D-Link Forums

D-Link IP Cameras for Home => DCS-2630L => Topic started by: Sgbdk on April 24, 2019, 12:26:33 AM

Title: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: Sgbdk on April 24, 2019, 12:26:33 AM
I have registered my dcs-2630 in mydlink Home app under my home wifi. Now I want to use the camera in another location and under a different wifi network. Do i need to reset and setup the camera all over again? I do not have wps enable on my mesh router.

Can someone advice me what to do?
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: FurryNutz on April 24, 2019, 07:34:57 AM
You would need to get the camera connected to the new network wifi SSID. If you know the SSID and PW, you could pre-set the new SSID name and PW on the camera using it's web page. Save settings then power OFF the camera. Place at new location and it should connect to the new network wifi. If this fails then you'll need to reset the camera and walk thru the setup wizard with mydlink mobile app on a phone or pad.
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: GreenBay42 on April 24, 2019, 07:35:24 AM
You can log into the web UI on the camera and change the WiFi network (Setup > Router Connection)

Manual (page 28) - ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF (ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF)
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: Sgbdk on April 24, 2019, 01:58:10 PM
You would need to get the camera connected to the new network wifi SSID. If you know the SSID and PW, you could pre-set the new SSID name and PW on the camera using it's web page. Save settings then power OFF the camera. Place at new location and it should connect to the new network wifi. If this fails then you'll need to reset the camera and walk thru the setup wizard with mydlink mobile app on a phone or pad.

Thank you for taking the time to assist.. so if the camera is registered and setup on the previous network. I have to login to the web page to input the new ssid name and pw , save it before i can power up the camera at the new location? Or can i power up the camera at the new location, login to the webpage to input?
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: Sgbdk on April 24, 2019, 02:01:38 PM
You can log into the web UI on the camera and change the WiFi network (Setup > Router Connection)


Manual (page 28) - ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF (ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/DCS-2630L/REVA/DCS-2630L_REVA_MANUAL_1.00_EN_US.PDF)

Thanks.. is this step need to be done at the old location first or i can do it at the new location after powering up the camera?

Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: GreenBay42 on April 24, 2019, 02:21:38 PM
If you know the SSID and password of the new network, you can set it up on the old network. As soon as you click save settings your camera will disconnect from your network. Wait about 1-2 minutes and unplug the power. You should be able to bring it to the new location and just plug it in.
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: Sgbdk on April 24, 2019, 04:37:15 PM
If you know the SSID and password of the new network, you can set it up on the old network. As soon as you click save settings your camera will disconnect from your network. Wait about 1-2 minutes and unplug the power. You should be able to bring it to the new location and just plug it in.
If you know the SSID and password of the new network, you can set it up on the old network. As soon as you click save settings your camera will disconnect from your network. Wait about 1-2 minutes and unplug the power. You should be able to bring it to the new location and just plug it in.

Noted.. many many thanks
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: FurryNutz on April 25, 2019, 06:31:47 AM
Let us now how it goes...  ;)
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: Sgbdk on April 26, 2019, 06:49:25 PM
Let us now how it goes...  ;)

I tried to use my mobile phone to access mydlink.com to change the camera setting but was unable to do so as the mydlink plugin was not supported on mobile phone browser.

Took the camera to the new location, use my laptop to access mydlink.com. realised that my dlink.com plugin does not get detected in firefox browser. Tried chrome browser and able to install the plugin but could not get the live camera feed to be displayed or configurate any setting.

In the end.. had to reset the camera and do the setup procedure all over again at the new location
Title: Re: Already setup and registered dcs-2630 but wish to move to another network
Post by: FurryNutz on April 26, 2019, 07:42:21 PM
You first needed to access the cameras web page with a PC and web browser at the original location and make changes that way, then take to the new location.
Glad you got it working anyways.

Enjoy.  ;)