D-Link Forums

D-Link Wireless Routers for Home and Small Business => DIR-842 => Topic started by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 10:42:21 AM

Title: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 10:42:21 AM
Hello,i cant seem to find the 842 model so i hope that the moderator will change it to the right subject ,i recently bought an DIR-842 model and although i can connect to the wifi i dont have internet connection ,although when i go from the modem to the pc directly it works.I think its because i need to "activate" the router through dlinkrouter.local/ but i cant connect to it(maybe because i dont use the router).Thank!
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 10:45:19 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations


If you connect your PC to the router via LAN cable, you should be able to configure the router using it's web page at 192.168.0.1...
Use IE11 or FF browsers for this...
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 10:54:37 AM
I cant really acces the area where the modem is ,my router is DIR-842,i have a cable connection ,and i had a router before and evertything worked fine until it just stoped trasmiting
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 10:59:07 AM
Can you access the 842s web page at 192.168.0.1?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:06:24 AM
No i cant it says "This site canít be reached" ,it can be because i dont use the router at the moment and i connected the modem directly to the pc.I cant use the internet with my router on thats why im doing it like this.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 11:08:44 AM
Ok, you'll need to lan wire connect your PC to the 842 router and then try to connect to the routers web page.

What IP address does your PC currently have when you connect to the ISP modem? 192.168.something or a ##.##.###.###?

You may need to get some in person help with your set up. Do you have a friend, neighbor or family member that can help you set this up?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:13:35 AM
i tried connecting it through router but i cant access the internt so the page wont load.My current ip address is 2a02:2f0e:519f:ffff::4f76:5515 in ipv6 and 79.118.85.21 in ipv4
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 11:25:04 AM
Ok if you can connect to the routers web page then you can get to the routers configuration with your PC when it's connected to the router.

The configuration of the router needs to be connected in the following manor:
ISP modem>LAN cable from ISP modem to Yellow Internet connector behind 842 router<DIR-842>LAN cable connected from black LAN connectors, any one of the empty 4 connectors, to the LAN connector in back of the PC.

I would turn OFF The modem and router and PC when you connect this together. Then turn ON the modem and wait for 1 minute. Then turn ON the DIR-842 router and your PC. Check the IP address you get on the PC when your connected to the 842 router. It should be 192.168.0.Something. You should be able to log in to the 842s web page at 192.168.0.1.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:28:40 AM
Ok ill do that and come back with an update.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 11:32:14 AM
 ;)
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:32:30 AM
i just realized i dont use any modems , aparently im more of an idiot that i thought the internt cable comes from a little box that connects the tv cable and the landine
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 11:36:25 AM
You might contact your ISP provider and have them help you find the correct wire that you need to connect to the DIR router....
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:40:47 AM
that was the wire i was using before and i checked with the provider if the internet is working
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 11:43:16 AM
Let us know the results when you power off everything and set up the DIR router with the ISP services/modem and connect your PC to the DIR router.
You should have internet when this is configured as mentioned in my post.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: altexchi on October 06, 2016, 11:58:22 AM
Well thanks for the help man ,i really appreaciate it ,when i rebouted everything a chrome popped up by its self and asked me to start the setup for the router...:))
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on October 06, 2016, 12:00:10 PM
There ya go.  ;)
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 22, 2018, 11:38:25 AM
Hello,

DIR-842 router, h/w B1, f/w 2.02.
Router configured with static IP adress, home page can be accessed via LAN and WiFi. Home page shows that router is connected to Internet - unfortunately no Internet access.
Which things can be wrong? Please help!
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 22, 2018, 01:01:50 PM
What model is the modem? Is it a router?

Did you replace an old router with this one? If you did, unplug the power to your modem for about 30 seconds and plug it back on. Reboot the router.

Is the globe icon LED light green on the router (2nd light from the left) or is it orange?

Are you getting a public IP address from the home page (click Internet and the IP address listed should be something other than 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x).

What are the DNS servers?

From a device connected, try to ping 4.2.2.2. If you can, you are connected to the Internet. Make sure your clients are getting a DNS server IP address(es).

Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 22, 2018, 01:42:16 PM
Hi, thank you for answer.

Modem Earthlink series - we use fiber service.
Unplugging and rebooting doesn't change situation.
Globe LED is green.
Clicking Internet icon, router has IP adress, mask, gateway, DNS addrs from ISP. IP is static and private - exactly 192.168.70.30. GW 192.168.70.1 . Old TPLink does its job with that.
DNS servers are: main from ISP, second from Google 8.8.8.8
No ping. If modem is switched off - destination unreachable. My laptop configured with static IP (192.168.0.50), GW on LAN side 192.168.0.1

What i can do more?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 22, 2018, 02:08:45 PM
Just to verify, the Internet/WAN IP is 192.168.70.30?

Can you ping 192.168.70.1?

Was the LAN IP address of the TP-Link router 192.168.x.x?

I wonder if the d-link router is not liking the WAN and LAN at those addresses together but they are different subnets and normally work on our other routers.

