D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-615 => Topic started by: marcelo3d on October 02, 2009, 12:26:03 PM

Title: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: marcelo3d on October 02, 2009, 12:26:03 PM
Hi all,

After much fighting with my DIR-615, I took it out of service:
* Wireless network is unreliable. N mode seems to be hunting for the right speed all the time, and transferring little data. I set it to G mode and it is a little better, but still my clients loose packets like crazy. That throws off the corporate VPN client, so can't work with it.
* DHCP is a joke. Sometimes the wireless clients get assigned IPs, sometimes the router refuses to hand them out. I ended using fixed IPs, but that is more work when I go back in the office.

So, as many have done, this goes to the recycle pile. Maybe a FW update will fix it.

Marcelo.-
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: argonman on October 19, 2009, 01:54:17 PM
I've never had any DHCPD issues on my 615 Hardware C1, Firmware 3.11NA.

I can tell you this though..

I have my xBox 360, Wii, and iPhone that all use wireless.  Granted, I have it assign an IP based on the MAC so in essence the address is reserved, but it is gotten via the DHCPD mechanism, not staticly.  I do think the xbox is static but the others are dynamic and definitely work OK I think.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: marcelo3d on October 19, 2009, 04:48:53 PM
After a fresh boot of the router, DHCP will work for a while. After some days, it will not give IPs to wireless hosts. At least in my case.
Did you try N speeds? It seems that it cannot make its mind and keeps hunting for a better rate, but not transterring much data. Setting it to g performs much better.
I can see at least 5 other wireless networks in my neighborhood, so that may confuse it. No other router I had exhibited such problem.
I tried WEP and WPA2. Both behave the same.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: genesis on October 20, 2009, 07:09:20 AM
I have a revision B and I sometime get the DHCP warning when I first boot the computer in the living room, but it is very rare. I used DHCP reservation for all the computers including the laptop and it works fine at N speed. The windows wireless icon reports 300 mpbs and I check the wireless status in the router, which shows also 300 mpbs. The speed will vary but never where I will see a difference. The only time things did not go well was a change in the channel. For some odd reason, channel 8 created a real problem, the wireless speed was slow, disconnect, and other problems. Went back to channel one, and no problems.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: daviddali on October 22, 2009, 07:21:25 AM
mine is rev. b2. the wireless connection of this unit keep dropping recently. the connection to internet very slow, even it shows signal Excellent.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: marcelo3d on October 22, 2009, 07:55:55 AM
I wonder what makes some of the devices work fine and some be useless. Part of it must be the firmware rev. I wish I could go back to 3.01, as 3.11 is much worse (or at least to confirm that feeling).
It may be also related to how "busy" the spectum is. In my case, there are 7 wireless AP I can see. I suspect the DIR is getting confused. The Belkin 11g ($30) I'm currently using has no problem.
Finally, I think this forums are not the place to get the solution to our problem. D-Link support is not reading them, and this is not a configuration issue (I think) and no user will be able to solve it.
My hope is for a firmware update, but is fading rapidly.
I wish I could return mine to the store, but I fought with it for too long, thinking the problems were my fault.
Marcelo.-
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: genesis on October 22, 2009, 05:18:56 PM
there has not been firmware update in a long time. Plus some of dlink equipment is being made by so many different manufacturer, it becomes confusing.

DWA 130 A1 (can't remember)
DWA 130 B1 railink
DWA 130 C1 Realtek (terrible drivers)
DWA 130 D1 (don't know)

....Next???

you can either get the drivers from dlink, but you can also find newer one on the manufacturer website sometime....confusing ???
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: marcelo3d on October 23, 2009, 09:27:28 AM
Here are instructions on how to roll back to 3.01.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=5716.msg49401#msg49401

Thanks gerritv!

I'm back to that version now. I'll post results after it runs for a while.
Marcelo.-
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: marcelo3d on October 23, 2009, 12:57:28 PM
Running 3.01 did not help me. The router would drop the wireless connection for a second or so every 10 minutes. My VPN connection drops. File dowloads stop and may or may not continue.

Back to the Belkin.
M.-
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: wainbee on November 09, 2009, 01:22:14 PM
Here's a way to make the DIR-615-C1 wireless work to get you on the internet.  This isn't a solution for everybody because it works by bypassing some of the new features of this router.

I have a DIR-615 ver.C1. Followed all instructions and used automatic setups to get initialized.  All 4 wired ports worked great but wireless could not connect, or couldn't renew IP address, or established a "weak" connection with no browser connect.

Next, I updated the firmware from 3.01 to 3.11NA.  Finally got a laptop to connect, ran for about an hour, then, when I fired up a second laptop, I was stunned to see the 1st laptop lose signal and the 2nd pick it up.  Then the 2nd laptop lost it's connection and from then on, neither would work together or alone.  Any engineers or software developers that get a sniff of this suspect one thing: bad code in the firmware!

I've spent days on this product and am convinced that the firmware routines for auto channel scan or auto security mode are not fully tested or simply do not work reliably.

Here's what DOES work though!  Force the router to work on a fixed channel and in a fixed security mode.

1.  Choose Manual Wireless Setup
2.  Disable Wi-Fi Protect
3.  Disable Auto Channel Scan - set to CH. 7
4.  Set security mode to WPA-Personal
5.  Set WPA mode to WPA only
6.  Set Cipher to TKIP
Note: no reserved IP addresses, no MAC address filtering or other fancy features employed
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Cheeze Cracker on December 07, 2009, 07:51:46 AM
To those who get X360 drops, are you getting this in your DLINK Statistics > LOGS

Wireless system with Mac address (X360 MAC) disassociate reason 7

?
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: barosebud on December 18, 2009, 07:33:15 AM
"Wainbee" your post worked for me! After working smoothly for several months, our DLink N router quit working reliably. My husband's Dell laptop (Win7) and my Macbook Pro (10.6.2 - Snow Leopard), on our wireless home network, slow to a stop and dropped internet connections right and left. I stumbled on this forum after days of resetting/reinstalling and testing a myriad of different settings on both laptops and router.  I tried these settings and we can both connect with awesome signal strength, opening multiple webpages without a glitch or slowdown. No drops or lag.

Thanks!

Next I'm headed to my studio in the basement to test my signal strength!
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: oneny on December 18, 2009, 11:05:45 AM
for those of you looking for a FW update,there is 3.12 beta version on dlink's ftp site(Canadian one)
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: hrbanana on December 20, 2009, 09:05:30 PM
I've been running more or less stable for over a week with wainbee's settings except for using WPA2/AES & Ch. 8. I did disable the SPI firewall. I'm using H/W C1 & F/W 3.11NA. It is a pity that default settings are so unstable.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Sincere1 on December 25, 2009, 09:27:41 AM
Thank you Wainbee!  After much dealing with D-Link tech support and nearly a month long delay while exchanging my "defective" unit for a "good" one, I tried your solution while on hold with D-Link tech support today.  I connected immediately!  The first time was as "unsecured", then I promptly turned on security (WPA2 only and AES only), entered a simple security key in the DIR and my laptop, connected again.  I've now gone the next step to a full 63 character key.  I did not disable the SPI firewall.  
THANK YOU!

When the D-Link tech came back on line, I gave him the info and pointed him to this forum.  He read your post, and said he would pass it on, and understood that they need to fix the bug (also that a simple patch could set the default option to "disabled" for now).

BTW: I already had connectivity to my D-Link DSL-2640B modem/wireless router.  I am implementing a two router network, so I can have my young adult son be in the first network (he takes more security risks than I'm comfortable with), then my two machines (desktop & wireless laptop) will be behind the second router (network), protected from the bad things he might let in!  After implementing Wainbee's solution, my laptop easily connected to the DIR-615 in spite of a very strong signal coming from the DSL-2640B (which I will now disable).

