• October 16, 2019, 08:33:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Admin Password Error  (Read 24427 times)

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #15 on: October 26, 2011, 01:24:06 PM »

Well, let me know (one way or another) how things turn out.
Good luck!
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

stephenchowning

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2011, 08:09:21 AM »

If your software doesn't allow someone to change the default password and save the changes correctly, shouldn't you just fix your software? I am having the same problem with changing the default password via the web interface from a Mac computer. I haven't tried doing it from a PC, but from the OP's results, I am not encouraged.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2011, 07:49:00 AM »

If your software doesn't allow someone to change the default password and save the changes correctly, shouldn't you just fix your software? I am having the same problem with changing the default password via the web interface from a Mac computer. I haven't tried doing it from a PC, but from the OP's results, I am not encouraged.

Changing the password is independent of the PC platform. The changes are saved directly to the camera via the web interface.  Did you log into the web interface from a browser and save the password settings using a local PC on your network?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

stephenchowning

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2012, 09:36:40 AM »

Yes, that is exactly what I did.
Logged

stephenchowning

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2012, 07:30:34 AM »

I was able to get the password to change. I am not sure what the problem was, but I have a theory, and will do some testing and report back.
Logged

stephenchowning

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2012, 08:39:36 AM »

At this point I am not sure exactly what worked. I thought that perhaps choosing a longer password was what did the trick, or that once I clicked apply, I then clicked logout, when I hadn't done this the first time.

But I tested things with a short password, and I was able to successfully make the change. I tested things by not clicking on logout after clicking on apply, and that wasn't what broke it either.

The only possible clue I have to offer is that when I was testing the various possibilities, I found out that my Mac laptop was holding the password somehow. By this I mean that once I submitted the password change, and deleted all cache, cookies, history, etc. from my browser, Safari, I was able to pull up the web interface *without* re-entering the password. So somehow, on my laptop, the password was being stored, even though I was clearing all browser data via the Reset Safari pull down menu. It was only when I rebooted the laptop that the password was cleared. On my iPad, the password cleared without a reboot.

The reason I mention this is that I am surmising that updating the firmware is what fixed things, but that when I tried to change the password after first updating the firmware it didn't take. That somehow the laptop was holding some old info around after I updated the firmware. And that it wasn't until I rebooted the laptop at a later time that things worked.

That is the only thing that I can come up with, as I did try to change the password after updating the firmware, and it did *not* work. 
Logged

jokre

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2013, 06:06:15 AM »

I know, this is an extreme "late post", but since I had the same problem and probably can offer the answer to it all (plus the fact that this thread has been read nearly 4000 times indicating that others might have stumbled over this), I think it's ok to be late to the party.

I was rearranging my home network and looked over every piece of it and made a new setup all in all and in doing that I stumbled upon this problem working on my D-Link cams. Most likely because I had another password strategy during last setup than I have now (especially since the last couple of months news flow highlighting the security issues that involves using our precious computers and IT services) and therefor I haven't suffered from this before.

I had reconfigured and documented the camera configuration and the last thing I did was changing the admin password. Next, when prompted for the admin password I couldn't access the camera at all. Summoning all the clustered anger from all the villains in the universe, I just couldn't get in and had to reset the camera and start over again. After failing a couple of times I had to put aside that clustered anger and let my logic side show. I sat down and checked how many chars the password boxes actually could take... result: max 8 chars... (other posts in this thread have confirmed the use of short passwords, but no one has come to the conclusion to why it works).

After commiting to this standard there were no problems anymore. I had just been struck by the "taking-things-for-granted-and-not-looking-at-what-I-am-actually-doing syndrome". It's easy to just believe that there is no restriction and just typing, tabbing, typing, submitting without actually checking. This results in a password that is just 8 chars when you believe that it's more than 8 chars.

This was done with the DCS-930L, hardware version A1 and firmware 1.03 (dated 28th of November 2011). I also downloaded and reviewed the release notes of firmware 1.07 (or 1.07b5 dated 15th of May 2013 according to the D-Link download web page, or 19th of November 2012 according to the release notes, or... 26th of October 2012 according to the info on the DCS-930L setup GUI after installing the firmware... confusing...). The release notes said nothing about fixing this issue, nor did the prior ones - 1.05_b8 or 1.06_b5. When verifying the actual firmware upgrade it didn't change anything in the setup web GUI regarding possible password lengths so the release notes where true, still max 8 chars.

So, last but not least, I kindly ask D-Link to introduce possibilities to use strong passwords in these devices. Perhaps not a device in the high risk sector of vulnerability assessments, but we all know that no chain is stronger than its weakest link. While I'm waiting for two factor authentication, it would at least be nice to set passwords that are looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong ;-)
Logged

NewbieTech333

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #22 on: August 11, 2013, 08:23:23 AM »

i'm having the same issue..tried doing the paperclip to reset..still not working..just wondering if you ever got it figured out
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #23 on: August 11, 2013, 10:50:43 AM »

i'm having the same issue..tried doing the paperclip to reset..still not working..just wondering if you ever got it figured out

While the DCS-930L is powered-up, press and hold the recessed reset button for > 8 seconds. This will set the credentials to username: Admin; password: [Blank -- i.e. no value]
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Admin Password Error
« Reply #24 on: August 14, 2013, 06:03:59 AM »

Any update on this issue?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC
Pages: 1 [2]