• June 25, 2019, 08:45:50 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?  (Read 13790 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2013, 04:12:25 PM »

LOL you don't need to post that info. I just figured you might have received it yesterday and was able to get it all connected and running. I guess not.

Keep us posted. Here to help ya.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2013, 06:17:43 PM »

LOL you don't need to post that info. I just figured you might have received it yesterday and was able to get it all connected and running. I guess not.

Keep us posted. Here to help ya.  ;)

I got the router earlier this afternoon, and yes, I turned off the 3G on my iPhone, and turned on WiFi, and then there was my name I gave with my router, and I don't even have a wireless card, and I did ask eMachines, but I don't have one. That's because I'm using my iPhone as wireless, and that doesn't require a wireless card, and it's true in some cases it's required, but in my case it's not required. In fact I am typing this on my iPhone by using my iPhone as wireless.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2013, 06:41:46 PM »

Now you can use a LAN cable connection from the PC to the back of the 815 to connect the PC and get internet access on the PC.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2013, 12:20:23 PM »

Could someone please share the best settings which in terms of having the strongest security with the choices I'm going to list?

With WPA2-PSK or WEP?

Also, out of these choices for the strongest security? Auto TPIK+AES? Or TPIK? Or AES?

I appreciate the answers I get.

Thank you,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2013, 12:25:04 PM »

Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.

Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2013, 12:33:37 PM »

Thank you!

What about Mixed 802.11 b/g/n? Or you wouldn't recommend that mix mode type?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2013, 12:37:06 PM »

If you don't have any devices that use B mode then you don't need B mode. Use only the modes you need. You'll be good.

Use InSSIDer application to see if other WiFi routers are near by and what channels they are using. You don't want to set your router on a channel thats already in use.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2013, 12:44:28 PM »

1.) In my router page, the channel 1 is grayed out.

2.) How do I use that application to check for router channels around me?

3.) Is that application freeware?

4.) Where should I download the application from?

5.) Thank you for your help and support in this thread.
Logged

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2013, 12:50:24 PM »

Also, I noticed when I do mixed n/g then the 20/40Mhz is grayed out, but when I do b/g/n then the 20/40Mhz is not grayed out.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2013, 12:58:51 PM »

Keep B/G/N then so you can use the 40Mhz when and if your devices connect to it and support the 40Mhz band. You'll be good to go.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2013, 01:53:15 PM »

Could you please reply to post reply #22 that was posted by me?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2013, 01:57:35 PM »


1.) In my router page, the channel 1 is grayed out.
Uncheck AutoScan, then I think you can change the channels.
2.) How do I use that application to check for router channels around me?
Just run it and it will scan and list any and all 2.4 and 5Ghz WiFi signals around you and what channels they are using with some additional info.
3.) Is that application freeware?
Yes
4.) Where should I download the application from?
Link> Use InSSIDer
5.) Thank you for your help and support in this thread.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2013, 02:05:00 PM »

Thank you! Thank you! and thank you!

I'm downstairs right now, and my computer toys are upstairs in my bedroom, so I'll do that later.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47485
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2013, 02:05:30 PM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?
« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2013, 03:46:53 PM »

Please take a look at this screenshot from a SSIDer message, and how do I start that service because the service is stopped?

Thank you,

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/7214/ssider.jpg
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3