• October 18, 2019, 01:38:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname  (Read 35503 times)

nighthawke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« on: December 20, 2013, 10:30:23 AM »

I'm running a 2310 with a basic DNS/DHCP LAN configuration. I'm able to access systems using host name over NFS OK, but I also use VNC for remote desktop management. The host name is not resolving in VNC, forcing me to use IP addresses which is a hassle.

Is there a switch or configuration in the router to force DNS resolution, or am I going to have to configure a dedicated DNS server so that this may work?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 10:36:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench

Is Local Domain filled in under Setup/Networking/Router settings if you have this option on this model router? Local Domain name should be the same and your workgroup name which should also be the same on each client PC.

I mainly use IPs when working with most of my networking...

Would a external network switch help with this maybe?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nighthawke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2013, 11:07:23 AM »

Hardware version C1 FIrmware 3.01 USA

TWC is my provider, OpenDNS is my DNS service.

Motorola SB6141 set Honor MDD IP Mode. One IP address has been leased by CPE and is assigned to the router.

QoS is disabled already.

Advanced DNS services is OFF by choice to use OpenDNS.

Use Unicasting is enabled, same with DNS relay.

I use a Gbit 10 port switch to eliminate any bottle-necking the router may cause. I've ran into that issue with many a router and have been forced to put fast switches in. I've ran MikroTik routers on this network without issue but was forced to switch to this router for other reasons.

I ran a NSLOOKUP on this terminal after changing the local domain to the workgroup name. The last entry comes up with the local system name and workgroup name, and shows the router's WAN address.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 11:11:53 AM by nighthawke »
Logged

nighthawke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2013, 04:15:01 PM »

No change after the tweak.
Logged

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 428
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2013, 05:47:35 PM »

I guess like most routers of this price category your model only supports DNS relaying and distributing DNS server addresses to LAN clients via DHCP (either its own LAN interface address when configured to work as DNS relay or otherwise the addresses of external DNS servers either received dynamically by your ISP during Internet connection setup or configured manually if you don't want to use your ISP's DNS servers). And may be it supports DynDNS to register its global WAN IP address with a DynDNS provider of your choice.

But that's it. It will probably not support local name resolution by establishing local DNS zones for forward and reverse lookup of the names and addresses of your LAN devices within a local domain name of your choice (e.g. "homelan.local") including dynamic DNS registration for your LAN devices required due to the dynamic address configuration via DHCP. To provide this you probably have to install a dedicated DNS server hosting your local zones and configured with DNS forwarders (either your EBR-2310 when configured as DNS relay or external DNS servers) for resolving names in the Internet.

With a static IP configuration of your LAN devices (at least those you want to resolve by name) you can also work with a HOSTS file distributed amongst all relevant LAN devices which shall be able to do local name resolution.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 05:50:55 PM by PacketTracer »
Logged

nighthawke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2013, 06:55:19 PM »

Never had issues with most routers in this price zone with LAN IP management. The software in this particular model is watered down DNS, probably to cut costs. This may have to force me to buy an more "Inexpensive router", probably another MikroTik, which has 2X the capability, but the complexity of programming it rises by 10X.

I'll give D-Link's T/S another day to respond on here, then plan to contact a vendor to order a RouterBoard.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2014, 07:23:58 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nighthawke

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2014, 12:37:31 PM »

None and no resolution outside of setting up a private DNS and that's a mess in itself.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2014, 12:40:27 PM »

I'd ask D-Link support which router would be best suited for your needs. The EBR is a fairly basic kind of router so there may not be a more inclusive form of DNS support on this model router where maybe a different model may...

Let us know if you find out anything.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 428
Re: LAN systems not resolving IP to hostname
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2014, 01:45:25 PM »

Quote
... no resolution outside of setting up a private DNS and that's a mess in itself.

Unfortunately you didn't tell which operating systems your LAN clients use. If you are using Windows you could activate and use NetBIOS name resolution instead of DNS, since according to the VNC knowledge base VNC software does not directly perform any type of Name Resolution, but simply asks the operating system to resolve names on its behalf.

You can test if NetBIOS name resolution works by typing nbtstat -a <COMPUTER> within a command prompt, where <COMPUTER> has to be replaced by the name of another computer within your LAN (lowercase "a" is significant, uppercase "A" has a different meaning!). If successful the command shows the NetBIOS name table of <COMPUTER>, and then typing the command nbtstat -c would reveal the IPv4 address <COMPUTER> was resolved to via NetBIOS name resolution.

PT
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 02:36:10 PM by PacketTracer »
Logged