• August 21, 2019, 12:14:09 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: [HowTo] Dir-628 as extender/repeater  (Read 50760 times)

Camwinnn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
[HowTo] Dir-628 as extender/repeater
« on: April 12, 2012, 12:09:36 AM »

Got the dir-628 as a gift, parents business couldnt get it to work so it sat till i got it, then had to order a cord. Finally plug everything up.... cant get information from my modem... only thing i havnt tried, tho will since i made one earlier, a crossover cable to the router. but anyways after that i decided to just use it to extend my network with another router, didnt know it didnt have wireless bridging -_- 5yr old cheap belkin router has that. so spent forever trying different things and this is about all ive managed.


Youll need:

your dir-628
Crossover cable
Primary router (It will atleast need wireless bridging! access point could work, havent tested, too late to be resetting things)
Computer



First make sure your modem/Primary router are doing well, you can connect via your PCs wireless connection and surf the web.

next open a web browser and log into your primary router (Your default ip is different on router brands example dlink: 192.168.0.1 belkin: 192.168.2.1) wont be changing much here, just make sure you have the security settings, go into the wireless settings and set the channel to a specific one (doesnt matter which just your other router will have to be on the same one as well) and finally we will go to the "Wireless bridging" option on your primary router and enable it.   (As said prior access point may work if your router doesnt have wireless bridging, dont necessarily know havnt tested)




Now we can go back to your PC open up control panel and go to your network/sharing center. Once there select "change adapter settings" this will open a window with all your connections (wired/wireless) highlight both your wireless connection and the ethernet port youll be using for the dir-628 and rightclick, and youll see an option to "bridge connections" this will let your wireless network be used by your dir-628 essentially your computer is acting as your modem would. (ICS or Internet Connection Sharing is also an option most adapters have, personally couldnt get that one so why i did bridge :p)




Almost there, we can take the crossover cable and plug it into the ethernet port and any one of the 4 lan ports on your dir-628. Now open a web browser and log into your dir-628 (default 192.168.0.1) we will first start off with Wireless settings, just make sure to pick the same channel and if your going to use g/n mode and your primary router is only g make sure to place the channel width to 20.




Next will be Network settings, all you really need to do is make sure your dir-628s ip address falls into the same as your primaries example: primary is 192.168.2.1 youll need to change yours to anything in that range so 192.168.2.2-255. Now make sure DNS relay isnt checked and uncheck DHCP server as your primary will be taking care of that for you.


Finally we can move on to the Advanced tab, on the left youll see QoS engine, click that, will go to a window with traffic shaping and what not, just look for the box next to "Enable QoS engine" and make sure its unchecked, then back on your left hand side near the bottom of the list youll see "Advanced network" Click that to go into the last window. Make sure the UPnP box is unchecked and that should be it :D







Since your dir-628 is getting its internet from your PC when its off the router cant get internet D: Use the exact same SSID for both routers as well as matching security settings so that if other devices are connected to the dir-628 when your pc goes off they will still stay connected, just to the primary router instead, then when your PC is on the dir-628 is extending your network letting other devices decide which to use depending on signal strength.


Sorry if its a book :P
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 12:19:48 AM by Camwinnn »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: [HowTo] Dir-628 as extender/repeater
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 06:56:47 AM »

This HOW TO is not true extender/repeater mode operation, rather a 2ndary AP and the Belkin router is working in bridge mode, not repeater mode. Have to remember that the host router needs to have true wireless bridging or repeatercapabilities, most DLink routers don't carry this option any more so this might not work for all.

You can do this with them, it's just not support by DLink officially:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2016, 08:24:29 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gedit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [HowTo] Dir-628 as extender/repeater
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2014, 09:48:15 AM »

Hi,
Do you know which D-Link model supports bridge mode but w/using dual antennas each full duplex so to utilize the full bandwidth rather than sharing it with other clients?
Prefer a small footprint but regular size router would be as good.

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: [HowTo] Dir-628 as extender/repeater
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 09:50:37 AM »

I'd review this:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

If your looking for external antenna support, the only router currently that supports bridge mode would be the 880L and a few others listed in the sticky.

Hi,
Do you know which D-Link model supports bridge mode but w/using dual antennas each full duplex so to utilize the full bandwidth rather than sharing it with other clients?
Prefer a small footprint but regular size router would be as good.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 20, 2015, 09:35:01 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting