D-Link Forums

D-Link IP Cameras for Home => DCS-2630L => Topic started by: BadMojo on January 30, 2016, 11:03:43 AM

Title: Manual Setup
Post by: BadMojo on January 30, 2016, 11:03:43 AM
Love the camera, despise the setup procedure as it fails to work 50% of the time.

Manual setup instructions for the non-lobotomized:


These instructions should be included with the camera, I shouldn't have to figure them out for myself.
Hope this helps somebody else.

-Mojo
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on January 30, 2016, 11:40:51 AM
They are not listed in the user manual?  ???
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: BadMojo on January 30, 2016, 12:31:30 PM
They are not listed in the user manual?  ???

Nope, you get two options: The MyDlink Lite app that failed to register 2/3 cameras, or you get the WPS option (shudder) on pages 10-11 of the user manual. I had to run a discovery to find out the address that D-Link assigns this device for its own private network until you can reconfigure it...

I understand having easy-button instructions for the less-technical, but don't hide the details from those of us that are capable of managing our own devices.

-Mojo
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on January 30, 2016, 12:48:11 PM
Thanks for the feed back.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: jjd on February 19, 2016, 01:39:16 PM
Thank you, BadMojo, for this information.  Automated setup failed for me and this worked fine.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on February 19, 2016, 04:30:26 PM
They are not listed in the user manual?  ???

Uhh, ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF
 (http://ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF) , not in so many words.

Page 10/11.  They really are pushing the QR scan and Dlink cloud router.  I think I mentioned previously there will be a lot of support complaints on setup.

Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: bschamac on March 20, 2016, 01:01:21 PM
BadMojo, thanks for the workaround.  Unfortunately that partial lobotomy must be catching up to me, as I logon to the camera just fine, but when I try either of these things, it all goes south:

     •Configure camera using web interface
     •Connect to wifi network of your choice

I get a "This page can’t be displayed" error after I authenticate on my wireless network.
what am I missing (other than a few brain cells...)

 
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on March 20, 2016, 02:18:24 PM
BadMojo, thanks for the workaround.  Unfortunately that partial lobotomy must be catching up to me, as I logon to the camera just fine, but when I try either of these things, it all goes south:

     •Configure camera using web interface
     •Connect to wifi network of your choice

I get a "This page can’t be displayed" error after I authenticate on my wireless network.
what am I missing (other than a few brain cells...)

I had major issues connecting to hidden SSID network.  Doesn't like it. Had to connect to 2.4 ghz non hidden before it would connect to my now unhidden 5Ghz ssid.

Or at least that's what I remember.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: bschamac on March 20, 2016, 05:54:19 PM
Thanks RYAT -  that was the shove in the right direction that I needed, altho I wouldn't know a hidden SSID if it came up and bit me on the ass. 

After the initial camera connect (to 10.255.255.1), I tweaked the wireless settings (to point to my REAL SSID) and saved.  To figure out what the  IP was, I looked on my modem's 'device' page and found it there.  Boom, I'm connected to my wireless network, and I've also got Blue Iris configured -  awesome.  I'd like to assign a static IP to my cameras, but I'm gonna quit for today.

HUGE thanks to BadMojo, again - I was dead in the water with that damn myDLink applet.   Agreed, DLink should leave the applet to the tech newbs and publish your solution (for 'Manual Configuration').   

BTW, I bought these DLinks to replace a couple of Foscams that gave up the ghost after just two years.  Foscam tech support was 1000% better than D-Link's but their hardware is s***e IMHO.  D-Link phone tech support has ranged from lame to plain wrong (sorry FuzzyNutz, but it's true); fortunately, this forum fills that gap nicely.

Barry
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on June 26, 2016, 02:57:02 PM
I'd like to take back all the talk about Hidden SSID network.

Today, I unhid my 5Ghz SSID's and the 2630l camera still can't connect for BLEEP.  And when it does - it is SUPER slow.  This is with an ASUS RT-AC3200.
Smart Connect is OFF.

It only works well on the 2.4Ghz network.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on June 27, 2016, 06:58:17 AM
What wireless modes and security modes are you using on the 5Ghz side of the main host router?

I'd like to take back all the talk about Hidden SSID network.

Today, I unhid my 5Ghz SSID's and the 2630l camera still can't connect for BLEEP.  And when it does - it is SUPER slow.  This is with an ASUS RT-AC3200.
Smart Connect is OFF.

It only works well on the 2.4Ghz network.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on August 09, 2016, 08:43:45 PM

Just to update this post (I mentioned elsewhere)..

upgrading to the latest F/W fixed all the 5Ghz wireless issues I was having. (Which apparently was unrelated to the hidden SSID.)

Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on August 10, 2016, 06:47:19 AM
Good to hear. Thanks for letting us know. Enjoy.  ???

Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: BAMoh on August 10, 2016, 10:35:20 AM
There is no hidden SSID problem with the cam. I haven't had a single disconnect since I installed it. If you get disconnects its your router IMO.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on August 10, 2016, 12:39:58 PM
There was a 5 ghz problem with hidden ssid in earlier f/w. I figured how could they screw up 5Ghz so I assumed it was the hidden ssid. I eventually unhid the ssid and it was still a problem. Upgraded f/w and no more problems. And it wasn't the router.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: BAMoh on August 10, 2016, 11:49:42 PM
Aight. That be great.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: consumer-bob on August 11, 2016, 01:30:43 AM
I was able to do a firmware update ( DCS-2630L_REVA1_1.03.03.bin ) from Firefox/Windows 7/WiFi SSID DCS-2630L-WXYZ. (The sticker on the bottom of the device had said 1.01. The web interface http://10.255.255.1 had said 1.02.02.)

I was also able to use the web interface to set an admin password, create a user, and perform similar actions.
Firefox was happy to display
and vlc was happy to display

I did change the IP address to be static via the web interface. It didn't always work. I think I noticed that it took effect once when I power-cycled the 2630 after the web interactions, rather than assuming a less complete restart sufficed. (Never got to this point with the phone app.)

However, altering the SSID from DCS-2630L-WXYZ consistently failed, even if the WiFi router was configured to broadcast the 2.4 and 5 GHz SSIDs. (Failed for both browser/laptop and app/phone.) The device seemed to really want to stay on SSID DCS-2630L-WXYZ. This is showstopper issue, since I need the camera on the WiFi established by the Linksys E4200. (I tried both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands via both the phone app and the web browser, with the router maybe 15' away and other devices reporting strong signal strength.)

There's a serious lack of feedback, whether real-time error reporting in dialog boxes, or after-the fact bread crumbs in logs. It would actually be easier to ssh into the device (were one able) and do all the configuration in whatever flavor of Linux is likely under the hood (I've used OpenWRT, Ubuntu, Fedora, ... ).

Maybe the 1.03 firmware is different from what was used when the hints in this thread were first written down. Anyone done it from a device reset with the latest firmware, and able to share all the gory detail?
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: consumer-bob on August 11, 2016, 07:36:50 AM
With respect to what (IPv4) services can be used to configure the device (no ssh):
Quote
nmap -o -v 10.255.255.1

Starting Nmap 6.40 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2016-08-11 10:21 EDT
Nmap scan report for 10.255.255.1
Host is up (0.0035s latency).
Not shown: 995 closed ports
PORT      STATE SERVICE
80/tcp    open  http
443/tcp   open  https
554/tcp   open  rtsp
49152/tcp open  unknown
49153/tcp open  unknown

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 14.35 seconds
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: consumer-bob on August 11, 2016, 07:41:56 AM
The configuration interfaces may be adding an (IPv4) alias rather than replacing an (IPv4) address. When the laptop has the Ethernet pulled out, and is stuck using only the WiFi (to the 2630's SSID), you may be able to browse to both the configured address (192.168....) and the out-of-the-box address (10.255.255.1).

It may not matter to the attempt to alter the 2630's SSID, but it is important context for "understanding" 2630 configuration (attempts).
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: consumer-bob on August 12, 2016, 04:53:30 PM
trying the baby step of shifting the camera to an SSID with no encryption (temporarily done on the Linksys with the intent of turning encryption back on after migrating the camera to the non-factory SSID) did not work.

Since most of my devices are 2.4 GHz, I did this on 5 GHz, to minimize the impact on simultaneous users.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on August 13, 2016, 09:40:46 PM
Consumer Bob--- Are your 2630l's working or not?

