• September 20, 2019, 05:40:38 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: HDD move from DNS323, reformat?  (Read 2009 times)

jonpaul

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
HDD move from DNS323, reformat?
« on: March 24, 2014, 06:50:36 AM »

Hi there, I have a pair of 1.5T drives JBOD in my old DNS-323. If I pull those drives and mount to my new DNS343, does the DNS-343 (FW1.05) always format ANY newly mounted drive, or will it recognize the proprietary (lunix?) format drive from DNS-323?

It will save me a lot of time!

Best situation would be if D-link FW provided a "migrate" option to solve this and another option to clone one drive to another withing the DNS-343. Many thanks!

Kind Regards,

Jon
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: HDD move from DNS323, reformat?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 07:04:58 AM »

The following thread may not have the exact answer to the question you are asking, but does provide some useful advice/information: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=4535.0
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

jonpaul

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HDD move from DNS323, reformat?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 07:23:08 AM »

Hello JavaLawyer, many thanks but it does not really say:

Any new drive is always formatted OR 343 accepts and mounts a formatted drive with data from another DNS IF JAOBD and not RAID.

Who know the FW code?

Cheers,

J
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: HDD move from DNS323, reformat?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2014, 07:35:15 AM »

I posed the question to my contact at D-Link and will post back if I hear anything back.

In the event that the JBOD can be migrated between both ShareCenters, I strongly recommend backing up your data prior to performing any such procedure.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: HDD move from DNS323, reformat?
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2014, 07:50:18 AM »

Adding to my last post, here's another thread on the subject that relates to migrating a JBOD between the DNS-323 and DNS-320, which are  two different generations ShareCenters (the DNS-323 and DNS-343 are very close in firmware, HDD formatting, and functionality). You can draw your own interferences from the thread: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=38438.0 (I make no guarantees).

As an FYI, I recall some time back that a DNS-320 owner tried to perform a JBOD migration between the DNS-323 and DNS-320 and the DNS-320 did not recognize the volume.


Additional References: ShareCenter - Important Posts & Information
« Last Edit: March 24, 2014, 08:08:42 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC