D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-815 => Topic started by: TickTickBoom43 on July 28, 2013, 01:11:41 PM

Title: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 28, 2013, 01:11:41 PM
Hello everyone. I know there are probably thousands of topics about this but i need some help. I am trying to port forward cube world and as far as i know i am doing it correctly. Here is a picture of the ports i have forwarded.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/558472_303894916423993_1201335668_n.jpg (https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/558472_303894916423993_1201335668_n.jpg)


The ip is my ipv4 address from ip config. i have the schedule set to always and set to all and port 12345. I also have these ports allowed through windows firewall so i really dont know whats going on. please help!
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 07:23:01 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.



Ensure when you are testing ports that they are actively being used while you scan for port status or you can get false negatives.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 10:48:23 AM
My hardware version is A1 and my firmare version is 1.00 and i am in canada.

I believe i have DSL.
My up and down speed are in this pic: https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/998750_304394133040738_1986570607_n.jpg (https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/998750_304394133040738_1986570607_n.jpg)

i was using google chrome to manage the router, is that a problem?  let me try just going in in firefox.
WAN port speed set to auto.
i did disabe upnp for testing and still nothing

I am running my server while testing to see if the ports are open. Any other ideas? if you need any other pics just tell me.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 11:13:24 AM
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 11:22:54 AM
Sorry to ask but how do i find this out?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 11:28:52 AM
my internet service provider is Xplornet communications i dont know how to find out my mfr and i dont know the model number sorry if i am annoying D:
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 11:31:39 AM
Do you have the 815 connected to a modem unit next to the router or is there a modem box some place? We are attempting to find out the model number so we can determine if your DSL service and modem has a built in router already. This can and does effect how external routers and Port Forwarding work.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 11:32:57 AM
No its not connected to a modem only the router.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 11:41:57 AM
So the 815 is connected to a wall out let then?
Can you look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, is there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field or something different? ie. ##.##.###.###?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 11:46:40 AM
here is a pic https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/972314_304425386370946_752847957_n.jpg (https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/972314_304425386370946_752847957_n.jpg)
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 11:50:10 AM
yes it is in a wall outlet
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 12:02:13 PM
Ok, I was affraid of that, your IP address ON the router is a private 192.168 address string this is why PF is NOT working. You need to get a hold of your ISP and see if they can help you get a public IP address, ##.##.###.### on the 815.

You are in a Link>Double NAT (http://www.practicallynetworked.com/networking/fixing_double_nat.htm) condition currently and PF will not work correctly. How NAT Works (http://cognitiveanomalies.com/cisco-nat-how-nat-works/).
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 12:09:17 PM
so what do i say to them? lol sorry but i am very new at this. how do i go about doing this?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 12:39:44 PM
Ok, I was affraid of that, your IP address ON the router is a private 192.168 address string this is why PF is NOT working. You need to get a hold of your ISP and see if they can help you get a public IP address, ##.##.###.### on the 815.

You are in a Link>Double NAT (http://www.practicallynetworked.com/networking/fixing_double_nat.htm) condition currently and PF will not work correctly. How NAT Works (http://cognitiveanomalies.com/cisco-nat-how-nat-works/).

well looks like i'm screwed. The ony way to fix this is to purchase an extra $9.98 to get a static ip on my router thus negating the double NAT. Is there anything i can do about this??? please?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 12:46:16 PM
You'll need that public IP address to make PF work with this router.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 12:55:40 PM
guess ill just stick to hamachi then D: stupid xplornet
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 01:03:17 PM
If your ISP allows for more then one device on there network and they handle the routing, you could try this:
 Turning a router into an AP. (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0)

If you try this, you don't need to PF or use anything, it will just be a access point and switch as you'll be connected your LAN cable from the wall out let to the LAN port, NOT Internet or WAN port on the 815. You'll need to set up the routers IP address to 192.168.209.3 I think instead of the .50 in the sticky. Use the same IP addresses you posted in the picture. I thinking that if you can get the 815 in a AP mode and get it working as a pass thru, that maybe you won't have to PF.

Can try this if you want to.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 01:23:52 PM
i dont have a second router though so i guess we will just see. Anyway thanks for all your help. I live with my parents so i dont really have veto on all decisions lol. unless that page you linked me doesnt need 2 devices.
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 01:32:00 PM
Doesn't need 2 devices, unless your parents are handling the Modem connection else where? You sure there isn't a modem some place else?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 01:33:39 PM
yep im sure. so do you have a skype we could message on because this is a little slow
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 01:46:25 PM
Doesn't need 2 devices, unless your parents are handling the Modem connection else where? You sure there isn't a modem some place else?

i just read on that article that you do need 2 devices. 1 your going to turn into a access point and the other to be the router. I only have 1 router. I am so lost
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 01:47:56 PM
What happens if you input 192.186.209.1 into a browser? Get anything?

Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 01:49:36 PM
yea it wants me to log in im using the admin for username and no pass but i cant get i?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 01:54:31 PM
What happens if you input 192.186.209.1 into a browser? Get anything?



the password for my router wont work in this window
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 01:57:23 PM
it won't, im just curious if you can connect to something with that address? It should be the ISP modem or router web page. Can you post a screen shot?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:00:02 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1094612_304473296366155_2081997214_o.jpg
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 02:07:51 PM
Ya, theres something there. Modem I presume. Either the ISP or your parents have control. Wish you could get in and see if there is a DMZ. This would help. Ya, your kind of stuck at the moment. Sorry.  :-\
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:09:16 PM
there is a demilitarized zone option in my router is that what you need?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:13:05 PM
i cant log on to that one page but on my router it has a DMZ option here is a pic https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1004669_304477773032374_881412245_n.jpg (https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1004669_304477773032374_881412245_n.jpg)
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 02:15:33 PM
We need access the the DMZ on the modem, not the router.  :-\
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:17:05 PM
So what do i ask the isp to do then?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:21:21 PM
i know we dont have the modem. but i read online that xplornet has the "Master modem" that the routers and everything connect to but only they can access it D: is there a work-around? a program that will let me play with my friends on my game?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 02:24:13 PM
You'll need to have your parents get the static IP address ON the 815 router. No other way around at the moment.  ::)
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:26:16 PM
well were a little low on money so i guess this just isnt going to happen. well thanks anyway. by you were the greatest!!!
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 02:27:55 PM
Well, hope you can find some money when you can. Hope it works out for you later on.

Thanks and have a good after noon.

 ;)
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: TickTickBoom43 on July 29, 2013, 02:31:25 PM
wait before you go!! what isp do you have?
Title: Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on July 29, 2013, 03:50:54 PM
I'm in the USA and have a CABLE ISP service that I have my own stand alone modem and get a public IP address to my router I use.