Merry Christmas all!!
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: hrbanana on December 26, 2009, 01:07:58 PM
wainbee, have you been able to try the WPA2/AES security settings on your box? From the spec, the router will default to 54g speeds unless WPA2/AES is used.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: teto on December 30, 2009, 12:57:35 PM
Here's a way to make the DIR-615-C1 wireless work to get you on the internet.  This isn't a solution for everybody because it works by bypassing some of the new features of this router.

I have a DIR-615 ver.C1. Followed all instructions and used automatic setups to get initialized.  All 4 wired ports worked great but wireless could not connect, or couldn't renew IP address, or established a "weak" connection with no browser connect.

Next, I updated the firmware from 3.01 to 3.11NA.  Finally got a laptop to connect, ran for about an hour, then, when I fired up a second laptop, I was stunned to see the 1st laptop lose signal and the 2nd pick it up.  Then the 2nd laptop lost it's connection and from then on, neither would work together or alone.  Any engineers or software developers that get a sniff of this suspect one thing: bad code in the firmware!

I've spent days on this product and am convinced that the firmware routines for auto channel scan or auto security mode are not fully tested or simply do not work reliably.

Here's what DOES work though!  Force the router to work on a fixed channel and in a fixed security mode.

1.  Choose Manual Wireless Setup
2.  Disable Wi-Fi Protect
3.  Disable Auto Channel Scan - set to CH. 7
4.  Set security mode to WPA-Personal
5.  Set WPA mode to WPA only
6.  Set Cipher to TKIP
Note: no reserved IP addresses, no MAC address filtering or other fancy features employed


Thank you!!
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Semesa2 on December 31, 2009, 06:07:28 PM
wainbee,

Your config worked for me as well.  I use the DIR 615C as an inexpensive Wireless N access point for my network (roku HD XR, laptops), so I am not missing the networking features.  Thanks for publishing your solution!

Semesa2
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: MnemonicMonkey on January 11, 2010, 09:14:51 PM
I've been having the same DHCP issues with my router.  All my wireless clients were having trouble connecting any more than a couple days after restarting the router.  Tonight I actually had time to chase this down and sure enough, assigning a manual IP cleared everything right up.

I have a C revision running 3.01 and had already tried manual channel select (see below on selecting channels) and manual WPA/TKIP.  Tonight I disabled WPS and switched back to WPA2.  We'll see if WPS is the real culprit and go from there.  If not, I'll update firmware (though nothing is mentioned in the changelog about DHCP) and go back to WPA.

A note on selecting channels:  (speaking for the US here) Only channels 1,6, and 11 are truly clear channels.  If you look at the frequency list, you'll see that since channels are 20 MHz wide (10 up and 10 down), these three channels are the only three that won't overlap any.  So if your neighbors are like mine and are all preconfigured on channel 6, you should use 1 or 11.  Using 5 or 8 isn't going to do you much good.  There's a good tutorial here: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/14250 (http://www.dslreports.com/faq/14250)
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: caper_26 on January 14, 2010, 08:20:45 AM
for those of you looking for a FW update,there is 3.12 beta version on dlink's ftp site(Canadian one)

where exactly?  Can't seem to find it.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: caper_26 on January 18, 2010, 07:45:03 AM
To those who get X360 drops, are you getting this in your DLINK Statistics > LOGS

Wireless system with Mac address (X360 MAC) disassociate reason 7

?

I had reason 8 for my Wii, log was filled with those entries.  No idea what it means.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: freeborn on March 02, 2010, 12:50:07 AM
Hi guys, just registered to share my experience.
I have Firmware Version : 4.00 ,  Wed 22 Oct 2008 , i had a lot of wireless problems with it , when i turned on my Dell never been able to access the internet ,  but i was able to log in to the router (192.168.0.1) , sometimes the connection was  dropping off, not disconnected , just not able to use the network . Always needing to restart it .
 My problem was fixed when i updated my network card Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG to the latest driver .
Maybe this post will help some unsatisfied D-link owners.  ;)

    Sorry guys it was working for some hours , but now its happening the same thing  :'( . to bad , dlink supposed to be good quality 

Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: smlunatick on March 04, 2010, 11:22:08 AM

dlink supposed to be good quality 


Sorry, but not within the past few years!!  I am in the process of dumping a DIR-628 (A2) that replaced my unreliable DIR-615 (B1) router.  D-Link is "flooding" the stores with bugging routers and make no attempt to provided a "viable" firmware process. 
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: skogmannen on March 18, 2010, 12:26:22 PM
Here's what DOES work though!  Force the router to work on a fixed channel and in a fixed security mode.