Maybe try changing the LAN ip of the dlink router to 10.10.10.1 (255.255.255.0), then change your computer to 10.10.10.2 and gateway to 10.10.10.1 and see if that works.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 22, 2018, 10:17:37 PM
Yes.
No....
Yes, 192.168.0.1
For me strange too...
I will try 10.10.10.1 a bit later today.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 22, 2018, 11:11:45 PM
I had tyime and tried now.
No changes. No Internet access(shows internet connected), no ping to 192.168.70.1. And router responds very slowly after restart, sometimes i need retry few times for connection to configuration page. Wtf?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 10:28:04 AM
What model is the modem/ONT?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 11:04:51 AM
Modem is ExtraLink - EXTRALINK JOWISZ ONU EPON 1GE CORTINA CHIPSET http://extralink24.eu/epon-ethernet-passive-optical-network/

TP-Link WRT-1043ND working great (but there are slow Wifi problems over time), laptop connected directly - no problem. What can be wrong with D-Link??
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 11:16:58 AM
What IP address does the TP Link get from the ISP ONT when it's connected and working?
Is the TP-Link set up for automatic DHCP with the ONT? Or using a Static IP address?

Any Mac Cloning on the TPLink or just standard DHCP or Static?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 11:33:56 AM
No MAC address cloning, etc...  Only static IP address 192.168.70.30, mask 255.255.255.0, GW 192.168.70.1. I can replace TPLink with loaptop even without modem restart.
D-Link on configuration page shows that it is Internet connected, but on LAN side and Wifi no Internet service - something wrong is with router itself i think..
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 11:42:31 AM
Do you get Internet with a Ethernet connected PC/laptop thru the DIR router?

What happens if you set DHCP on the DIR router and let it handle IP addressing from the ONT...
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 11:58:31 AM
No Internet on LAN (ethernet)and Wifi side.

Have tried DHCP. Globus LED is flashing, no IP adress, mask, GW, DNS info when clicking Internet info on Home page. After reconfiguring as Static IP all info is present again, router is "Internet connected". But not me.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 12:03:42 PM
Last item, change the WAN port speed on the DIR router from Auto to 100Mb and see if anything changes.

I presume if not, then this router needs to be RMAd and replace.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 12:28:31 PM
 Tried 100Mbps - nothing happened.
So you assume that router should be changed. No extra firmware upgrade, etc., nothing??
Now I'm not sure that i want again go with  D-Link router - 842 or any other... sorry, but on this deal i missed some amount of money - as minimum shipping costs for two sides.
Anyway, thank for your help.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 23, 2018, 12:31:38 PM
The WAN IP address is bothering me. That is a private IP. What is the WAN (Internet) port plugged into?

Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 12:40:42 PM
But thats WAN IP address isn't problem for TP-Link, huh? ISP used some sort of NAT with private addresses - its nothing special nowadays. I expected that D-link device shall be a bit better than TP-Link, but unfortunately...
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 23, 2018, 12:45:46 PM
The "device" that is connected to the WAN port may have the MAC address of the tp-link in memory if it is either registered with the ISP or a modem. Have you tried contacting the ISP?

The D-Link router should work so I feel like it is a setting issue.

You can try downloading the latest firmware for the router and reflash it.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 23, 2018, 12:54:02 PM
Also, try cloning the mac address of your laptop. Reboot the router.  If that doesn't then either the router is defective or has some strange incompatibility issue.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 12:56:29 PM
I would also power OFF the ONT and see if this clears any TPLink MAC addresses. Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router.

One more item to try. IF you have a friend, neighbor or family member hear by with a different ISP set up, maybe with a standard modem, take the DIR router to there place and see if it works there. This will tell you weather or not the DIR router is really bad or not. Need some other ISP testing to see this if possible.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 12:58:20 PM
As i wrote i can connect laptop directly to modem without restarting it and use Internet immediately. Router sees connection to ISP side(green Globus, green connection on Home page, IP address, etc., but it  doesn't route packets between LAN and WAN. Ironic, internal configuration page can be accessed via both methods: LAN and WiFi - so i assume that settings and configuration are in place.
Router already has 2.02 firmware - it is possible that reflashing changes something?
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 01:07:56 PM
What is the result when you open up a cmd window and run tracert to say www.dlink.com
Copy and paste the text info here please.

Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 01:11:57 PM
I would also power OFF the ONT and see if this clears any TPLink MAC addresses. Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router.

One more item to try. IF you have a friend, neighbor or family member hear by with a different ISP set up, maybe with a standard modem, take the DIR router to there place and see if it works there. This will tell you weather or not the DIR router is really bad or not. Need some other ISP testing to see this if possible.

If i power off modem or disconnect WAN cable - on Internet page IP address, mask, GW, DNS are cleared, connection to internet is broken and in red. After reconnection all things are in place, connection is green.
"Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router" - nothing happens.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 01:23:26 PM
What is the result when you open up a cmd window and run tracert to say www.dlink.com
Copy and paste the text info here please.

Do have a friend, family or neighbor you can take the router too and see if it works in a different location?

Only other thing would be to do a factory reset, use IE11 or FF and re-load same FW version again. You can even try this method and get the FW loaded:
Emergency Recovery Mode (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.msg163599#msg163599)

After it's loaded, do a factory reset then this time walk thru the set up wizard and see if it will set up the router for you.

If all this fails, something is wrong with the DIR router. Let us know if you can test it at a different location.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 02:13:42 PM
Ping and tracert - nothing interesting :(:
(https://s18.postimg.org/5axrjzhbd/DLink.png)

I do reflashing, factory reset, wizard - no changes
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 23, 2018, 02:25:58 PM
What region are you located?

Ya something isn't good on the DIR router. I would contact your regional D-Link support office and ask them for an RMA. I don't think taking the router to a different location may help however maybe worth a quick test if you have this option. I would get an RMA started however in mean time.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: VMatas on March 23, 2018, 11:09:48 PM
Poland, Katowice district.
Thank you.
Title: Re: DIR-842
Post by: FurryNutz on March 24, 2018, 12:12:27 PM
Please made contact with your regional D-Link office and asked for an RMA.