D-Link Forums

D-Link FAQ => ShareCenter FAQ => Topic started by: JavaLawyer on November 24, 2012, 07:30:28 AM

Title: DNS ShareCenter - Restoring Factory Default Settings
Post by: JavaLawyer on November 24, 2012, 07:30:28 AM
Under certain circumstances, A ShareCenter may have to be reset to the factory default settings. Scenarios that require a factory default reset may include: forgetting the admin password to access the Web UI; clearing all user settings; web UI fails to load; and issue troubleshooting.

Procedure If You Can Access Web UI



Procedure if You Are Unable to Access Web UI

While the ShareCenter is powered-up, press and hold the reset button located on the rear or bottom of the unit for more than 8 seconds.

Note: This option will restore all configuration settings back to the settings that were in effect at the time the ShareCenter was shipped from the factory. Any settings that have not been saved will be lost, including any shares and permissions that you have created. If you are able to access the Web UI and want to save the current configuration settings, use the following procedure (prior to performing the factory reset: DNS ShareCenter - Configuration Settings File (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41866.0)

Note: This procedure should not restore the installed firmware to the factory default version, only the user configurations will be restored to the factory default settings.

Note: This procedure should not impact stored data on the ShareCenter nor current ShareCenter HDD configurations. Always save a full backup of your data prior to performing any factory reset procedure.