• August 17, 2019, 06:03:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DCS-936L Connection Problems  (Read 36952 times)

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
DCS-936L Connection Problems
« on: July 31, 2016, 11:14:31 AM »

This is the most difficult camera I've ever used from D-Link.  I have several other models and never had any issues with them.  Or installing them.  They have been very reliable and easy to install. That is why I bought others.

I bought 2 of the DCS-936L because of the size and the fact I can easily power it from USB (i.e. a LiOn battery pack). But I can't get the MyDlink lite app on my Android to install them.  I did manage to get both cameras to connect to my WiFi, using the WPS button.  And I can directly connect, using the IP addresses.  I also did port forwarding, so I can access both directly from the internet.

But can't get mydlink to see them.  It appears the only way for the app and the MyDlink page to see them, is to go through the install process. But that fails, everytime.  I get two kinds of failure.

* Unable to join the network (I have correct data on the cameras)
* Or an error that says to turn on WiFi on the phone (but it's on and I can see wifi) but app can't see the wifi for some reason

* I have done hard resets with same results
* I have uninstalled the app and reinstalled, with same results
* I have two cameras and both behave the same way

Anyone have this problem?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 11:25:28 AM »

What FW is currently installed?

Can you install the cameras using a PC to initially set up the cameras and get them associated with MDL?
What Mfr and model router are you using?

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com


I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool:  DHCP
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 01:13:57 PM »

What FW is currently installed?
Firmware not issue. Have tried with what came with it and after upgrading. Same thing.

Quote
Can you install the cameras using a PC to initially set up the cameras and get them associated with MDL?

Nope, must go through the app, to install these. They don't have Ethernet connection.  Must setup through app before I can access the internal web pages.

Quote
What Mfr and model router are you using?
Linksys 1900AC. Not the problem.

Quote
Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

Quote
I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool:  DHCP
That's what I do.  I always set the IP to static outside the DHCP range, so that it never changes.  But as soon as I change the IP, and port forwarding, it breaks the app setup.  About the only thing that's working in the app is the initial Wi-Fi connection.  Even though it says can't connect, it loads the parameters so I can see what the IP is on my router and set things up manually. HOWEVER, I lose the ability to use MyDlink with it, after the IP are set to static.

Before adding these two cameras my system was:

Camera 1: External Address:9040 --> 192.168.1.9040 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 2: External Address:9050 --> 192.168.1.9050 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 3: External Address:9060 --> 192.168.1.9060 (DCS-5222L)
Storage 1: External Address: 9099 --> 192.168.1.9099 (DNR-312L)

I then tried to add 2 of the 936L cameras to get

Camera 1: External Address:9040 --> 192.168.1.9040 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 2: External Address:9050 --> 192.168.1.9050 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 3: External Address:9060 --> 192.168.1.9060 (DCS-5222L)
Storage 1: External Address: 9099 --> 192.168.1.9099 (DNR-312L)
Camera 4: External Address: 9045 --> 192.168.1.9045 (DCS-936L) or 192.168.1.47 (port 80. System seems to work better with port 80)
Camera 5: External Address: 9047 --> 192.168.1.9047 (DCS-936L) or 192.168.1.47 (port 80. System seems to work better with port 80)

But as soon as I change to a static IP, things start to break.  Mostly my MyDlink page no longer works on the PC and my smart phone only works local.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2016, 01:30:35 PM by MikeSD »
Logged

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2016, 02:03:47 PM »

The thing that's so frustrating is that I can get this (changed ports slightly for consistency):

Camera 1: External Address:9040 --> 192.168.1.9040 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 2: External Address:9050 --> 192.168.1.9050 (DCS-2330L)
Camera 3: External Address:9060 --> 192.168.1.9060 (DCS-5222L)
Storage 1: External Address: 9099 --> 192.168.1.9099 (DNR-312L)
Camera 4: External Address: 9046 --> 192.168.1.46 (port 80)
Camera 5: External Address: 9056 --> 192.168.1.56 (port 80)

That works fine direct access, either remotely or locally.  And seems to work ok LOCAL with mydlink LITE but nothing from the web MyDlink or REMOTE with the LITE app.

And there doesn't seem to be any way to get these working, without going through the install process, using the APP. And that's where the failures occur.
There isn't any way to specify any of the ports, during setup. So they were changed by direct connection to camera, after install.  Before changing ports, the MyDlink worked. But after I changed ports, they couldn't be connected to.  That led me to think these cameras have to be on port 80 by default. But that doesn't seem to fix the problem either.

All the other cameras had the ports changed after the install wizard and they still continued to work. Just not sure how the web form, or the smart phone app can know the ports, except from the cameras themselves.  Somehow that information was transferred to the Remote access software ONLY at the install point.  Anything changed after, loses that connection.  At least that's the way it appears to work.

This is my setup and you can see what part isn't working.

External Port 9046 forwards to internal IP:80 and 4056 forwards to internal IP:80.  The other cameras forward to ports other than 80.  But I have tried using internal ports 9046 and 9056 with same results as using 80. I'm stumped.

This is my LOCAL and REMOTE screen on my phone



This is MyDlink page from PC



I have the LOCAL and direct accesses working. I'd think the app should be able to scan the local cameras and just transfer the into to the MyDlink website OR use it for the remote access. Seems to have all the info it needs.  But doesn't seem to work that way.

The other thing I wonder about is why there are two "Add a New Camera" one for Remote and one for Local.  Seems that one should be enough.  During the install, sometimes the Local setup would ask if I wanted to use the info for mydlink (remote I assume). But it didn't always do that. 
« Last Edit: July 31, 2016, 03:09:31 PM by MikeSD »
Logged

MikeSD

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2016, 03:30:16 PM »

Problem solved: Duh!

