• October 18, 2019, 09:21:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: DSL-2750B Firmware update fails with error message: Bad Upgrade File Header  (Read 28905 times)

erdos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10


I was just was doing some research: take a look at your MTU and MRU settings they should be MTU: 1400 and MRU: 1492 -->  Log into the modem, from setup tab left click INTERNET SETUP. left click the box on the left, left click EDIT, scroll down until you see MTU size and MRU size and verify that they are 1400 and 1492, if they aren't change them and then click next, then click apply. Reboot the modem, you r computer  and then test it out; then let me know what they were set at, so I can put it in my notes....    

And fyi the firmware really isn't going to affect your data rates, DSL is essentially configured with a much higher downstream rate than upstream rate.  For your line the data rates are going to be very close to: Downstream Line Rate (Kbps):   17647   - and -     Upstream Line Rate (Kbps):   1117 (These are the perfect case scenerios)  -----

-zoiks... and away!


in my 'MAC Encapsulation Routing' - i.e. 'mer_0_0_35 ' settings on the new firmware,   MRU, MTU values are not available.

in Verizon firmware,  i remember that one of the settings on the Verizon 2750B firmware page has '10080 minutes' as ip lease time.  that's equivalent to 7 days, which is how often my internet got dropped.  after i verified that period and failed to get any help from Verizon Dsl support, i was searching online for a solution and found this thread.  

 
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 07:46:14 PM by erdos »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Just understand that you are modifying Verizons HW and D-Link is not responsible for any thing that happens nor can the modem be supported by D-Link support, even if D-Link FW is loaded , as the actual HW and support responsibility belongs to Verizon!
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

solarsails

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8

Your welcome.  I'm just curious, your download speed seems to be incredibly slow.  Did you have a different "modem" connnected before and were you getting the same speed with it?  It could be that you are very far away from the DSLAM, but I still haven't seen download speeds that slow.   Do you have that packet accelerator turned on or off?  What is your MTU set at?  I wonder if you are getting a lot of data retries, such as data errors, etc?  Thats the slowest download speed I've ever heard of for DSL and is actually below Verizon's slowest advertised bandwidth...   Do you have filters on everything except your DSL modem?  Is the length of the wire from the oustide box to your modem very long?  Is the wiring fairly old, etc??  Just wondering...

+    Length of your telephone line.
+    Condition of telephone wiring inside and outside your location.
+    Computer configuration.
+    Network or internet congestion.
+    Server and router speeds of the Web sites you access.
 
Logged

erdos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10

my download speed is 1184 Kbps, and upload speed is 448 Kbps, that's the same speed I got from older DSL modem ( Westell 6100 model until January, 2014).  i've been using the same verizon DSL service for the past 7 years, and the speed is enough for my needs (online surfing, email, youtube) :) 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I'd ask your ISP to review the logs and check the time frame on when the connection gets dropped. If it's every 7 days then they should be able to help narrow the issue down...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

solarsails

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8

my download speed is 1184 Kbps, and upload speed is 448 Kbps, that's the same speed I got from older DSL modem ( Westell 6100 model until January, 2014).  i've been using the same verizon DSL service for the past 7 years, and the speed is enough for my needs (online surfing, email, youtube) :) 

Wow, thats cool, I have a westell 6100g on my desk that I was thinking of setting up on my dsl connection, so I could free up my DSL2750B for more appropriate activities....  I kind of like the 6100, with its baby footprint and all...   So you say you were fairly happy with it when you were using it??  Any issues with it?  Thanks, oh and by the way, just one other thing, I found that by setting my mtu to 1400 from 1490 gained a noticeable and consistant improvement in download speed. In my opinion it would be somewhat neglectful to leave my mtu at 1490 since it doesn't match up with a dsl configuration at all. Its like a totally unoptimized setting. I also set any other routers to the same value (my routers are actually configured into switches or AP's). Something tells me that you already have yours set at that...   Have  good one...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Thanks for sharing info. Hope this helps others out.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zhjook

  • Guest

MTU 1492 for PPPOE ,1500For ethernet
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

MTU 1492 for PPPOE (DSL),1500 For Cable ISP  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bjgood

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi,
I also have a Verizon DSL-2750B T1 wireless router and like SolarSails I'm getting the Bad Upgrade File Header when I try to upgrade the firmware to the latest D-Link T1 3.06. Can someone please post the exact procedure needed to get the upgrade to be applied? I tried the TFTP method but without success. BTW, I'm running Ubuntu 14.04 on my PC (not Windows).

Thanks you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I recommend that you phone contact your ISP support office and ask for help and information regarding this. If this unit was provided by the ISP, then it may have there own FW and support features which will need to be addressed directly with the ISP since it's there HW. Understand that you are modifying Verizons HW and D-Link is not responsible for any thing that happens nor can the modem be supported by D-Link support, even if D-Link FW is loaded , as the actual HW and support responsibility belongs to Verizon! We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.

Hi,
I also have a Verizon DSL-2750B T1 wireless router and like SolarSails I'm getting the Bad Upgrade File Header when I try to upgrade the firmware to the latest D-Link T1 3.06. Can someone please post the exact procedure needed to get the upgrade to be applied? I tried the TFTP method but without success. BTW, I'm running Ubuntu 14.04 on my PC (not Windows).

Thanks you.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 01:29:15 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bjgood

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Excuse me, but you know Verizon is not going to help me change the firmware on my D-Link DSL-2750B. Hell, they don't even show any firmware for it on their web site. The Verizon firmware that's on the router at present is riddled with holes. No matter how much I tweak their firewall setting, trying to make it as secure as possible, it always fails whenever I run it through Shields Up. The same results with a Verizon GT784WNV I have as well. But, once I installed a stock Actiontec GT784WN firmware and tweaked it exactly as I did the Verizon firmware I passed the Shields Up test with no problem.

I just need help trying to make this junk Verizon DSL-2750B as usable as possible.

Can someone post the exact procedure?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

If the model HW belongs to Verizon then it's there HW and you'd be violation there use policy. I recommend returning there modem and get you a retail unit that doesn't belong to Verizon. Then you can do as you wish with the retail version or get in to a modem only unit then attach a DIR series router to the modem for your router and wireless needs.

Good Luck.

Excuse me, but you know Verizon is not going to help me change the firmware on my D-Link DSL-2750B. Hell, they don't even show any firmware for it on their web site. The Verizon firmware that's on the router at present is riddled with holes. No matter how much I tweak their firewall setting, trying to make it as secure as possible, it always fails whenever I run it through Shields Up. The same results with a Verizon GT784WNV I have as well. But, once I installed a stock Actiontec GT784WN firmware and tweaked it exactly as I did the Verizon firmware I passed the Shields Up test with no problem.

I just need help trying to make this junk Verizon DSL-2750B as usable as possible.

Can someone post the exact procedure?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bjgood

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

press reset key ,turn on power, after 15s ,release reset key,  make you pc ip=192.168.10 , then, open ie ,get 192.168.1.1 ,you can see the CFE update mode ,you can update all bcm6328avng tag FW

like this  6   Broadcom Corporatio ver. 2.0      6328  96328AVNG

This fellows instructions worked after I changed my PC's ip address to 192.168.1.10 instead of what he has listed above (192.168.10). I'm now running my DSL-2750B rev:T1 on firmware 3.06. I've got a lot of reading to do to learn where everything is at, but so far I'm getting True Stealth at GRC's Shields Up....which is a step in the right direction.

Thank goodness this ordeal is over.

And, FurryNutz. I know you were only doing your job, dude, so your input was appreciated.

Later...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Good Luck.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2] 3