• May 19, 2019, 02:28:52 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?  (Read 4592 times)

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« on: January 08, 2015, 05:51:23 AM »

Hi,

I have 2 Dir-880l router that I want to connect by wire since my 1st router is at the 1st floor and the 2nd router is on the 3rd floor. The wireless bridge mode just couldn't reach it since I live in a brick and mortar building.

Anyway, back then on older routers, I just need to disable the DHCP on the 2nd router and I can access the internet wirelessly from the 2nd router. I try to do the same on this Dir-880l router, but the internet always off after several minutes and I have to unplug the power, and sometimes it's back online or I have to reset the 2nd router. Any step by step guide to set this particular routers ?

My setting on the 1st router is standard PPOE connection, and the DHCP range is 192.168.0.10 to 192.168.0.199.

1st router IP: 192.168.0.1
2nd router IP: 192.168.0.20

and both of the router is already updated to FW v1.02 B13.

note: Windows troubleshooter keep saying " Wi-fi doesn't have a valid IP configuration"

Thanks in advance,

« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 06:40:25 AM by x378 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 07:42:35 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Try this:
 Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2015, 08:22:05 AM »

Hi,

I live in Indonesia but I bought my routers in US.

Thanks for the link, and I missed turning off the UPNP before. Now the internet is working fine, and so far the connection is stable.

Btw, I read on the link that we can just use the same ssid and password for host and ap routers, but keep the channel 1 or 6 for the host and 6 or 11 for the AP. How about the 5 ghz? Can I just any channel or not?

Thanks again and sorry for not looking/reading at that link before.

Gan
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2015, 08:37:32 AM »

You can also use 1 and 13 on 2.4Ghz. For 5Ghz I would use 36 on one unit and 48 on the other.

Do you see 149 or higher channels on your units?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2015, 08:48:43 AM »

Yes, all the way to 165.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2015, 09:24:05 AM »

Ok then set the 1st unit to 36 or 48 and the 2nd unit to 148 or 165 on 5ghz. You'll be good then.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2015, 06:07:17 PM »

Hi,

The internet is not stable and it has something to do with IP assignment (at least according to the windows troubleshooter). I connected a TP-Link router and it's working fine, but not the 2nd Dir-880l.

Any other thing that I need to fix?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2015, 09:06:50 AM »

Lets change the 1st routers DHCP pool range back to default of 191.168.0.100 thru .199.
Then set the 2nd 880L IP address to 192.168.0.88. Be sure to disable DCHP server on the 2nd 880L and all features, like SPI, uPnP and such.
Reboot everything and test.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2015, 07:02:35 AM »

Ok, I did change the range to between 100 to 199 on the 1st router and change the IP on 2nd router as you told. I finally get the internet connection back on 2nd router and will update soon about the connectivity.

Thanks,
Logged

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2015, 07:31:12 AM »

I lost the connection a few minutes after replying on the previous post. I do the power cycle and get my connection back, not sure for how long.  :-\

Btw, Do I need to disable the "Enable DNS Relay" on the 2nd router?

Thanks,
« Last Edit: January 13, 2015, 07:34:08 AM by x378 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2015, 08:38:22 AM »

Are you sure the channels on each of the units differs? The 2nd shouldn't loose connection. DNS Relay shouldn't need to be change if your connecting the 2nd unit to the 1st router using the LAN ports in back of the 2nd unit. Don't use the WAN port. DNS relay should be seen under Networking/Advanced Settings I believe.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 07:54:06 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2015, 12:41:09 AM »

For 2.4, channel 1 and 11
For 5.0, channel 36 and 165

I just did a hard reset, and reset everything again.. and will update on the connectivity.

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2015, 07:54:33 AM »

What is the distance between the 1st and 2nd units?

Keep us posted...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

x378

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2015, 05:51:01 AM »

Hi,

The connectivity is much better now, only occasional drops.

The distance between the 2 units is about 30 meters. My 1st router is on the 1st floor and the 2nd router is on the 4th floor.

Another question, It's possible to add another router right? If yes, what channel should I assign them at?

Thanks Furry.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47368
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting 2 Dir-880l ?
« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2015, 07:04:02 AM »

  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.

Depending...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting