• May 26, 2019, 12:03:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: DIR-815 problems!  (Read 15394 times)

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
DIR-815 problems!
« on: August 11, 2014, 07:19:20 PM »

Hello so a while ago we bought 2 dir-815s. How our system is hooked up is we have a cable from comcast that goes into the modem then to a dlink 815(wifi is disabled on this one.) then it goes to dads pc and downstairs to the other 815 with wifi.

I problem i have been having is that almost every 15 mins the 2nd dlink stops connection to the first. I have figured this out by my dad having internet upstairs and when i go to about under the 2nd dlink and release and renew it wont renew. I have tried to add a reservation on the 1st and then make static ip on 2nd but didnt work. also the 2 dlinks are hardware A and both have 1.04 firmware.

I have been working on this for a while and i am net+ certified and still cant figure it out please anyone help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2014, 06:53:07 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Is the 2nd 815 running in wired AP mode connected from the 1st 815s LAN port to the 2nd 815s LAN port?

Please draw us a diagram of how your network is set up, i.e.
ISP modem>DIR-815>2nd DIR-815?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.

Have you swapped 815s to see if the problem follows?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2014, 12:36:38 PM »

Hardware A
Firmware: 1.04
Region: Virginia USA

Modem>Dlink 1>Dlink 2

its connected from lan of dlink 1 to WAN or internet port of dlink 2....
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2014, 12:40:17 PM »

I recommend that you set up the 2nd DLink2 as a wired AP using the LAN port of the 2nd 815 instead of the WAN port.

This is the preferred method in the application:
 Turning a router into an AP.

This works well for routers in AP mode.  ;D

Just make sure that each unit is using different channels on each radio between the two. Set DLink1 to 11 on 2.4Ghz and DLink2 to 1 on 2.4 Ghz. Same goes for 5Ghz, keep channels separated.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 12:43:23 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2014, 12:47:55 PM »

I will try that we did that in my networking class but forgot all about it thanks and for the 1st dlink the wifi is disabled all together since we didnt need it Thanks i will get back with you with results
Logged

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2014, 01:00:45 PM »

Its now a AP and i have internet i will see what happens next and let you all know!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems! (RESOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2014, 01:10:51 PM »

Awesome. If you want WiFi on both, you can. Just keep the channels separate is all.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2014, 02:00:59 PM »

well it is staying up so far but gets terribly slow like before...It will be fast as ever then just go slow as mud...When i connect to the second dlink for settings its fast but slow to the 1st dlink... something is still wrong in between the 2...
Logged

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2014, 02:01:26 PM »

also as soon as i restart the second dlink its fast again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2014, 02:04:21 PM »

Ok, lets try this, Turn OFF the 2nd 815 and enable WiFi on the 1st 815. Set the WiFi up as the same as the 2nd 815.

What wireless modes are you currently using?
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz.
Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2014, 03:57:28 PM »

question i cant connect to the wifi of 1st dlink mostly anywhere in the house because its in dads computer room in garage so what will this accomplish i was just wondering thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2014, 04:01:14 PM »

Just curious if the 1st 815 behaves the same way with it's WiFi enabled and the 2nd disabled? Where are these 2 routers located? I thought the 2nd 815 was near ur dad and the 1st was in the house? I'm confused now.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2014, 07:09:43 PM »

1st is in his computer room out in garage thats where the internet comes in. 2nd is in my basement connected with Ethernet to first.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47404
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2014, 07:07:52 AM »

So if dad is closest to the 1st 815, I'd enable WiFi on that router first and test. All should be good at that point.

Test the 1st router out for a bit. Then turn on the 2nd one. There maybe some issues with having the 2nd 815 in the basement as some building materials can effect signal propagation.

If the 1st 815 operates well with WiFi enabled. I'd do a swap out of the 1st 815 with the 2nd one and test it out there, it should fully operate well for you with WiFi enabled.

I'd like to establish that each 815 works by itself first, then go from there.

Let us now how this goes. We might reload FW code of any of this fails to work out. Try this test first.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bobby0182

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-815 problems!
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2014, 09:08:59 AM »

hey dad just wants to replace one dlink the one in his office. Do you have any recommendations for a new router that will work well with the 815 we will continue to use
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3