• June 16, 2019, 03:32:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware  (Read 6064 times)

Megabite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« on: October 03, 2008, 05:12:54 PM »

After about 12 hours of operation, the wireless radio seems to stop functioning although the wireless LED still flashes.  The wireless SID is also gone from Windows Wireless Network Connection window and also is not visible with NetStumbler, otherwise, the router is 100% functional.  A reboot is required to temporarily fix the problem.
Logged

mnewcomb

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2008, 04:03:24 PM »

Confirmed... Just upgraded to 1.05. No more reboots (at least since 1:50pm EST this afternoon)... Just the wireless is gone after about 4 hours or so...

All I can say is... wow...

Do you guys at D-Link have any idea of what you are actually doing?

This is a freaking wireless router!

Here is an idea. How about you guys open source your firmware so someone can actually figure out what you guys are doing wrong.

I mean... DAMN!
Logged

bjrichus

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2008, 10:57:17 AM »

I have my DHCP Lease renewal time set to 9999.

By my math that  is about 6.9 days to lease renewal (ignoring the 50% of time thing in the RFC).

WEll, after a couple of weeks of it working just fine... renewing the leases after about 50% of that time (after about 3.47 days), the wireless on my router just FROZE SOLID at about the time I'd have expected it to renew the leases, after 4 of these more or less twice a week renewal cycles. The fixed wire network links all still functioned fine.

As others have said, the router needs to be rebooted/power cycled for the wireless to work again.

As you can imagine, I'm not a happy bunny.  >:(

Less unhappy than I used to be with the earlier versions of the firmware, but still not really happy.

It is still broken, but a little less broken than before!

DLINK: Your firmware people still need to get out of the cubicles and get working on this.
Logged

udauda

  • Guest
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2008, 06:00:13 PM »

Same here. My wireless connection just goes away as well... :-X 
Logged

formulaben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 01:27:35 AM »

Where did you get the 1.05/5b15 firmware?!  Not that I want it...but all I see is 1.04 on their support website.  I've had several D-Link routers and this this is junk.  They should let us do a warranty exchange!
Logged

cloon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 03:34:43 PM »

http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=WBR-2310
Logged

jonesb

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2008, 06:54:41 AM »

My wireless was also disappearing after several days (maybe it stayed up for a week) with firmware 1.04.

By disappearing I meant that the signal was still being transmitted OK, but the remote PCs could not acquire an authenticated IP address.  Therefore no readable signal.

I have just upgraded to v1.05 (althought it still says 1.04 on the opening login page).

We shall see.

BTW, can anyone advise if I should use the Turbo option or not.
Logged

bjrichus

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Wireless disappears with 1.05, 1.05b15 firmware
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2008, 10:43:29 AM »

I have just upgraded to v1.05 (althought it still says 1.04 on the opening login page).

The initial login page is still cached on your PC.

Refresh/reload the page (i.e. F5 on a PC) and it'll update.
Logged