1.  Choose Manual Wireless Setup
2.  Disable Wi-Fi Protect
3.  Disable Auto Channel Scan - set to CH. 7
4.  Set security mode to WPA-Personal
5.  Set WPA mode to WPA only
6.  Set Cipher to TKIP
Note: no reserved IP addresses, no MAC address filtering or other fancy features employed


Thank youuuuu! This solved the issue with my DIR-615 D1, FW 4.11!  ;D
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: JACrazy on March 26, 2010, 07:39:29 PM
where exactly?  Can't seem to find it.
its out of beta now, go here: http://dlink.ca/products/?tab=3&pid=DIR-615&rev=DIR-615_revC (http://dlink.ca/products/?tab=3&pid=DIR-615&rev=DIR-615_revC)
choose your country (or select Canada), go to firmware, scroll down and find v3.12
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: san on March 27, 2010, 10:10:08 AM
Hey

Please try to upgrade firmware. Download from Dlink website. 2 weeks before, I installed new firmware in router and since then there is no problem
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 07, 2010, 09:43:53 PM
I'm on my 2nd DIR-615.  The first one I had for almost a year with no problems and then all of a sudden I'd have to reboot it every couple of days or I wouldn't be able to reconnect to it when I restarted my laptop.  Even going to FW version 3.11NA didn't help and that was the most current at the time.  It tried a couple of other routers but found them to be much slower on throughput so I broke down and bought a new DIR-615.  The new one was fine for a month or so until it too started to develop the problem where I could get a radio link but no IP address.  I just updated to 3.12NA tonight, we'll see if reliability improves.  I got a Linksys 120N as a stopgap but its way too slow to be acceptable.  Returning it tomorrow...
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 08, 2010, 07:34:51 AM
Well, the Linksys is boxed up and going back to the store.  I ended up putting 3.12NA on both of my DIR-615 units. What did I have to lose?  Unit A (the old one) has been back in service for about 12 hours now and hasn't had any of the previous reconnect issues.  I remember when I flashed it to 3.11NA that the problems showed up right away.  I'll try to get a few more updates in over the next few days and weeks.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 08, 2010, 09:46:54 PM
24hrs in and the new firmware is holding up great.  Throughput has been lightning quick like before and I haven't had any connection failures since I upped the firmware.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 09, 2010, 08:01:10 PM
48 hrs in, still golden.  No reconnect problems in sight, no lag on the throughput.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 15, 2010, 06:54:44 AM
One week in and the new firmware has been flawless.  It back to working how it should...invisibly.  Boot the laptop up and it has an IP address before I even get my browser running.  None of this "limited connectivity" crap on network re-entry.  No connection problems all week.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: sparkybc on May 21, 2010, 12:56:30 PM
Firmware is still junk. Drops wifi signal as usual.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 25, 2010, 04:15:15 AM
More than 3 weeks into the new firmware now and the router has been stable the whole time requiring zero reboots and showing no lag buildup.  We have multiple wireless devices in the house all doing network entry and re-entry and no problems to this point...
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: sparkybc on May 25, 2010, 08:14:10 AM
I ran the new firmware since it came out! It could work fine for a week than have it's little episodes. Hard wired always worked even though wifi would drop out.

I got rid of dlinks firmware and went to open source DD-WRT. Works great and no wifi drop outs go figure..
DD-WRT gives you more control over a variety of settings as well.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on May 26, 2010, 04:29:09 AM
DD-WRT runs on the 615? Can you post up a link?
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Skello on May 27, 2010, 12:44:05 AM
DD-WRT runs on the 615? Can you post up a link?