Actually, not really a duh! I still am not entirely sure why but it kind of makes sense.  I was wondering how the MyDlink web site would possibly know what the internal port routing was. Either it had to be passed during install OR there had to be another way for it to know, outside of the camera. So I started looking at differences between what was working and what was not.  I noticed a field in the Static IP setup that was blank, on the non-working cameras.

This field was: Optional Primary DNS

On the other cameras, this field is filled in automatically, by default. On my 936L, it's left blank by default.  I just entered 192.168.1.1 like on my other working cameras and everything started working. 

I think I've spent about 15 hours on this.  It would be time well spent, but I'll probably forget about this, in a day or two. ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2016, 07:07:47 AM »

Glad you figured it out and got it working.
Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

richavoge

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2016, 02:08:49 PM »

Please be patient with me, I'm  very new to forums. I am trying to connect to a DCS-936L camera with my ipad and/or iPhone 5s. Reading the note above, when I go to my camera IP address my settings for the camera gives me choices for DHCP/BootP/Static, under static I have choices for IP address, Subnet Mask, Router, DNS and Search Domains ALL of which are blank. I don't have a choice for Optional DNS. Any suggestions on what I can do to get the camera connected?
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2016, 02:49:17 PM »

Please be patient with me, I'm  very new to forums. I am trying to connect to a DCS-936L camera with my ipad and/or iPhone 5s. Reading the note above, when I go to my camera IP address my settings for the camera gives me choices for DHCP/BootP/Static, under static I have choices for IP address, Subnet Mask, Router, DNS and Search Domains ALL of which are blank. I don't have a choice for Optional DNS. Any suggestions on what I can do to get the camera connected?

Page 27 of the user manual, under Network ?


ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DCS-936L/REVA/DCS-936L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF


Maybe let's back up a little - what are you trying to use to connect your ipad to the camera?  Which application?

Logged

fred929

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2017, 03:22:54 PM »

Problem solved: Duh!

Actually, not really a duh! I still am not entirely sure why but it kind of makes sense.  I was wondering how the MyDlink web site would possibly know what the internal port routing was. Either it had to be passed during install OR there had to be another way for it to know, outside of the camera. So I started looking at differences between what was working and what was not.  I noticed a field in the Static IP setup that was blank, on the non-working cameras.

This field was: Optional Primary DNS

On the other cameras, this field is filled in automatically, by default. On my 936L, it's left blank by default.  I just entered 192.168.1.1 like on my other working cameras and everything started working. 

I think I've spent about 15 hours on this.  It would be time well spent, but I'll probably forget about this, in a day or two. ;)

That fixed the same problem I was having. IP on automatic, the myDlink+ app can't find it after reset from first set-up. I make a static IP with all DNS fields filled in then the myDlink+ app can see it.

This has to be a bug, there should have been a firmware fix since this post is so old.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2017, 03:45:18 PM »

My camera is working with Automatic IP addressing. All dns is filled in from the router however I disable DNS relay from the router so all devices get ISP DNS, not 192.168.0.1 DNS...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

efahrenholz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2017, 02:27:15 AM »

For those of you with this camera, have any of you noticed it drops video every so often when you aren't using the supplied app or the live image browser under configuration? I have been pulling my hair out trying to set this thing up for the last week. I have been trying to log into the RTSP server, which normally should work. I have tried it with and without authentication. I know how to log into it using authentication because it would randomly stream video down. I have a home automation system and so I pull the video into Home Assistant using motioneye. But it isn't motioneye. I have tried *several* different approaches and the camera literally just randomly decides to stream the video outside the app and configuration server. I have the latest firmware and I even tried rolling back and forth. Unless I have a dud, I could never recommend a D-Link product to anyone. The setup was a complete pain in the ass. You *HAVE* to use the app on a phone, you can't use windows edge or chrome (it has to be an old version of internet explorer.) to log in. I know it isn't an expensive camera but come on guys...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS-936L Connection Problems
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2017, 06:30:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
What is the distance between the Camera and the main host router?
How many other wireless devices do you have connected to the main host router?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool as a troubleshooting step: 192.168.#.93  DHCP

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

My first camera seem to be bad, however it may have been the router I was using as I switched to a different router and even though the app took a bit to get going, it installed successfully.

I found that you could use a PC if the PC is wireless supporting. It was the the user manual.
What OS platform are you using?
Plugins are not supported in Chrome, nor newer versions of FF. You can use the ESR version of FF:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66483.msg280813#new

So IE11 for Windows is best or FF ESR.

I since have a replaced the first 936L, it's been solid. I never see any video streaming issues with either cameras. Just the first one had issues with one of my routers and will be sending that router back I think.

I use a static IP address on all my cameras, not Dynamic. I have a 933L, 936L and a 960L. All currently connected to a DIR-880L.

For those of you with this camera, have any of you noticed it drops video every so often when you aren't using the supplied app or the live image browser under configuration? I have been pulling my hair out trying to set this thing up for the last week. I have been trying to log into the RTSP server, which normally should work. I have tried it with and without authentication. I know how to log into it using authentication because it would randomly stream video down. I have a home automation system and so I pull the video into Home Assistant using motioneye. But it isn't motioneye. I have tried *several* different approaches and the camera literally just randomly decides to stream the video outside the app and configuration server. I have the latest firmware and I even tried rolling back and forth. Unless I have a dud, I could never recommend a D-Link product to anyone. The setup was a complete pain in the ass. You *HAVE* to use the app on a phone, you can't use windows edge or chrome (it has to be an old version of internet explorer.) to log in. I know it isn't an expensive camera but come on guys...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting