D-Link Forums

D-Link Network Storage => DNS-343 => Topic started by: GamingActivity on March 05, 2019, 08:02:04 AM

Title: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: GamingActivity on March 05, 2019, 08:02:04 AM
Hello,

I recently received a DNS 343 but I do not know how it is working. I did some research on Internet but I did not find what I am looking for, I don't if it does not exist or did not use the correct words.

I would like to make my DNS a storage accessible from my home network (wifi/ethernet) and if it is possible from anywhere on the world.

If you could help me, I would really appreciate your help,
Thank you.
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: FurryNutz on March 05, 2019, 08:09:53 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49573.0)


What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Making the DNS accessible from anywhere in the work is not advisable currently:
Please review - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74596 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74596)
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: GamingActivity on March 05, 2019, 08:24:50 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49573.0)

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=47512.0) version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Making the DNS accessible from anywhere in the work is not advisable currently:
Please review - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74596 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74596)

Thank you for your quick answer.

I am not sure if it is what you want but I think the hardware version is A1.
The firmware is up to date, that-is-to-say version 1.05.
What do you mean by region ? (Continent, country, ...)

I do not understand what you mean by mfr and I have wireless service provider routeur which is a NB6 one.

Are you sure about that because someone told me that it is possible ?
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: GreenBay42 on March 05, 2019, 08:31:07 AM
For remote access - http://support.dlink.ca/FAQView.aspx?f=uGZmW63guhz27BG7QLKYIg%3d%3d (http://support.dlink.ca/FAQView.aspx?f=uGZmW63guhz27BG7QLKYIg%3d%3d)

To set up your DNS-343 as a FTP server - https://support.dlink.com/FAQView.aspx?f=HbPHx4eq6YjkEM%2b9%2bMW%2fDQ%3d%3d (https://support.dlink.com/FAQView.aspx?f=HbPHx4eq6YjkEM%2b9%2bMW%2fDQ%3d%3d)

Some D-Link NAS devices can and have been infected with Ransomware so make sure you have the latest firmware installed on your NAS before exposing it to the Internet. Also, make sure you backup your files to another source just in case.
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: FurryNutz on March 05, 2019, 08:34:04 AM
If you do setup the suggested remote access. PLEASE DO NOT EVER PUT THE DNS INTO YOUR ROUTERS DMZ!!!  >:(

Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: GamingActivity on March 05, 2019, 08:43:05 AM
For remote access - http://support.dlink.ca/FAQView.aspx?f=uGZmW63guhz27BG7QLKYIg%3d%3d (http://support.dlink.ca/FAQView.aspx?f=uGZmW63guhz27BG7QLKYIg%3d%3d)

To set up your DNS-343 as a FTP server - https://support.dlink.com/FAQView.aspx?f=HbPHx4eq6YjkEM%2b9%2bMW%2fDQ%3d%3d (https://support.dlink.com/FAQView.aspx?f=HbPHx4eq6YjkEM%2b9%2bMW%2fDQ%3d%3d)

Some D-Link NAS devices can and have been invested with Ransomware so make sure you have the latest firmware installed on your NAS before exposing it to the Internet. Also, make sure you backup your files to another source just in case.

Thank you for the information I will look at it. I have the last firmware according to the dlink website but should I find one made by the community if it exists ?

If you do setup the suggested remote access. PLEASE DO NOT EVER PUT THE DNS INTO YOUR ROUTERS DMZ!!!  >:(



Just few people will access it so I sould not have problems, however does security protocol exist in order to prevent any attack ?
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: FurryNutz on March 05, 2019, 09:21:22 AM
This is the last version available for this model:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48346.0
 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48346.0)

Aside from using a routers access control or a firewall appliance device, not much exists to protect NAS. You should be ok if your DNS is up to date and you already have the main host routers firewall enabled. Most of the problems came from users having DNS with old FW loaded and installed in there routers DMZ.  ::)
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup
Post by: GamingActivity on March 06, 2019, 01:27:36 AM
Thank you all I successfully set up my DNS as a FTP and it is accessible on Internet.
Title: Re: DNS 343 network setup (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on March 06, 2019, 06:37:05 AM
Enjoy.  ;)