• May 22, 2019, 09:44:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: QoS  (Read 23737 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS
« Reply #45 on: July 31, 2014, 06:56:37 AM »

Ya the 360 cached that IP address so you can still use that if you like. As along as the XB1 has something different, you good. Now enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #46 on: July 31, 2014, 10:33:55 AM »

Ya i just reserved the .199 ip 360 had, doesnt matter as long as no other device has .117 which is reserved for xb1 right? Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS
« Reply #47 on: July 31, 2014, 10:35:14 AM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #48 on: August 01, 2014, 12:09:50 AM »

Is there any way to  know if qos is working properly? Does it effect download & upload speeds & latency, because somtimes those suffer. I assume this router doesnt need to know the speeds & bandwith to know where to put the bottleneck
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #49 on: August 05, 2014, 08:45:19 PM »

Ok so our internet went out last night for some reason, the ip n dns on my xb1 were changed ip was 164 somthing, dns was like f111%111 % somthing weird like that, so i factory reset router, once it was set up i tryed doin qos again, i reserved ip of xb1, draged xb1 card to highest priority & saved, it reboots, then devices cant access wifi, they work fine untill i enable qos, i did it before & devices were fine. So i factory reset router again, devices work, enable qos, then they cant, ended up factory reset few times today, the last time i just didnt do qos so devices work. Ive done it from my xb b4 seting up qos and everything worked, idk why not now. Could you take a look at my router setup if i give you info furry?
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #50 on: August 19, 2014, 02:00:58 PM »

I got my ps4 on qos but since i cant access router setup from it i had to check from xb, so in order to do that i had to unplug ps4 from powerline adapter, thing is when i switch to xb1 n go to router setup right away, ps4 shows under connected clients & qos under high even though it isnt connected anymore, goes away after few min. Im wondering if a device is in qos will it only show up if that device is connected to internet? Maybe ps4 isnt showing because it isnt in powerline, xb1 shows but thats what i use to see ,
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #51 on: August 19, 2014, 02:37:38 PM »

Nvm I figured out that the device does have to be connected to be listed under qos.
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #52 on: August 21, 2014, 08:49:16 AM »

Since theres multiple devices connected on our wifi, cellphones, pcs, game systems ect, what is most important so i wouldnt notice streaming netflix n that, download speed or bandwith, we just switched to unlimted bandwith, would that help
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #53 on: August 22, 2014, 03:50:45 PM »


What's most important to have since theres around 11-12 devices, is having high download speed or unlimited bandwith best so i wouldnt slow down or ping increase.. also, We just got unlimited bandwith will that help more for qos benefiting as well or will it make it useless or worse
Logged

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #54 on: August 24, 2014, 01:25:40 PM »

Can someone let me know please, we upgraded to unlimited bandwith, is that goona effect QoS making it better or is qos useless now & also what would be most important to make my connection better since theres multiple devices connected, is unlimited bandwith or high download speed better? Theres around 10-12 devices that are all only connected to wifi, my game consoles are on a powerline adapter & also set to highest & high priority in qos
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS
« Reply #55 on: August 24, 2014, 01:26:43 PM »

Should be fine. Just maintain QoS settings and it should automatically take care of devcies while gaming.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #56 on: August 25, 2014, 12:52:07 PM »

By maintain qos do you mean just check once in while make sure its still there? And whats most important for multiple users? Unlimited bandwith should make connection better right. Im wondering whats most needed with several devices, keeping my ping down, because i think having low ping is alot more important for multiplayer, download doesnt matter as much , i think.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS
« Reply #57 on: August 25, 2014, 12:57:20 PM »

Yes. One they are in the sections, they should maintain that position.

Keep the low priority devices in the normal section when needed. Keep the higher priority devices in the the Highest or High section. If you have downloaders, be sure to keep them in the normal section in QoS. If you have users that don't get on much, or don't do much of anything, you don't have to add them to QoS.

You'll be fine.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Andrewcox93

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: QoS
« Reply #58 on: August 26, 2014, 02:01:31 PM »

Put the pc's or streamers of netflix in normal? Netflix users to, its prob next thing that slows me down most right. Isnt not putting a device in at all keeping it at lowest priority? Putting downloaders or streamers in normal, would it improve my connection or theres. I dont want to improve others. Whats putting them in normal do, does it put them @ higher or lower priority then they are now not being in any?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47392
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS
« Reply #59 on: August 26, 2014, 02:06:55 PM »

Yes put them in to the normal section. Keeps the QOS priority at a normal level while your gaming gets higher priority while gaming.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5