• August 19, 2019, 02:54:37 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-880L as wireless AP  (Read 4028 times)

kotter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DIR-880L as wireless AP
« on: January 13, 2015, 05:50:32 AM »

Hi,
I just got a DIR-880L router. I am trying to use it as a wireless AP by connecting one of its 4 LAN ports to a LAN ports on my ISP's router and enabling the wireless. This is something I've done successfully in the past with other routers (including from D-Link) and it normally works fine. The LAN ports act as a switch and sends the traffic out to the higher-level router which has access to the internet and everyone's happy.

The problem I'm having with the DIR-880L is that this doesn't seem to work very well. While clients will eventually get to the internet, the first time they attempt to load a webpage it takes forever to resolve. It's almost like the DIR-880L is not playing nicely with the other router and advertising itself as the primary internet router, even though its internet connection is down and not configured.

Does anyone have any thoughts?
Thanks.

Edit:
Hardware version: A1
Firmeware version: 1.02.B13
« Last Edit: January 13, 2015, 05:55:48 AM by kotter »
Logged

kotter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 05:54:02 AM »

More info:
During the time clients can't get to the internet, they can connect to other devices in the network. Including ones that are connected to the LAN ports of the ISP router. It really seems like the DIR-880L is trying too hard to route the internet through it's unconfigured WAN port.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 06:21:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
What is the Mfr and Model# of the main host router?

Please review this>Turning a router into an AP
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kotter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2015, 06:43:01 AM »

General questions:
  • North America
  • I did a Factory Reset at least once when I was first playing with it. I had put it into Bridge mode and couldn't connect to change it back.
  • The Factory Reset was before the firmware upgrade to 1.02. I have not done a reset since I did the firmware upgrade.

ISP Questions:
  • My internet situation is a bit complicated so I was simplifying it a little. But my main router is a Cisco RV220W small business router.

I had done all the steps listed in the "Turning a router into an AP" link. I have also been into every submenu of every menu in the web interface to make sure any possible service that could use the WAN is turned off. Including UPNP, Firewall, etc.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2015, 06:44:33 AM by kotter »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2015, 08:36:13 AM »

I'll try this out on my router and see...Been working as a Bridge lately.  ::)

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2015, 08:58:15 AM »

Ok, mines up and running in AP mode. I disabled uPnP, Firewall, SharePort features, DHCP and set a 192.168.0.88 address. Saved settings and connected the AP to my DGL-5500. Turn off it's wireless fully. I'm currently using 2.4ghz with a Mac Book Pro.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2015, 08:58:53 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kotter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2015, 04:46:49 PM »

So it seems to have settled down, maybe it was just a boot up situation with my specific network? It's still happening on my android tablet, but my phone and laptop seem fine now. I will have to keep an eye on it I guess. Thanks for the help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47689
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-880L as wireless AP (RESOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2015, 07:56:28 AM »

Mines working well too.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting