• May 25, 2019, 02:21:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Connection periodically dropping  (Read 9752 times)

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Connection periodically dropping
« on: June 05, 2015, 09:10:07 AM »

I have a DIR-601 (H/W: A1, F/W: 1.04NA).  The connection will drop from time to time with no rhyme or reason.  When it drops, devices will lose internet for about 20-30 seconds... and this will happen - when it's at its worst - every 10 minutes, give or take a few.  It's terribly annoying to say the least.  I took the router out of the mix for a while the other night - running an ethernet straight from the modem to the desktop - and scrolled through Facebook for a while and then watched a few things on Netflix with no hang-ups.  Which leads me to believe it's the router.  But I'm no tech expert so I can't be sure.  Any help you can provide before I go buy another router would be great.  If the 601 should still be fine these days, I'd obviously rather not have to buy a new one.  Here's info requested of another user in a previous thread:

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

    What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?  --Cable
    What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?  --D-Link DCM-202
    Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?  --Don't know??
    Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.  --Labeling says it's CAT-5e
    Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values  --Don't know??
    For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.  --Looked for this and couldn't find it.

BTW, it's not a constant problem.  Like right now, I'm streaming Netflix in the background as I type all of this with no problems.  Frustrating.  Help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2015, 09:30:18 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Does this happen wired and wireless?

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable or Disable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) and test under Setup/Internet/Manual. Disable may help with speed performance on higher speed ISP services.
  • Turn on or off DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. The DST setting is only needed in the NA region. Tools/Time.

 
Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
« Last Edit: June 05, 2015, 09:56:02 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2015, 09:54:23 AM »

I answered 3 of your 4 initial questions in my original post above.

Hardware: A1
Firmware: 1.04NA
Region: if you mean physical location, I live in Elgin, IL
Wired/Wireless: I'm normally experiencing it when wireless.  I does not seem to happen when I went wired to the modem.  I believe I recall trying to go wired to the router a while back and had the same periodical drops.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2015, 09:56:54 AM »

Please give feedback on the wireless questions presented...possible wireless or environment issue that needs to be narrowed down.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2015, 10:24:36 AM »

    Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.  --Has been changed
    What wireless modes are you using?  --Not EXACTLY sure what you mean by this-802.11 Mode:11gn, Security Mode:AUTO (WPA or WPA2) - PSK
    2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
    Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz  --20
    Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
    What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.  --AUTO (WPA or WPA2) - PSK
    What wireless devices do you have connected?  --iMac, iPhone(x2), iPad, Vizio Smart LED TV, Sony Blu Ray Player (not all at the same time, of course)
    Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.  --Yes
    Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?  --No
    Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.  --We live in a townehome neighborhood so my computer sees about 8 or 9 other wifi signals
    If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.  --Advanced settings should all be default as I set it up simply under the 'wizard'
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2015, 11:07:15 AM »

    Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.  --Has been changed
    What wireless modes are you using?  --Not EXACTLY sure what you mean by this-802.11 Mode:11gn, Security Mode:AUTO (WPA or WPA2) - PSK <Try WPA2 only.
    2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
    Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz  --20 <Set for Auto 20/40Mhz
    Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. <You'll need to adjust the router to a channel thats not being used, hopefully 1, 6 or 11.
    What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.  --AUTO (WPA or WPA2) - PSK
    What wireless devices do you have connected?  --iMac, iPhone(x2), iPad, Vizio Smart LED TV, Sony Blu Ray Player (not all at the same time, of course)
    Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.  --Yes
    Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?  --No
    Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.  --We live in a townehome neighborhood so my computer sees about 8 or 9 other wifi signals <This could be the source of your disconnections. What channels are the neighboring WiFi using? You'll need to adjust the router to a channel thats not being used, hopefully 1, 6 or 11.

    If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.  --Advanced settings should all be default as I set it up simply under the 'wizard'
[/quote]
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2015, 01:02:43 PM »

I've changed the settings you suggested in your last post. I'll monitor it for a couple of days and see if the problem is still there. Thanks for the help so far.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2015, 01:10:45 PM »

Let us know how it goes...  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2015, 03:03:39 PM »

With those changes made earlier in the day, it just dropped connection 3 times in the last 15 minutes. :/
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2015, 03:38:18 PM »

What channel did u chg to?
Can u post a picture of the InSSIDer results please
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2015, 08:22:49 PM »

Changed the channel to 11.

InSSIDer won't work.  I have OSx 10.6.8 and it says it's compatible starting with 10.8.
Logged

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2015, 10:57:43 AM »

I'm leaning toward getting a new router.  It's cutting out all the time now.  And the 601 doesn't have great range in our house as it is.   :-\
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2015, 11:11:33 AM »

One last thing to try:
  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

I'm thinking that your surroundings are wifi congested and this model router can't handle it.

I recommend getting into a DIR-655, 636, 820L, 826L or if you can afford one, DIR-868L. I really like the 868L and has good power handling on the WiFi.
Please check the D-Link store for some some routers.
http://store.digitalriver.com/store/dlink/en_US/DisplayCategoryProductListPage/ThemeID.684500/categoryID.17936100
I see that nothing is listed. I'll find out why there isn't anything. There was some earlier this week.  :-\

If you need some help in finding a router, please ask questions. We hope we can help you find a good one.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bradliff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2015, 11:28:06 AM »

Recommendations for good range? If want capable coverage for 3 floors of a townehouse. Don't need huge abilities for gaming or tons of devices right now. Small family that streams online video and normal browsing. Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47394
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection periodically dropping
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2015, 11:45:13 AM »

if you have 2-3 floors you may need the DIR-868L. If you can place the unit on the center or main floor, you should get good coverage thru out.
What is the sq footage of this place?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2