D-Link Forums

D-Link IP Cameras for Home => DCS-8000LH => Topic started by: ricardo.halfeld on August 17, 2018, 02:45:24 PM

Title: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: ricardo.halfeld on August 17, 2018, 02:45:24 PM
Greetings to all!

These little cameras are great for monitoring, but I'm disappointed that they do not allow SD recording and don't have the web interface I've come to like in other DCS cameras. There's a workaround for the lack of web interface, so that's all good.

I have a DNR-202L with 4 recording channels that I'd like to try to use with them. The DCS-8000LH isn't shown in the supported camera list, but maybe there's a workaround... you guys seem very good at finding workarounds. :)

I've noticed using a few other model settings seem to load the video stream ok, but I can't seem to get them to trigger the recording. Any ideas?
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: GreenBay42 on August 17, 2018, 02:57:55 PM
Unfortunately this camera will not work with any NVR device. I really wished they kept support for it since there is no SD card slot.  I honestly have not heard of any workarounds. The 2.xx firmware closed http/rtsp so there is no way getting audio/video directly from the camera.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: ricardo.halfeld on August 17, 2018, 03:55:31 PM
Thanks for the reply. This is indeed a bummer. I wonder why they are limiting what the cameras can do and how they can be used.

This is bad attitude, D-Link. Makes me want to try other brands...
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: FurryNutz on August 17, 2018, 04:25:02 PM
Are there recommended model cameras that work with NVRs?  ???

Unfortunately this camera will not work with any NVR device. I really wished they kept support for it since there is no SD card slot.  I honestly have not heard of any workarounds. The 2.xx firmware closed http/rtsp so there is no way getting audio/video directly from the camera.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: ricardo.halfeld on August 17, 2018, 05:17:57 PM
Check out their forum pages.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php#c62

There's a post about the compatible cameras with the DNR-202L.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=56961.0

I suppose the others do too.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: FurryNutz on August 18, 2018, 09:46:44 AM
That's an old list, I was wondering if maybe any newer cameras were.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: Doctor Doom on August 20, 2018, 11:12:52 AM
The 8000LH with firmware 2.xx and the new app does allow cloud recording so that is an option.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: ricardo.halfeld on August 27, 2018, 05:29:13 PM
This firmware is considered, and I quote, "disastrous" by other members. Be cautious with it.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73989.msg297340#msg297340

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73568.0
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: FurryNutz on August 28, 2018, 06:39:59 AM
See no details on "disastrous v2 firmware".

This firmware is considered, and I quote, "disastrous" by other members. Be cautious with it.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73989.msg297340#msg297340

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73568.0
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: ricardo.halfeld on September 26, 2018, 04:34:59 PM
Hello to all.

I just want to let you know that indeed there is a workaround. I managed to "trick" the DNR-202L into recording the video from the DCS-8000LH cameras.

In a nutshell, I used CGI to configure the cameras and then set them up in the recorder as another model. Not all models work. I'll come back later and post which model configuration worked. I didn't update the firmware to 2.XX also.
Title: Re: DCS-8000LH with DNR-202L
Post by: FurryNutz on September 27, 2018, 06:31:19 AM
What model camera did you use in the DNR?

Hello to all.

I just want to let you know that indeed there is a workaround. I managed to "trick" the DNR-202L into recording the video from the DCS-8000LH cameras.

In a nutshell, I used CGI to configure the cameras and then set them up in the recorder as another model. Not all models work. I'll come back later and post which model configuration worked. I didn't update the firmware to 2.XX also.