• August 21, 2019, 10:01:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare  (Read 6453 times)

padman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« on: June 30, 2016, 04:29:31 AM »

Hello all,
I've got the camera yesterday, upgraded to latest firmware v1.03.03 and tried to set it up.
I was testing it around 10ft from the router and 30ft from the router on 2.4Ghz band.
My router is ASUS RT-AC68U, wireless mode set to Auto, 20Mhz channel bandwitch, WPA2-Personal, AES encryption and channel manually set to 11.
The only other router I can pickup with Wi-fi scaner is on channel 6, so no interference from it.
Camera is set to static IP outside of DHCP range.

Issues I've discovered so far:

If my router has channel selection set to Auto then the camera will never reconnect if router decides to change channel unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with camera standing 10ft from the router in straight line with no obstacles, full signal strength.

If I reboot the router camera will not reconnect to it unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with the same conditions as above.

Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

Anywhere from 10min to 1 hour the camera will disconnect from Wi-Fi and the only way to make it reconnect is to power cycle it.

This "not reconnecting" issue is really serious and needs to be addressed.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2016, 04:43:18 AM »

Nice find.

Unfortunately, I find that the 2.4 Ghz is most stable on Mr asus. I gave up on 5Ghz. So I definitely agree with you on this.

The 960l is stable on 5ghz.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2016, 09:45:32 AM by RYAT3 »
Logged

padman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2016, 05:34:56 AM »

I've tried it on 5Ghz too. It works fine as long as signal strength is good. If its not too strong there's a risk of the camera disconnecting.
And then it will never reconnect. It can happen any time between few minutes to few hours.
But if it disconnects that's it. Power cycling the camera is the only way to get it back on the network.
If my 5Ghz network changes channel  or if I restart the router then the camera will disconnect too.
It can stand right in front of the router. It doesn't matter. It will simply NOT reconnect unless power cycled.
This is a deal breaking bug and needs to be addressed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2016, 06:42:24 AM »

So does your 2530L not reconnect to the router if the camera looses connection or the router is rebooted?

Is 5Ghz stable for you?

Nice find.

Unfortunately, I find that the 2.4 Ghz is most stable on Mr asus. I have up on 5Ghz. So I definitely agree with you on this.

The 960l is stable on 5ghz.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

padman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2016, 07:02:24 AM »

If the router is rebooted - camera will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
If camera looses connection it will not reconnect either, need to power cycle it.
If router changes channel on which it's broadcasting ( when it's set to Auto) - it will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
That applies both to 2.4 and 5Ghz band. Regardless of signal strength. Camera can stand on front of the router. It won't reconnect after it disconnected.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2016, 07:05:26 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

If the router is rebooted - camera will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
If camera looses connection it will not reconnect either, need to power cycle it.
If router changes channel on which it's broadcasting ( when it's set to Auto) - it will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
That applies both to 2.4 and 5Ghz band. Regardless of signal strength. Camera can stand on front of the router. It won't reconnect after it disconnected.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

padman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2016, 07:11:22 AM »

I've imported the camera from US into Europe.
This model is not even sold in Europe. I'm afraid they'll not be able to help me.
There is only 720p model being sold here (DCS-960L).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2016, 07:16:28 AM »

I see. Ya, support would not be helpful I guess. It's not recommended to import model products that are not available in other regions. Makes it hard to get official support. D-Link doesn't support cross regional products.

I've passed this on to D=Link USA here for review. I don't know when any fixes will be pushed.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

padman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2016, 07:33:27 AM »

I see. Ya, support would not be helpful I guess. It's not recommended to import model products that are not available in other regions. Makes it hard to get official support. D-Link doesn't support cross regional products.

I've passed this on to D=Link USA here for review. I don't know when any fixes will be pushed.

Thank you! For some reason DCS-960L in Europe costs more than DCS-2630L bought from US including all the shipping and customs fees.
And it has 1080p resolution compared to 720p in 960L. Also 960L availablity is really low here too. Most retailers won't have them until the end of July.
I really needed surveilance now and I didn't want to go for 480p options...it's 2016.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2016, 07:40:07 AM »

Understand. Better some, then none thought.

Sorry we can't be of more help.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Blubber

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2016, 12:12:53 PM »

While we're on the subject of what needs to be fixed:

-Date is wrong from the get go and will not auto sync to the time server. It always thinks it's January 1st, 2015. This seems to work fine on the 960L model, so D-Link engineers should be able to make it work on this model.

-It periodically thinks it has no SD card, or can't write to it, or thinks it's not writeable. Please make the recording feature actually work continuously.
Logged

remoteCamsFarAway

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2016, 12:25:10 PM »

If I reboot the router camera will not reconnect to it unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with the same conditions as above.

I've got a remote installation with both 2630L and 2330L cams and have written significantly about exactly this and other issues for the 2330L camera at http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59937.0 .  Though I have no solid solutions yet, you might take a look at that continuing saga for ideas.

I'm currently running 1.03 firmware on my 2630L cams and they've become much more stable than the 2330L cams with all of the changes I've documented and applied identically for both the 2630L and 2330L cams.  Probably the largest fix for my system stability was to add a UPS to the router.  That addressed the problem of needing to power cycle the cams if the router goes out.  That's an expensive solution to working around a camera problem but it really helps.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2016, 12:31:13 PM by remoteCamsFarAway »
Logged

remoteCamsFarAway

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2016, 12:53:17 PM »

Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

I've never been able to find where the 2630L cam reports wifi signal strength like on the 2330L.  Where do you look for this?  I access all my cams on myDlinkLite for Android, myDlink.com on a laptop, and direct access to my cameras' web pages.  Can't find signal strength for the 2630L anywhere.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2016, 12:56:09 PM »

While we're on the subject of what needs to be fixed:

-Date is wrong from the get go and will not auto sync to the time server. It always thinks it's January 1st, 2015. This seems to work fine on the 960L model, so D-Link engineers should be able to make it work on this model.

-It periodically thinks it has no SD card, or can't write to it, or thinks it's not writeable. Please make the recording feature actually work continuously.

No idea about your SD Card issues.

This is how you set up the time.

free photo hosting

Mine is always correct.  I'd expect that on power cycle it might take a minute or so before it updates.

Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2016, 01:07:12 PM »

Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

I've never been able to find where the 2630L cam reports wifi signal strength like on the 2330L.  Where do you look for this?  I access all my cams on myDlinkLite for Android, myDlink.com on a laptop, and direct access to my cameras' web pages.  Can't find signal strength for the 2630L anywhere.

He does say the myDlinkLite app - but I never seen anything in there.

I'm on F/W 1.01 on my 2330L - so it might not be in this f/w.

I do see in my ASUS router, until System Log -> Wireless Log -> MAC's with RSSI listed at time of snapshot.





Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3