• June 26, 2019, 06:47:25 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router wont get IP adress from ISP  (Read 5534 times)

redgarr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« on: January 29, 2016, 05:49:24 AM »

Hi!
I've been having a problem with my router in that it wont accept an IP adress from my ISP. The problem occured suddently out of nowhere and the router gets stuck in a state where its waiting (Establishing...) for an IP adress (I presume) from my ISP. I've called customer support but they cannot figure it out as I have  a working connection and IP adress from them when I connect directly with my computer.

I'm currently using an old DIR-855 router but I purchased a DIR-809 today and I'm getting the same error.

Some things I've tried:
Clone my PC's MAC adress
Updated firmware to latest
Use different cables between the wall jack and my router
Restore factory defaults on the router
Turn off internal DHCP engine (grasping for straws)

I'm not very savvy in networking but I along with so far 5 different tech support guys from my ISP cannot figure out what could be wrong. Anyone here have any ideas? I would really appreciate it!

Thank you.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2016, 07:34:55 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

So the DIR-855 works and the 809 does not?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

redgarr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2016, 11:52:04 AM »

The firmware version loaded is 1.23EU and Europe is then my region.


  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
I dont have an ISP Modem the cable connects directly into the wall
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
They are using Dynamic IP adressing, i tried using the IP adress i was assigned on my computer as a static IP on my router and it got connected only I couldn't reach the internet on the computer connected to the router.
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
250 MBit down and 100 up
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
This works, i do have full connectivity if I bypass the routers
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure.
I have tried 3 different cat 6 cables and they all produce the same result
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472.
The router is set to 1500 and I confirmed with my ISP and this is correct
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
Is this relevant even though I am using cable?
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router...
No ISP Modem and there is only one router in the network

Neighter of the two routers I tried works, they both react the same way and just wait on "Establishing..." indefinetely.

Thanks for the reply!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2016, 12:49:24 PM »

If neither of these router models work on this cable ISP system, could be a incompatibility with them or something on the ISP side has changed.
Can try setting the WAN port speed to either 10 or 100 or 1000Mb and see, test each one out.
If you have a friend or family member who has internet, take these routers to there place and test them out. If they work there, then the issue is with the ISP possibly.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2016, 05:45:55 PM »

The firmware version loaded is 1.23EU and Europe is then my region.


  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
I dont have an ISP Modem the cable connects directly into the wall
Explain this? If you have cable ISP, you need something to turn the coaxial into ethernet. What model device does the coaxial connect to? If your not sure, ask your ISP.
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
They are using Dynamic IP adressing, i tried using the IP adress i was assigned on my computer as a static IP on my router and it got connected only I couldn't reach the internet on the computer connected to the router.
What IP do you get if you just set it to DHCP? 169?

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router...
No ISP Modem and there is only one router in the network

What model device?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2016, 07:36:31 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

The firmware version loaded is 1.23EU and Europe is then my region.


  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
I dont have an ISP Modem the cable connects directly into the wall
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
They are using Dynamic IP adressing, i tried using the IP adress i was assigned on my computer as a static IP on my router and it got connected only I couldn't reach the internet on the computer connected to the router.
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
250 MBit down and 100 up
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
This works, i do have full connectivity if I bypass the routers
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure.
I have tried 3 different cat 6 cables and they all produce the same result
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472.
The router is set to 1500 and I confirmed with my ISP and this is correct
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
Is this relevant even though I am using cable?
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router...
No ISP Modem and there is only one router in the network

Neighter of the two routers I tried works, they both react the same way and just wait on "Establishing..." indefinetely.

Thanks for the reply!
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

redgarr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2016, 12:49:44 AM »

Hey everyone! Sorry for not updating on this topic but I have since gotten it fixed. It turned out to be a bad connection for one of the pairs in the ethernet port, I have since remade the port which led to my router getting an IP address and my internet connection to work. Thanks for all the help here guys!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router wont get IP adress from ISP (RESOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2016, 06:53:19 AM »

Glad you got it working. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting