D-Link Forums

D-Link Wireless Routers for Home and Small Business => DIR-878 => Topic started by: cyrusct82 on February 06, 2019, 10:41:11 AM

Title: IPv6 and PPPoE (RESOLVED) EU Region Only!
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 06, 2019, 10:41:11 AM
I've bought a few days ago DIR-878.
The only problem i have with it is IPv6.
The router gets the IPv6 address from my ISP but it doesn't give access to devices on network.
If i take out the cable from router and connect it directly to my computer, fill in the username and password for PPPoE my IPv6 works good. Here are some screenshots https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=17FbxRjnp7J3590-A134WRNMmu-UQwGyY
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 06, 2019, 12:20:54 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49573.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

How is the IPv6 settings configured on the router? Auto Detect or other settings in the UI? I would ask your ISP on what IPv6 modes they support on routers and set them accordingly.

Try setting Local Only and then ensure the ULA buttons are enabled then test to see if a PC gets an IPv6 address.
Ensure your PCs and devices have IPv6 enabled as well on them.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 06, 2019, 12:31:40 PM
Please see the pictures in the link.
The settings for IPV6 I've tried everything: Autodetection, PPPoE share with IPV6. Nothing works
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 06, 2019, 01:58:38 PM

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

What happens if you enable DHCP Always Broadcast and Disable DNS Relay?
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 06, 2019, 09:02:46 PM
I'm from Romania.
I have a fiberlink connexion to a Huawei GPON HG8240H.
ISP is DIGI Romania.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 06, 2019, 09:08:07 PM
I've enabled DHCP Always Broadcast and  disabled DNS Relay but still no luck.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 07, 2019, 06:35:04 AM
Your GPON has a built in router I believe...

If this fails to get IPv6 working for you, I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?board=635.0)
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 07, 2019, 08:27:31 AM
My modem is bridged from the time ISP installed it.
My ip address now is something like 5.14.***.***
The problem is from the router. In the reviews from the store where i bought it, others have the same problem with ipv6. Only one says that has solved the problem with some manual settings because the firmware is faulty. I've asked if can help but for now i didn't get any response from him.
I've wrote also to D-LINK support also but i have no answer for now.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 07, 2019, 08:29:03 AM
Can you downgrade to v1.10?

Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 07, 2019, 08:34:57 AM
I've downgraded but still no luck.

I'm thinking to change it with other manufacturer like Tp-link or Asus as I've read that other routers works with connection like mine.
I've liked this one because of price/performance.
Or to change the firmware with DD-WRT, but I'm not very convinced because I've heard that it is not stable.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 07, 2019, 08:36:29 AM
Ok, I've asked someone from D-Link to review this.

In mean time you could migrate to WRT and see if that works for you. You can always revert back to D-Link stock FW.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 07, 2019, 08:41:36 AM
Ok thanks.
I'll try WRT to see how goes.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: mtztraktoros on February 07, 2019, 11:45:29 PM
Hi,
Please try the following FW:
https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DUSA20181221000001/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B01_Beta_ipv6_default_gateway_20181224(1225160707).zip

The RDS/DIGI has always specific ipv6 metric.
Just let us know its helped or not.
thanks
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 08, 2019, 03:28:27 AM
Hi,
Please try the following FW:
https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DUSA20181221000001/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B01_Beta_ipv6_default_gateway_20181224(1225160707).zip

The RDS/DIGI has always specific ipv6 metric.
Just let us know its helped or not.
thanks

I've tried it but ipv6 is not working. everything is like before the new firmware.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: cyrusct82 on February 12, 2019, 05:51:04 AM
I've returned it to the seller.
Bought an Asus. I've selected only "native" in IPv6 menu and that was all.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 12, 2019, 06:39:06 AM
Thanks for letting us know. Good Luck.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 13, 2019, 09:13:24 AM
Hello. I have exactly the same issue with my 878 on RCS/RDS provider in Romania. Any news on the subject how to solve it. Thank you.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 13, 2019, 10:16:49 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49573.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Can you try this version of FW?
https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DUSA20181221000001/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B01_Beta_ipv6_default_gateway_20181224(1225160707).zip (https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DUSA20181221000001/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B01_Beta_ipv6_default_gateway_20181224(1225160707).zip)
Hello. I have exactly the same issue with my 878 on RCS/RDS provider in Romania. Any news on the subject how to solve it. Thank you.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 13, 2019, 10:27:28 AM
I have the 1.12B01 installed. I will try this beta version and reply as soon as I install it.
I see it didn't help in the previous case with this same issue but I will give it a try.
Thank you.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 13, 2019, 10:34:50 AM
I've forgot to mention that I have a Fiberlink 300 connection at DIGI - RCS/RDS provider in Romania.
I have a GPON Huawei EchoLife HG865.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 13, 2019, 12:05:38 PM
Does this GPON have a built in router by chance?

