D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-857 => Topic started by: connormacleod on November 06, 2015, 09:26:17 AM

Title: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 06, 2015, 09:26:17 AM
Hey All,

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this.... I recently upgraded the FW on my DIR-857 to version 1.04 (I don't remember exactly which version it was running before).

Now I get an Error 619 - "A connection to the remote computer could not be established."  when trying to connect to a VPN (running windows 7 pro 64 bit). Never had this issue before FW upgrade, so I think it's related.  I went upnder the advanced networks section to make sure my PPPOE pass thru was enabled... (the user manual also talks about the dire 857 supporting PPTP pass thru), but it seems the option is no longer there under FW version 1.04?

Does anyone know if there's something else I need to enable to restore my ability to connect to VPN's?  I'm tempted to start randomly downgrading FW...  :o

Grateful for any help....
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 06, 2015, 09:31:35 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 09, 2015, 12:31:45 PM
Hi there :)
I'm in canada, my ISP is xplornet, which is an LTE style line of sight tower to received type. similar speeds to older cable (way better than dial up though)

I have a wired connection to the router.

I did not perform a factory reset before doing firmware upgrades, as it seems the PPOE pass through option was removed from the FW upgrade I did.

Do you think that a factory reset would somehow remove the error 619?
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 09, 2015, 03:20:53 PM
It's recommended to do a factory reset before and after doing a FW update always.

I can check y 857 and see if PPPoE is present or not. Not sure why it would be removed as PPPoE is still a protocol used by DSL ISP services.
What browser are you using?

Update: I checked mine and PPPoE is a listed valid protocol in the drop down list.
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 10, 2015, 06:15:23 AM
I'm using firefox as a browser... perhaps I wasn't clear on the PPPoe.  PPPoe is still present under the network setup. But there used to be an option titled "enable PPPoE pass thru", under the advanced network configuration section. (Page 65 of the user manual shows it.)

It was just a little check box, and the section was right between the UPNP and WAN PING sections. It seems to no longer be present in the latest firmware. This is the option I'm looking for to enable my VPN to connect again.

Can you confirm that you don't have this option anymore either?

I'm not sure why it was removed since it still shows in the manual. I'm hoping there's a work around... or i***now what firmware it was last in... I will try downgrading?

grateful for your help
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 10, 2015, 07:00:32 AM
I see, I'll have a look. I presume it maybe gone. Do you remember what version of FW you last saw it in?

How about anything in Application or set up a Virtual Server configuration?
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 12, 2015, 07:41:50 AM
that's the frustrating part. I don't remember what version of the firmware I was last running LOL. I think it was 1.02, but I'm not sure...

but I wonder if setting up a virtual server and opening some ports woudl accomplish the same thing, I will have to do some looking and and see what ports I need to open open on for a VPN.

did you have any luck finding out when the PPPoE pass through option was removed from the advanced networks config page?
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 12, 2015, 08:06:17 AM
Yes Virtual Server should work, or try Port Forward with uPnP disabled. Give VS a try first.

If you feel like it, you can load v1.02 or any of the older FWs and see if it's listed there just to check.
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 13, 2015, 05:48:12 AM
excellent, I will try these steps on the weekend, try virtual server first, then port forward,... if that doesn't work, I will try downgrading the firmware to get that pppoe pass thru option back and see if that fixes the problem.  will report back
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 13, 2015, 06:50:22 AM
Keep us posted.  ;)
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 14, 2015, 08:14:51 PM
well.... now I'm really stumped.  I tried the VS and port forwarding, but no luck.

So I started rolling back the FW, one version at a time, and went all the way back to 1.00...

for each and every FW load, the enable PPPoE pass through is NOT present under the advanced network configuration page.  Which I don't understand, as the manual shows it should be there.. (page 65)...  and I know I had it before I originally upgraded my firmware. So I'm not sure why the previous versions of the firmware on the website don't have this option.

I've written d-link tech support, but they have not responded.

am I missing something?
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: PacketTracer on November 15, 2015, 08:57:42 AM
Hi,

what you probably mean is 'PPTP pass thru' (and not 'PPPoE pass through', which has nothing to do with a PPTP VPN). You'll find the setting under ADVANCED | FIREWALL SETTINGS. See the bottom region called 'APPLICATION LEVEL GATEWAY (ALG) CONFIGURATION' where you have to check 'PPTP'.

That's all if your PPTP client sits inside your LAN and the PPTP server is outside. If it is the other way round, you additionally have to configure a port forwarding for 1723/tcp pointing to the LAN address of your internal PPTP server.

PT
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on November 16, 2015, 06:52:12 AM
Thanks PT!  I did find the setting you mentioned, and I tried enabling it, as well as the port forwarding. No luck. I'm starting to think its not my router at all... Even since I did the FW upgrade this started happening, but I'm thinking something else has changed as well.

I plugged my ISP cable directly into my computer last nite (bypassing the router 100%), disabled windows firewall, and removed AVG antivirus from my PC, and I continue to get an error 691 when trying to connect to the VPN.

I'm begging to suspect my ISP is blocking port 1723 or something that's interfering with my ability to make a VPN connection. 

I think my next step is to try and different PC, bypass the router and see if I still have the same  problem.

but thanks to everyone helped. It seems the router is not the source of the restriction.
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: FurryNutz on November 16, 2015, 07:40:06 AM
Glad you have narrowed it down. Let us know if you get it resolved please.

Good Luck.
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: PacketTracer on November 20, 2015, 10:37:57 AM
Quote
I'm begging to suspect my ISP is blocking port 1723 or something that's interfering with my ability to make a VPN connection.

You could use a sniffer (e.g. WireShark) at your PPTP-client in order to see what happens on the wire. At least you could figure out this way if a TCP connection to the remote port 1723 can be established or not.
Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: connormacleod on December 04, 2015, 06:17:48 AM
Hey Guys, just wanted to say thanks to everyone that helped.
In the end... I managed to get it working but had to use OPEN VPN to make it do so.
I did have to go to the ADVANCED | FIREWALL SETTINGS,  and 'APPLICATION LEVEL GATEWAY (ALG) CONFIGURATION' then check 'PPTP' as well. so thank-you for that suggestion.

It seems there's something about the VPN connection in the windows 7 networking under control panel that was giving me grief... as no matter what i did it refuses to work that way.

 I'm still a bit mystified about that because it was working before. But at least it's working with open VPN now.

thanks again guys

Title: Re: Error 619 connevting to VPN
Post by: PacketTracer on December 04, 2015, 06:35:12 AM
Hi

Quote
In the end... I managed to get it working but had to use OPEN VPN to make it do so.
I did have to go to the ADVANCED | FIREWALL SETTINGS,  and 'APPLICATION LEVEL GATEWAY (ALG) CONFIGURATION' then check 'PPTP' as well. so thank-you for that suggestion.

That's strange because OpenVPN (https://openvpn.net/index.php/open-source/documentation/howto.html) uses TLS over UDP or TCP as the underlying VPN technology and has nothing to do with PPTP. Hence no ALG support for PPTP or any other protocol should be needed.

PT