• June 20, 2019, 12:25:23 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER  (Read 11722 times)

jeromeg

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« on: March 22, 2012, 08:05:45 PM »

Hi  guys , I just bought a DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER at Best Buy today and I'm done setting up the router as well, but my problem is, I cant seem to find the 5.0ghz network that I set up (I can easily connect to 2.4 ghz). If I couldn't make it work , I'll bring it back to best buy to get a refund by saturday, so I still have 2 days to fix it so please help me guys .
Here is the product : http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=DIR-815
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 06:51:23 AM »

You sure your devices that your trying to connect to the 5Ghz radio is support of 5Ghz? Not all devices support 5Ghz.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jeromeg

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 09:38:45 AM »

I can't find the network on my laptop and dekstop(just bought last week) and all the computers at home.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2012, 09:42:56 AM by jeromeg »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 09:56:35 AM »

Is the LT and DT connected to the 5Ghz radio or the 2.4Ghz radio?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jeromeg

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 12:02:25 PM »

What is LT and DT? and btw , I tried it on my 55' LG 3D TV, It finds the network with 5ghz and it connects with internet access. Im just worried about my computer coz I really want my desktop to connect with 5ghz coz I play alot of games.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2012, 12:04:21 PM »

LT=Laptop, DT=Desktop

Whats "coz"?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jeromeg

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2012, 12:58:05 PM »

both laptop and desktop is connected to 2.4 ghz
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2012, 01:07:09 PM »

Need to check with the Mfr of the PC or the wifi adapters in these PCs if they support 5Ghz WiFi or not.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jeromeg

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2012, 01:27:21 PM »

I see . my desktop only supports 2.4 ghz not 5 ghz . thanks for your help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2012, 01:33:24 PM »

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

oldyellr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2013, 02:50:57 PM »

Okay, I'm new here and could not find a DIR-815 subforum. So it looks like people needing help with the 815 are posting here in the DIR-825 subforum.

I just bought and installed a DIR-815 to replace the DIR-615 I've had for 2 or 3 years because I was looking for more range. The router is on a desktop computer in the basement at one end of the house and I was getting a weak/intermittent signal at the other end of the house, diagonally opposite, on the main floor. A steel beam and heating duct runs the length of the house, which probably stops a lot of the signal. The only way I could get the DIR-615 to work was to add a couple of home-made parabolic reflectors to the antennas and put it above the suspended ceiling. Well, it turns out that the signal from the DIR-815 is no better than the DIR-615, so I just wasted my time and money. I really would like to see a sticky on this forum with the important of ALL D-Link routers,perpetually updated, including range, compared side by side, so customers can make informed choices. I really needed a router with better range than the DIR-615, but I didn't have the information necessary.

Problem Number Two.

I was hoping a dual band router would keep the gamers in the house on their own band, but it turns out the 5GHz band is not compatible with any device anybody has. We can't see it on laptops, desktops, smartphones, game consoles or tablets. After some searching, I find that 5GHz is only available on very new and expensive laptops and desktops. Another useless feature that we can't use. Lots of marketing but no useful information out there.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2013, 03:25:40 PM »

I was wondering when you were gonna visit the forums.  ;)

Information seen on DSL reports stands regarding range. You need good placement of the router and possible additional DLink DAP range extender(s).

As for upgrading devices that don't support 5ghz, there is hope for those that have a wired LAN port or have a USB port:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 03:28:24 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

oldyellr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2013, 06:59:41 PM »

Thanks Furry, you must be the same person I talked to on dslreports. What I've done is order a couple of 10m ethernet cables so I can locate the router more centrally in the house and dispense with the home-made antenna reflectors. It just annoys me that I presumed a D-Link router with a higher model number would have more range. In this case it was the same as the 615 I was using before, just a second chanel I can't use. Fortunately, I got it on sale for $5 more than I paid for the previous router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47474
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2013, 07:09:22 AM »

Usually higher model numbers only means more features and the router may do more like dual bands. The radio out put can vary to a point however usually is a standard since the FCC regulates officially what the radios are putting out and ALL mfrs have to follow these guide lines. I have been told that some newer models output a bit more, some are the same. You have a good router and it should work well for you. You just need better placement an do consider possibly using your 615 as an AP to help you extend range however if you do this, it would need to be a wired connection from the 815 to the 615. I have 2 in my house in this mode. One runs on the same 2.4Ghz at low power in the living room and the other is in the bedroom that services 5Ghz for gaming. All works great. Also you'll be ready for when you do get something that can use the extra features.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

oldyellr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DIR-815 WIRELESS N DUAL BAND ROUTER
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2013, 07:34:43 AM »

I suspected there might be some FCC regulation concerning signal strength. What about something like the D-Link DIR-645 Whole Home Router? Nobody seems to quote actual numbers, just sales talk. I recall domeone saying on Facebook they had a wireless router from China that threw a signal to the end of his street and gave him a headache if he sat next to it.  ???
Logged
Pages: [1] 2