I searched for LinkSys in the forums, and that returned only  1 page of results from a while ago.

Visiting LinkSys webpage shows they are attempting to keep up with newer tech.

It might be worth noting which LinkSys system you are dealing with here...   (I've never had a Linksys system).

Only 2 dlink, 1 netgear, 3 asus (my preferred). 


Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: consumer-bob on August 14, 2016, 08:02:32 AM
The Linksys works well with products from: Dell, HP, Apple, Roku, Motorola, Western Digital, Linksys, etc. So, I allocate blame to the d-link camera over the router.

As a result of the camera's desire to stay on the factory SSID, and refusal to migrate to the owner's premises SSID, I've decided to return the d-link camera.

If there's a bug, it should be corrected in the next release. If its just a documentation error, it should be defined and officially published. There does seem to be a real issue, if one looks at the range of user experiences in reviews at various sites (some are lucky and everything works OK, others are frustrated). I have a deep background in operating system and network implementation, as well as product development, in large and small organizations. This just isn't worth my time to investigate further without improved error feedback, whether via dialog boxes, logs, or ssh access to the underlying OS.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: RYAT3 on August 14, 2016, 09:11:44 AM

As a result of the camera's desire to stay on the factory SSID, and refusal to migrate to the owner's premises SSID, I've decided to return the d-link camera.

If there's a bug, it should be corrected in the next release. If its just a documentation error, it should be defined and officially published.

I didn't see any mention of which browser you are using.

Are you using IE11?  Please try that.

You also tried both 2.4 and 5Ghz networks?

Do you have some sort of smart connect enabled with the LInkSys?


Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: BAMoh on August 15, 2016, 01:35:42 AM
trying the baby step of shifting the camera to an SSID with no encryption (temporarily done on the Linksys with the intent of turning encryption back on after migrating the camera to the non-factory SSID) did not work.

Since most of my devices are 2.4 GHz, I did this on 5 GHz, to minimize the impact on simultaneous users.

After setup I went to non broadcast SSID. And I would never consider no encryption. You dont need to take a baby step. Just do it. The cam will not disconnect. Most of the people hare who have problems expect the cam to work on some free DSL modem/router combo they go from some bulls*** vendor like Yahoo or AT&T.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: BAMoh on August 15, 2016, 01:41:27 AM
The Linksys works well with products from: Dell, HP, Apple, Roku, Motorola, Western Digital, Linksys, etc. So, I allocate blame to the d-link camera over the router.

As a result of the camera's desire to stay on the factory SSID, and refusal to migrate to the owner's premises SSID, I've decided to return the d-link camera.

If there's a bug, it should be corrected in the next release. If its just a documentation error, it should be defined and officially published. There does seem to be a real issue, if one looks at the range of user experiences in reviews at various sites (some are lucky and everything works OK, others are frustrated). I have a deep background in operating system and network implementation, as well as product development, in large and small organizations. This just isn't worth my time to investigate further without improved error feedback, whether via dialog boxes, logs, or ssh access to the underlying OS.
Your problems are due to yourself or your router IMO. You should have called support to help with setup. There is no bug. Despite you computer background you are seriously mistaken. 
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: eebclee on November 19, 2016, 12:19:25 PM
Thanks for this info.  I got a DCS-2630L shortly after they came out, and setup was a nightmare.  I just got a second one today, ignoring the manual and following these instructions instead, and setup was trivial.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: zimon on December 18, 2016, 08:33:40 AM
Love the camera, despise the setup procedure as it fails to work 50% of the time.

Manual setup instructions for the non-lobotomized:
...
  • Navigate to 10.255.255.1
  • Login to camera
  • Username admin
  • Password <blank>
  • Configure camera using web interface
  • Connect to wifi network of your choice without having to rely upon MyDlink applet discovery, which seems to fail regularly

After the user+pass I get to the page http://10.255.255.1/m/a/index.html
And there is just two button widgets, one for still camera pics and one for video feed with 1 fps.
Those work, so I get see the camera image either automatically updated (video) or by refreshing the image by clicking the current one (camera).

But from where to get to the configuration settings?
I've tried couple of manual URIs like http://10.255.255.1/setup, /m/a/setup, /m/a/setup.html, and so on, but no luck.
(Also with https it behaves the same.)

H/W Ver: A2, F/W Ver: 1.03

Edit:
I do not know why or how it now started working,
but I tried few other IP-addresses, 10.255.255.XX and after that https://10.255.255.1/ again and now it went to https://10.255.255.1/eng/liveView.cgi where there is a setup-page: [LIVE VIDEO][SETUP][MAINTENANCE][STATUS][HELP]
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on December 19, 2016, 06:57:18 AM
Is this the default IP address coming from the camera or from the main host router? "After the user+pass I get to the page http://10.255.255.1/m/a/index.html"
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: zimon on December 20, 2016, 08:41:09 AM
Is this the default IP address coming from the camera or from the main host router? "After the user+pass I get to the page http://10.255.255.1/m/a/index.html"
Default IP-address is the one the camera keeps when it is acting as WLAN AP, when no re-configured has been done yet.

I searched WLAN APs with an Android tablet. There was "DCS-2630L" (or something), connected to it, got an IP address.
Then randomly guessing the AP-server would have IP-addess 10.255.255.1 and it did.
In Firefox-browser to http://10.255.255.1/ 
It asked user (admin) and password (empty) and then forwarded  to http://10.255.255.1/m/a/index.html, where there is those two widget buttons, for still images and for ~1 fps video stream.


Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on December 20, 2016, 08:47:06 AM
Thank you for confirming this. Seems like this maybe the default factory Ip address for these newer model cameras then.
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: ragheb on December 31, 2016, 01:19:43 AM
Love the camera, despise the setup procedure as it fails to work 50% of the time.

Manual setup instructions for the non-lobotomized:

  • Power on camera
  • Wait for orange blinking light
  • Connect laptop to wifi name printed on the the instruction card
  • Login using the wifi password also printed on the card
  • Open web browser
  • Navigate to 10.255.255.1
  • Login to camera
  • Username admin
  • Password <blank>
  • Configure camera using web interface
  • Connect to wifi network of your choice without having to rely upon MyDlink applet discovery, which seems to fail regularly

These instructions should be included with the camera, I shouldn't have to figure them out for myself.
Hope this helps somebody else.

-Mojo

BadMojo, Great feedback and insight even though it is almost a year later but I just recently got the 2630L.
Is there any possibility of getting from Dlink the ability to access the cam as the one I received had the Quick Install Card missing and the label under the cam removed so I attempted to do the connection via WPS with my router and eventually got it to connect. However, when I try to sign on it forces me to enter the password in the Q-Card and I dont have a way of entering the cam password to connect to it since this info is missing.

I sent Dlink an email to the support team and still waiting but thought let me try another avenue while waiting for their response.

Hope there is a way otherwise IMF... >:( :o

Best regards,
Ragheb
Title: Re: Manual Setup
Post by: FurryNutz on December 31, 2016, 12:10:16 PM
I would try phone support as you'll get more immediate results.

Love the camera, despise the setup procedure as it fails to work 50% of the time.

Manual setup instructions for the non-lobotomized:

  • Power on camera
  • Wait for orange blinking light
  • Connect laptop to wifi name printed on the the instruction card
  • Login using the wifi password also printed on the card
  • Open web browser
  • Navigate to 10.255.255.1
  • Login to camera
  • Username admin
  • Password <blank>
  • Configure camera using web interface
  • Connect to wifi network of your choice without having to rely upon MyDlink applet discovery, which seems to fail regularly

These instructions should be included with the camera, I shouldn't have to figure them out for myself.
Hope this helps somebody else.

-Mojo

BadMojo, Great feedback and insight even though it is almost a year later but I just recently got the 2630L.
Is there any possibility of getting from Dlink the ability to access the cam as the one I received had the Quick Install Card missing and the label under the cam removed so I attempted to do the connection via WPS with my router and eventually got it to connect. However, when I try to sign on it forces me to enter the password in the Q-Card and I dont have a way of entering the cam password to connect to it since this info is missing.

I sent Dlink an email to the support team and still waiting but thought let me try another avenue while waiting for their response.

Hope there is a way otherwise IMF... >:( :o

Best regards,
Ragheb
[/quote]