• October 15, 2019, 10:19:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: dir-815/slow internet?  (Read 11466 times)

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
dir-815/slow internet?
« on: April 20, 2013, 11:34:12 AM »

hi, just replaced my old di-524 with dir- 815 and now i have very slow internet ,
lan and wireless,if i hook the di-524 back up internet is back to normal was
going for faster internet and more wireless range need help?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 12:00:48 PM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Link>Checking MTU Values

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 02:40:35 PM »

hw:a1 fw:1.01
speedstream 5360 (efficient networks)
at&t dsl
california usa
also i can't open the routers setup page
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2013, 02:52:53 PM »

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address. Ensure your PC is set up for automatic IP address and does not have a static IP address.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again.

What is your ISP Speed UP and Down that you pay for?
Is this or modem?
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r19521728-Is-Speedstream-5360-holding-me-back-
https://wiki.sonic.net/wiki/Efficient_networks_speedstream_5360

Hard to find whole lot of information about this modem.
I would recommend asking your ISP for a newer updated DSL modem, something that does not have a built in router since you have the 815. Or maybe get your own DSL modem?
http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/modems-and-gateways/dsl-520b-adsl2-plus-ethernet-modem
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 03:13:35 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2013, 03:37:07 PM »

yes that is my modem
and i don't think it has a router in it
internet speed 3 mbps down, up ?
ie 9 windows 7 ult.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2013, 03:45:58 PM »

Let us know if any of the suggestions work. Again, you might check into getting a new DSL modem and cables. Ask your ISP or get your own.

Also make sure your phone lines are in good working condition, setup and filtered corrected as well.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2013, 04:12:49 PM »

i will try a new modem but as for the phone lines i think
they should be ok , as i said the old router works fine (di-524)
that's the thing i don't understand?


ps: can you split a phone line and use two dsl modems?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 04:18:26 PM by bryboob »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2013, 04:25:50 PM »

No...each DSL modem requires PPPoE account information and usually requires a single line with required operating signal levels going into the modem. Splitting the signal will degrade the signal and cause interference on the line.

Keep us posted. I think since your old modem and older generation router are working, there could be a compatibility issue with the newer generation router and the old mode. Also be sure to swap out the cable between the modem and router too.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2013, 06:21:29 PM »

hi again, bought a new modem (motorola 3360) at first had the same problem
then i used the modems setup(at&t) to set everything up after that internet was working
fine but one strange thing, when i looked in the dir-815's setup/internet/manual internet setup/
internet type, it had dynamic ip instead of PPPoE and when i switch to PPPoE internet connection
saids it's busy so there's no internet, also one of the compters on my network keeps
disconnecting seems like only after the computer has been turn off and than you turn
it on again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2013, 05:03:31 PM »

Is the new modem in bridge mode or is it handling the PPPoE connection now? If it is, then the 815 doesnt' need to handle the PPPoE connection however it's preferred to let the 815 do all the work if possible.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bryboob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: dir-815/slow internet?
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2013, 09:32:23 PM »

hi,the modems setup  wasn't in bridge mode everythings working now,
have a question about the wi-fi lights are they supose to blink even
when i'am not using wi-fi, just worried about someone connecting
to my network with out a key# .
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dir-815/slow internet? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2013, 05:57:10 PM »

 I would check the user manual to see what the behavior is. I know that some routers only blink when there is a connection or activity going.
Nobody can connect to the wireless unless they have you password.

Glad you got the router working well.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting