D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-857 => Topic started by: Dr.Carnage on December 08, 2014, 07:52:46 PM

Title: DIR-857 drops connection daily
Post by: Dr.Carnage on December 08, 2014, 07:52:46 PM
I have had the DIR 857 for 2 years. It started dropping connection about a month ago. I have factory reset this router and configured it per other posts in this forum. Nothing had helped. I have assigned dhcp for all of my devices as well. I have cable through Vyve broadband which is a Cox affiliate. My hardware version is A1 and my firmware is the latest release. Please help me if you have a suggestion. I am close to smashing this overpriced piece of crap.
Title: Re: DIR-857 drops connection daily
Post by: FurryNutz on December 09, 2014, 07:42:15 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

Ok, let see if we can help you from smashing the router. It's a good and solid router as I have had this one since it arrived. Please give feedback to the questions and suggestions so we can better help you to find out whats going on please.



Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0) and Good Neighbour Policy (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10634.0)

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials)

Once you fill in the feedback will go from there. Will help you get it figured out.
Title: Re: DIR-857 drops connection daily
Post by: Dunegoon on December 10, 2014, 11:10:05 AM
Feel free to look at my similar thread (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61196.0)  and add to it if you see anything similar.  I'm thinking my problems are related to the new smartphones we brought home because we had no problems until then.  I'd be interested to know if you have new phones or something related to my troubles.  Besides, of course, the same router part number! :-[
Title: Re: DIR-857 drops connection daily
Post by: FurryNutz on December 10, 2014, 11:28:06 AM
Any status on this?  ???

I have had the DIR 857 for 2 years. It started dropping connection about a month ago. I have factory reset this router and configured it per other posts in this forum. Nothing had helped. I have assigned dhcp for all of my devices as well. I have cable through Vyve broadband which is a Cox affiliate. My hardware version is A1 and my firmware is the latest release. Please help me if you have a suggestion. I am close to smashing this overpriced piece of ****.