I've forgot to mention that I have a Fiberlink 300 connection at DIGI - RCS/RDS provider in Romania.
I have a GPON Huawei EchoLife HG865.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 13, 2019, 09:36:52 PM
The GPON is set on bridge mode by the ISP.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 14, 2019, 06:56:11 AM
Ok thank you for confirming this.
Please let us know if the linked version helps or not. If not, i'll be sure to pass this on to D-Link for review...
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 14, 2019, 01:12:11 PM
I have tried the file on the router and still no luck. The IPv6 doesn't work on any device. The router is getting an IPv6 address and all info looks ok on the administration page.
Thank you for everything and I hope that the guys from D-Link will solve it in the near future.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 15, 2019, 06:49:54 AM
I passed this on to D-Link for review.
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. Please reference this forum thread as well.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?board=635.0)
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

I have tried the file on the router and still no luck. The IPv6 doesn't work on any device. The router is getting an IPv6 address and all info looks ok on the administration page.
Thank you for everything and I hope that the guys from D-Link will solve it in the near future.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on February 15, 2019, 02:40:54 PM
Thank you for everything. I will contact D-Link and I will let you know how it went.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on February 15, 2019, 03:19:16 PM
 ;)
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: mtztraktoros on March 08, 2019, 03:31:03 AM
Hi,

Please try the following fw:
https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DEUR20190227000005/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B03_Beta_for_ipv6_issue_20190307(0307182843).zip
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on March 08, 2019, 06:39:24 AM
Please give this a try:

Hi,

Please try the following fw:
https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DEUR20190227000005/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B03_Beta_for_ipv6_issue_20190307(0307182843).zip (https://dtrack.dlink.com.tw/file/case/DEUR20190227000005/2/1/DIR878A1_FW1.20B03_Beta_for_ipv6_issue_20190307(0307182843).zip)

Thank you for everything. I will contact D-Link and I will let you know how it went.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: Domhu on April 03, 2019, 09:29:10 AM
Today the Taiwan D-Link support give me the fix for the ipv6 problem.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on April 03, 2019, 09:45:31 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49573.0)


Please do not post links to 3rd party sites for firmware files.
Was this a beta they gave to you? What version is it?

Let wait for D-Link to officially post the fixed file on there site.

Thank you.

Today the Taiwan D-Link support give me the fix for the ipv6 problem.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: Domhu on April 03, 2019, 09:55:48 AM
Hello.

Sorry for the third party URL. But I'm so happy afther 3 months e-mail discutions today they connect with Team Viewer in My Computer.

I have 1.20 firmware from them.
I'm located in Romania.
They gave me 3 betas, but the last one it works.
The last that they build today is in that third party link.

Sorry again for the link.
https://imgur.com/3PgHGFe
https://imgur.com/QHh38CJ
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on April 03, 2019, 10:01:15 AM
Good to hear. Glad they seem to fix it.

Please let them know that other users are seeing this issue and to please post the fixes for there region and let head quarters know as well. Other regions maybe effected and would need this fix. Other regions would need to review and release there regional FW.  ::)

Thank you.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: FurryNutz on April 03, 2019, 01:24:33 PM
Let us know how things are going. Sounds like a fix is available in your region.

Thank you for everything. I will contact D-Link and I will let you know how it went.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE
Post by: alexrbs on April 14, 2019, 11:04:45 AM
On the official page of D-Link I found this new official beta firmware that solved my problem with the IPV6.
The file is:
FW for IPv6 1.20beta03
and the link is on the official D-Link support page:
https://eu.dlink.com/ro/ro/products/dir-878-exo-ac1900-mumimo-wifi-router (https://eu.dlink.com/ro/ro/products/dir-878-exo-ac1900-mumimo-wifi-router)
Now the router works very well on IPV6 with RCS/RDS provider.

Thank you for everything.
Title: Re: IPv6 and PPPoE (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on April 15, 2019, 06:43:44 AM
Glad the new update fixes it. Thank you for letting us know.

Enjoy.  ;)

On the official page of D-Link I found this new official beta firmware that solved my problem with the IPV6.
The file is:
FW for IPv6 1.20beta03
and the link is on the official D-Link support page:
https://eu.dlink.com/ro/ro/products/dir-878-exo-ac1900-mumimo-wifi-router (https://eu.dlink.com/ro/ro/products/dir-878-exo-ac1900-mumimo-wifi-router)
Now the router works very well on IPV6 with RCS/RDS provider.

Thank you for everything.