• June 19, 2019, 09:41:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Connecting to my DIR-815 with an Airport card  (Read 2820 times)

Gorillamo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Connecting to my DIR-815 with an Airport card
« on: January 13, 2014, 09:13:28 AM »

Hello all,
I'd like to connect a Macintosh G4 running OS X 10.4.6 to my DIR-815 wireless router (in another, nearby room) which is connected to a cable modem, using an Airport card in the G4. Is this possible? The G4 can see the network that the router has established yet the password for the router isn't recognized as a legitimate password by the G4.

Thanks,
Gorillamo
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47473
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting to my DIR-815 with an Airport card
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2014, 09:19:06 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed A, B, G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Hold old is the airport card? I remember some 1st gen AP cards didn't support WPA or WPA2, you may need to try using WEP.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gorillamo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Connecting to my DIR-815 with an Airport card
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 12:48:41 PM »

Hi Furry,
The Hardware version is A1.

The Firmware Version is 1.00 Fri 06 Aug 2010.

By region, I assume you mean my actual location, which is Jackson, Mississippi.

As to the age of the Airport card, I can't say as I bought it off Amazon, if memory serves. Is there a way to tell by the sticker information on the card itself?

For these other questions, I am going to have to get back to you, as this will take a little bit of time for me to sort through it all. I'm kinda new to this, in case you hadn't noticed!!

Thanks,
Gorillamo
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47473
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting to my DIR-815 with an Airport card
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2014, 12:55:32 PM »

What is posted on the sticker on the wireless card? Is there any model # or serial # info? Or even a Mfr date?

Your router is using shipping FW and there is newer, however lets see what we can do with the AP card first. Try WEP, then try WPA with TPIK only on settings on the router. If the AP card connects then you good here. You can try WPA2 and TPIK and see. If it fails to connect with WPA2, then you'll know.

One alternative suggestion would be to install a DAP bridge and LAN wire connect the Mac to the bridge. Then bridge the DAP to the 815 on either 2.4Ghz or the faster 5Ghz radio. Makes for a good WiFi upgrade for some devices that are getting old and out of date.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting