCP, dynamic IP

Router:  ASUS N16 running Tomato
ISP: Comcast

The camera is 15', line-of-sight, no walls from the Ubiquiti AP (2.4GHz only) it connects to.  As I mentioned, wifi was clearly not the problem as the camera was always functional from the "LOCAL" menu in the app (and from the web interface) while showing an "X" on "Remote" in the apps.

Sure wish I could remotely reboot the camera that's 200 miles away.  I'll be there in a couple of weeks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47484
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2016, 11:37:27 AM »

Chrome doesn't fully support some of the plug-ins any more, thus using IE, FF or Apple Safari should work better.

Can you reboot the router?
So you have LAN side access to the camera and not via the MDL service for this camera that's remote?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2016, 12:09:29 PM »

I'm lost.  Are you connecting to the remote cams f/w web page? There's no option to reboot?
Logged

creeble

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NO cameras on mydlink since 8/4/16!!
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2016, 03:21:58 PM »

I'm lost.  Are you connecting to the remote cams f/w web page? There's no option to reboot?

Local cam.  I have one local cam, and one remote cam.  The local cam started working fine (as a Cloud cam) when it was rebooted.  It was always accessible as a Local cam.

But when I connect to the local cam to access settings, it doesn't work with Chrome any more.  I.e., NO pages are accessible from Chrome, not just the ones that required plugins.  So it went from maybe broken plugins to can't even reboot or change settings using Chrome in the last f/w update.

I can't do anything about the remote camera -- no external router access; can't reboot the router.  I need to pull the plug when I go there in a few weeks.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2