Depends on the hardware version (revision). Some revisions have official builds released for them, like C1, C2, D2, E3, E4, while others like the European D1, D3, D4 versions work with generic or hacked builds. There are reports of D1 working with both a hacked DD-WRT build for DIR-600 as well as the D2 build.

Go to http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database type DIR-615 and if you have one of the officially supported revisions get the builds from there. The installation instructions are the same as for DIR-600 and are available at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR-600#Installation_Instructions

You could also try the latest dev builds for DIR-615 (released two days ago) from:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/05-25-10-r14573/dlink-dir615c1/ - H/W Ver. Cx
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/05-25-10-r14573/dlink-dir615d/ - H/W Ver. Dx
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/05-25-10-r14573/dlink-dir615e/ - H/W Ver. Ex

Good luck and post back how it worked out for future reference.

PS: Fortunately if you mess it up, restoring the factory firmware on this model is dead simple. Follow the instructions here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR-600#Alternate_Install_Method_using_Emergency_Room_Web_Interface and use the latest D-Link .bin for your revision.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: a25105 on May 27, 2010, 04:47:32 PM
Hi Skello,

I tried the firmware from the ftp site for my E1 router but it failed and won't except the factory-ddwrt firmware.  I also tried the one from http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database previously with same result.  Anyone out there have better luck with their E1 routers?
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Skello on May 28, 2010, 12:49:23 AM
Hi Skello,

I tried the firmware from the ftp site for my E1 router but it failed and won't except the factory-ddwrt firmware.  I also tried the one from http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database previously with same result.  Anyone out there have better luck with their E1 routers?

Well, E1 is not officially supported by DD-WRT, and if ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/05-25-10-r14573/dlink-dir615e/dir615e-factory-to-ddwrt-firmware.bin failed to flash, then you might be out of luck. Any error message?

You could, at your own risk (and I cannot emphasize this enough), try flashing it from the Emergency Room Web Interface.

!!!BE ADVISED, THIS COULD BRICK YOUR DEVICE!!!

To access the Emergency Room Web interface follow these steps:
1. Unplug the router's power cord and wait 20 seconds.
2. Get a pin, push the RESET button and KEEP IT PRESSED.
3. Connect the power cord back (while still keeping the reset button pressed)
4. Keep the reset button pressed for an additional 5 seconds after connecting power cord and then release. At this point you should see the power button blinking orange.
5. Connect over a wired connection to the router and set your network adapter IP MANUALLY to 192.168.0.2
6. Open http://192.168.0.1 in a browser. You should see a white page with a Browse and Upload button.

If the DD-WRT flash works, reboot your router and set your ethernet adapter to obtain IP automatically then try to access http://192.168.0.1 or http://192.168.1.1 .

If it fails, reboot the router and use the same procedure to flash the original D-Link firmware. Get it from: ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir615_revE/Firmware/dir615_revE_fw_500NA.zip
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: a25105 on May 28, 2010, 05:49:04 PM
Hi Skello,

First of all, thanks for your help & is greatly appreciated.  The error that I got when I tried to upload the firmware simply said upload failed and the upload file might not be correct.  I guess I will wait until this E1 router is fully supported because I don't want to brick my router right now. (Thanks for your warning:))

Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: stonetownmike on May 28, 2010, 05:54:06 PM
The error that I got when I tried to upload the firmware simply said upload failed and the upload file might not be correct.

What browser are you using to try to update the firmware? Some users have been getting error messages if they don't use Firefox.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: a25105 on May 28, 2010, 07:34:47 PM
I was using Firefox but also tried using IE 8 with no luck.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: Perihelion on June 06, 2010, 09:36:52 PM
One month into the new firmware now and haven't had to reset the router once. Not a single dropped connection or problem with network reentry on any of our devices.  That's a new record at our house.
Title: Re: DIR-615 C wireless is not reliable
Post by: nikonous on June 07, 2010, 10:51:26 PM
Worked great for a few weeks after the firmware update then back to the same old situation. Have to reboot the router every few days. I think I'd rather go back to my wireless B router. Sorry DLink but I'm done with this and your company. Don't have time to wait for you to fix this.