• June 16, 2019, 09:33:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Checking Firmware  (Read 3969 times)

aharty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Checking Firmware
« on: May 05, 2015, 09:58:35 AM »

Hello,

I recently purchased this router after reading many reviews.  I used the router's built in check firmware utility to upgrade the firmware.  However, it only upgrades to v1.02 and says that is the latest version.  I see there is a v1.03 firmware out though.  Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?

Also, what are these security firmware updates?  Should I be updating to them as well?

Any other stuff I should know to get my new router setup and working best?

Background: Cable 15mpbs.  United States.

Thanks,

-Alan
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 10:00:41 AM by aharty »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2015, 10:14:35 AM »


  • Some FW patches are not made available on the update server. So please use the following to update the router>
>FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

aharty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2015, 10:40:03 AM »

I have Cable modem.  ISP is Troy Cable @ 15mpbs. 

I updated the FW manually to v1.03.  It seemed pretty easy.  However, when going to the D-Link 890L firmware download site, I noticed it also says there is a security FW patch 1.06.B04.  Should I manually update for these security patches as well?

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2015, 10:40:37 AM »

Yes...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

aharty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2015, 11:05:44 AM »

Well that didn't go very well.

I updated to security firmware 1.06.  It said success, and the internet appears to be working fine across all devices.  But...

When I go to my router's homepage 192.168.0.1 all I get is a blank screen.  I can no longer log into the router.  I have already restarted my computer and powered-off/on the router.  Ugh.  Any ideas?

***Update*** I can get the interface to work on my iPhone but no Safari browser on OS X Yosemite.  I'm going to try to disable add-on's and see if that's the culprit.

***Update 2***  After installing the firmware I needed to clear my browser cached data/cookies.  Restart Safari.  Now it works again.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 11:16:52 AM by aharty »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2015, 11:25:39 AM »

 :D Glad you got it working. Yes, be sure to clear our any browser caches before and after doing FW updates as well.

Enjoy  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2015, 09:49:14 PM »

AAAHHHH yes clearing the browser cache...why didn't I think of that ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2015, 06:41:01 AM »

One can only imagine.  ::)

AAAHHHH yes clearing the browser cache...why didn't I think of that ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2015, 09:32:20 AM »

One can only imagine.  ::)

AAAHHHH yes clearing the browser cache...why didn't I think of that ;D

 :D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47447
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Checking Firmware
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2015, 09:35:39 AM »

Must be operator error on your part SIR!  :o
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting